Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thoughts on 2017/2018

Pig Hunter

Weakest spine in the comp & scarcity of express speed in backs.We have Buckley’s of finishing within a bulls roar of the 8.

The buck stops with IC especially as he had a blank canvas with regards to assembling a squad & there’s clearly numerous deficiencies with the squad.I hope he proves me wrong but unfortunately he hasn’t spent our salary cap shrewdly & consequently he is on a hiding to nothing !
We don't need supporters like you merkin. Disappointed is an understatement. f**k off & end yourself

Pig Hunter

Weakest spine in the comp & scarcity of express speed in backs.We have Buckley’s of finishing within a bulls roar of the 8.

The buck stops with IC especially as he had a blank canvas with regards to assembling a squad & there’s clearly numerous deficiencies with the squad.I hope he proves me wrong but unfortunately he hasn’t spent our salary cap shrewdly & consequently he is on a hiding to nothing !
This merkin...made me wild ffs

super_coach

Parra are not far behind the top four ( storm,Chooks,Cows and Sharks). So with that in mind I say there are only 3 spots in the top 8 available for 11 teams to fight over and we would need a hell of a lot of things go right for us to grab one of those positions.

Sadly I think anywhere above 12th will be amazing, but if we are competitive I don’t care

Tiger Ted

We don't need supporters like you merkin. Disappointed is an understatement. f**k off & end yourself
Unlike u im in the real world & am entitled to give objective views as an avid tigers fan with black & gold blood coursing through my veins.

U certainly have some acute mental issues u delicate imbecile when u react like a braindead neanderthal to a fans opinion.

I’m as eager as any tigers fan for us the make the 8 but I firmly believe we won’t primarily coz we have a shithouse spine.Any fans who think differently unlike urself I respect there views & hope they r right.Now f**k off back to ur sty u filthy pig!!

sensesmaybenumbed

Unlike u im in the real world & am entitled to give objective views as an avid tigers fan with black & gold blood coursing through my veins.

U certainly have some acute mental issues u delicate imbecile when u react like a braindead neanderthal to a fans opinion.

I’m as eager as any tigers fan for us the make the 8 but I firmly believe we won’t primarily coz we have a shithouse spine.Any fans who think differently unlike urself I respect there views & hope they r right.Now f**k off back to ur sty u filthy pig!!

Ease up, gents.

Disagree, but leave the jibbering name calling out of it.

Love that you’re passionate about us mate but all TTs posts are objective and whilst I’d love to disagree with everything he says sadly I see his point.

The reason I like this forum so much more then the official one is that in here we have heaps of differences of opinions however always play the post as opposed to the poster.

We’re all Wests Tigers fans and want the team to do well this year.

Crazyperpman

f**k off & end yourself

Mate, that's just wrong and not what people come here for. Sit yourself in the naughty corner and have a look.

If you want some semi intelligent banter mixed with some absolute dribble this is a good place for good natured opinions to be shared.

Show respect and you'll get respect. Its a two way street. There is absolutely no place for that stuff.

I’m as eager as any tigers fan for us the make the 8 but I firmly believe we won’t primarily coz we have a shithouse spine.

Our spine does look pretty ordinary. We do have a bunch of players there especially in the halves though and one of them could come good.

Vozzy

One thing I will say is our back ups/are not much better or worse then the starters so if we have injuries at least Ivan has recruited a competitive squad where other teams went out and pay 1/3 of the team of stars big contracts but if they get injuries they don't have the same caliber or player replacing them.

What Vic said..................
We’re all Wests Tigers fans and want the team to do well this year.
I just want them to improve and be competitive, I do not expect the 8 but I do believe we have guys now who the younger guys can look up to and learn from.

Twal, Felise, Aloiai and Eisenhuth are going to learn more and benefit from training and playing with experienced guys like McQueen, Matulino and Packer, gee even Sue could improve. These 4 are the guys that will push the likes of Lawrence, Taylor, Sue and Grant to lift their game because these 4 will be hungry to a start in the 13 and 17, they can't all make it.

Marsters, Brooks and newcomers like Gamble can hopefully learn from Marshall and Reynolds. Like the forwards, hopefully they want to play 1st grade and lift accordingly.

Well I hope so anyway, I'm not expecting much in the first 4 or 5 rounds but going forward I live in hope.

Tiger Ted

Our spine does look pretty ordinary. We do have a bunch of players there especially in the halves though and one of them could come good.
Fingers crossed.No doubt there is some hope ensuing from stronger depth compared to last season via the return of our prodigal son & addition of a talented kid in Gamble.

I so want the team to pleasantly shock me by continuing to improve throughout the season & qualify for the finals !

Tiger Ted

What Vic said.................. I just want them to improve and be competitive, I do not expect the 8 but I do believe we have guys now who the younger guys can look up to and learn from.

Twal, Felise, Aloiai and Eisenhuth are going to learn more and benefit from training and playing with experienced guys like McQueen, Matulino and Packer, gee even Sue could improve. These 4 are the guys that will push the likes of Lawrence, Taylor, Sue and Grant to lift their game because these 4 will be hungry to a start in the 13 and 17, they can't all make it.

Marsters, Brooks and newcomers like Gamble can hopefully learn from Marshall and Reynolds. Like the forwards, hopefully they want to play 1st grade and lift accordingly.

Well I hope so anyway, I'm not expecting much in the first 4 or 5 rounds but going forward I live in hope.
The prodigal son who is rightfully revered by the Polynesian kids is a massive asset for us especially with his mentoring ability & hopefully in addition putting massive pressure on our 6 & 7 to aim up.

I luv the fact that the supreme player of this JV wanted to return home so eagerly.Cant wait to c the much matured Benji wearing our colours again & helping guide the team in an upwards trajectory.

super_coach

I am sure we going to play hard physical style of football and teams will have plenty of bumps and bruises after playing us. Sadly the season is very long in duration and not many teams have survived playing this style of football. You need to have a few more tricks in your kit bag.

Early days, and with so many new faces things will get better, but you can't coach speed and you can't coach class..and that is what we lack, but on a positive, for once we have some size

Clifferd

I am sure we going to play hard physical style of football and teams will have plenty of bumps and bruises after playing us.

That’s how I felt we played against the Cowboys up in Cairns. Smashed them up the middle weirdly without Rusty and Matulino, that’s the type of power game I was expecting all off season

Yeah weird hey. There was a huge amount of enthusiasm from the boys for the NQ trial then at the sharks gig it was pretty flat, I even thought that during the warm up. Not sure if the tropics took it out of us or what.

Hoping with a good 2 week break we’re fit and fresh for the chooks, we’ll need to be.

Clifferd

Yeah weird hey. There was a huge amount of enthusiasm from the boys for the NQ trial then at the sharks gig it was pretty flat, I even thought that during the warm up. Not sure if the tropics took it out of us or what.

Hoping with a good 2 week break we’re fit and fresh for the chooks, we’ll need to be.

One of my mates who is close to one of the players family reckons they were flogged at training the week leading up to the sharks game, would make sense given the lack of intensity

I’ve heard a lot of coaches do this to push their players limits

super_coach

I don't think we have the cattle to play any other way. Thats why I would get Milne in the backline to beef things up a little. St George has played this style for a few years with some success but they usually hit the wall 3/4 the way through the season.

Will be interesting how well this team progresses through the season, with so many new faces they are starting a few yards back from the rest of the field

I don't think we have the cattle to play any other way. Thats why I would get Milne in the backline to beef things up a little. St George has played this style for a few years with some success but they usually hit the wall 3/4 the way through the season.

Will be interesting how well this team progresses through the season, with so many new faces they are starting a few yards back from the rest of the field
And we have no origin players that I am aware of, so if we can stay with them to then, we may get a bump up?