Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thoughts on 2017/2018

Clifferd

McQueen is a step ahead of these reserve graders, I think he will be pretty handy. Fonua is solid but he should be dominating at this grade

simmo05

I guess we need to see how things play out starting tonight. It's still going to take time before the tigers are playing consistent good footy. The rough start to the draw doesn't help cos we could be 1-4 even 0-5 playing well but losing to good teams which already puts us behind the 8 ball. I think after round 10 we can judge selections.

I'm surprised with the lolahea situation but I'm not at training so he may be making mistakes catching bombs or things like not supporting we an offload is available. Last week I thought the tigers were at their best in the first half because we put on a couple of tries and defended well. Also it was Cowboys top team on the park in the first 40. Whereas in the second 40 we looked better in attack but the cowboys had alot of back ups on the field and their defense was horrible.
After the first few games, i reckon tge rest are winnable. Much rather a tough start to the season than a tough finish

Crazyperpman

Wooden Spooners of 2018

Its good to see you made a new account just to be a troll. What a sad merkin you must be.

I genuinely hope the Roosters make the grand final this year, then my second team can win the comp because this year I'm going for the Tigers and whoever is playing the Roosters.

Vozzy

Looks like Esan Marsters will be our goal kicker according to fox sports but he is quoted in saying Lui has first crack which may mean lolahea may still be fullback in round one?

Also there is going to be a behind the scenes 4 part documentary on our pre season. If it's like Hard Knocks then it will be good.

Tiger Ted

Its good to see you made a new account just to be a troll. What a sad merkin you must be.

I genuinely hope the Roosters make the grand final this year, then my second team can win the comp because this year I'm going for the Tigers and whoever is playing the Roosters.
The bondi effluent won’t go close to making GF.They will succumb to an injury riddled season & don’t have the depth they usually have.Cronk is long overdue for a season ending injury & turdesco is due for another serious knee injury !

simmo05

The bondi effluent won’t go close to making GF.They will succumb to an injury riddled season & don’t have the depth they usually have.Cronk is long overdue for a season ending injury & turdesco is due for another serious knee injury !
Star studded back line for sure, but very thin up front. No Gordan to convert every try. Surly Pierce being forced out would have caused some shit in the ranks. Wont make the top 4 imho

Clifferd

Tbh I don’t believe in the rooster hype. Quality team yes and on their day could probably flog anyone, but they just don’t strike me as a consistent footy side plus their depth is an issue as many have said. Probably fall into the top 4 then go out in straight sets

I hate to say it because I want bitchell Moses to fail but Parra are my Smokey this year. Extremely well coached side with many X factors. BAs been building for the last couple years and I think they’re a good shot at taking it out

Let's hope so.

Tiger Ted

Tbh I don’t believe in the rooster hype. Quality team yes and on their day could probably flog anyone, but they just don’t strike me as a consistent footy side plus their depth is an issue as many have said. Probably fall into the top 4 then go out in straight sets

I hate to say it because I want bitchell Moses to fail but Parra are my Smokey this year. Extremely well coached side with many X factors. BAs been building for the last couple years and I think they’re a good shot at taking it out

Agree they r a very well coached & balanced side with an excellent spine who r capable of winning the comp.

As much as I dislike the unscrupulous ingrate moses the fact is that he is a damn good player who If had an ounce of humility would have been the ideal no.7 & organiser for us.In contrast to the pathetic hoax Brooks Moses is the real deal & unfortunately I can see parra benefiting enormously.

Roosters remind me of us in 2012. We had a shit hot 1-13 but no depth. We lost Tedesco and Galloway to long term injuries in round 1 and were f*#ked.

If they have a good year injurywise they are a massive chance of winning the comp. if not they’ll be in deep shit. I could even see them missing the 8 with 1 or 2 key injuries. The cowboys made the GF missing JT and Scott, Storm missing Slater a while year. That won’t be them. Take 1 of Cronk, Teddy, JWH for 10+ weeks and I reckon they’re shot.

Agree re Eels. I do think they have a few deficiencies that other top sides don’t:

Weaker front row
Ill discipline
No Semi to score 20+ tries

However they have close to the best back line in the comp and will definitely be the NRLs favored fairytale team

Crazyperpman

I thought Parra overachieved last year and was benefited by a massively favorable draw. I think they will have a good year once again, another good draw in 2018 helps, but no Semi is a massive blow and they will more than likely be in the bottom half of the 8.

At this stage you would have to have Cows, Storm, Roosters & Sharks then daylight until you hit the Broncos and Parra and then daylight again until you hit the roughies making up the numbers.

Pig Hunter

I'm confident we'll have an ok year. A lot of people have us as spoon favourites, I don't think that'll be the case. 7th or 8th for me.

I thought Parra overachieved last year and was benefited by a massively favorable draw. I think they will have a good year once again, another good draw in 2018 helps, but no Semi is a massive blow and they will more than likely be in the bottom half of the 8.

At this stage you would have to have Cows, Storm, Roosters & Sharks then daylight until you hit the Broncos and Parra and then daylight again until you hit the roughies making up the numbers.

That's true their draw was insane last year. They played 8 games against top 8 sides and 1 of those was the storm minus their origin stars. They also lost to the Knights and only beat crap like us and the dogs by 1. It's virtually the same side minus Semi and plus Hayne which is definitely a downgrade. I'd love nothing more then to watch them to crash and burn (purely cause of Moses, otherwise I like parra) but I'll be pretty shocked if they aren't around 6th at worst come round 25.

Tiger Ted

I'm confident we'll have an ok year. A lot of people have us as spoon favourites, I don't think that'll be the case. 7th or 8th for me.
Weakest spine in the comp & scarcity of express speed in backs.We have Buckley’s of finishing within a bulls roar of the 8.

The buck stops with IC especially as he had a blank canvas with regards to assembling a squad & there’s clearly numerous deficiencies with the squad.I hope he proves me wrong but unfortunately he hasn’t spent our salary cap shrewdly & consequently he is on a hiding to nothing !

Pig Hunter

Weakest spine in the comp & scarcity of express speed in backs.We have Buckley’s of finishing within a bulls roar of the 8.

The buck stops with IC especially as he had a blank canvas with regards to assembling a squad & there’s clearly numerous deficiencies with the squad.I hope he proves me wrong but unfortunately he hasn’t spent our salary cap shrewdly & consequently he is on a hiding to nothing !
Geez have some sort of faith before the season starts. Supporters like you we don't need!!!!