Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thurling Hard Done By In The Past.

Brimmer

Chachi said:
why in particular? Or is it a personal thing?

I concur.

What is it with the hinchcliffe hate? You guys can't tell me he hasn't been playing all over withers in current form?

Look at the drubbing we copped the other week from the bulldogs. Hinchcliffe went off after 20 minutes and after that the go forward STOPPED. From 20 minutes on we got completely towelled.

Chachi

I was initially against him playing FG because the club planned to cut him next year. They seem to have changed their mind so I'm all for giving him a crack. He's no Smith or Farah, but he's usually got a nice pass both sides of the ruck and generally choses the right time to run (ie not straight into the A defender on the sixth tackle, Lincoln Withers). Solid defender too as this round has shown.

Reminds me a bit of Woolford but without the mouth. Not a superstar but if he continues to improve I think he could be a bargain asset.

hotdogs

i'm not speaking for ALL but lets just say a fair few, and its not the PL boys complaining about henry its the ones playing in FG fulltime!!! apparently its a very stale environment to be in. theres no socialising eg BBQ's, bonding sessions-apparently a lot of them say henrys too much of a disciplinarian...and in saying that i went down to the lighthouse last wednesday and bronx and them were all pissed down there, and lets just say thats not the first time i've bumped into them down there on a wednesday night, before a game!!! i spoke dane tilse at all bar nun one night and thats exactly what he said aswell.there are a lot of guys just not enjoying both the onfield and off field goings on. i met up with a couple of them a few ago at the yass game and they were saying how they've never had a coach before that don't hang with them and doesn't talk to them apart from about training and footy!

in regards to tony bloody allen, i've known the guy for a while before he became the coach and he's one of those guys you either like him or you don't and he's the same with you...i've heard from a couple of boys that they actually think he's a bit racist. but he's a typical teacher-talks far too much and when you think about it a lot of our Pl boys have played FG and probably know a lot more than what he does which is frustrating for them.at the beginning of season he was asking all the questions and they were telling him what to do. i was talking to one of the staff at the game on the weekend and they couldn't believe he'd gotten the job for u/20s. apparently him and henry are bestmates which says alot!

Vicious

I reckon Tongue would be the perfect starting hooker, freeing up a space for Turner or Learoyd-Lahrs to play lock and therefore freeing up a spot for one of the good back rowers/props missing out, such as Thurling and Rothery. You could always have someone such as Withers off the bench to allow Tongue to slip back to lock at various stages throughout the game, but i reckon the Raiders would get best value with him starting at hooker ???

Chachi

hotdogs said:
i'm not speaking for ALL but lets just say a fair few, and its not the PL boys complaining about henry its the ones playing in FG fulltime!!! apparently its a very stale environment to be in. theres no socialising eg BBQ's, bonding sessions-apparently a lot of them say henrys too much of a disciplinarian...and in saying that i went down to the lighthouse last wednesday and bronx and them were all pissed down there, and lets just say thats not the first time i've bumped into them down there on a wednesday night, before a game!!! i spoke dane tilse at all bar nun one night and thats exactly what he said aswell.there are a lot of guys just not enjoying both the onfield and off field goings on. i met up with a couple of them a few ago at the yass game and they were saying how they've never had a coach before that don't hang with them and doesn't talk to them apart from about training and footy!

in regards to tony bloody allen, i've known the guy for a while before he became the coach and he's one of those guys you either like him or you don't and he's the same with you...i've heard from a couple of boys that they actually think he's a bit racist. but he's a typical teacher-talks far too much and when you think about it a lot of our Pl boys have played FG and probably know a lot more than what he does which is frustrating for them.at the beginning of season he was asking all the questions and they were telling him what to do. i was talking to one of the staff at the game on the weekend and they couldn't believe he'd gotten the job for u/20s. apparently him and henry are bestmates which says alot!
I honestly don't really know what to say to that. You've named a couple of young guys whose form has been far from consistent this season, complaining about having a coach who doesn't get out on the piss with them before games. 90% of the team live in each other's pockets around Bruce, yet apparently there is no socialising. Every freakin report about the Raiders I read in magazines talks about how all the young fellas hang out with each other every day.

If some of these boys were half as committed as their coach our club would be top 8 no worries. If they'd prefer to hit the piss with Matt Elliott or Nathan Brown or that knockabout party coach Ricky Stuart then go for it. This story mirrors other things I've heard and it sounds like the attitude problem isn't with the coach.

Bay56

Chachi said:
I honestly don't really know what to say to that. You've named a couple of young guys whose form has been far from consistent this season, complaining about having a coach who doesn't get out on the piss with them before games. 90% of the team live in each other's pockets around Bruce, yet apparently there is no socialising. Every freakin report about the Raiders I read in magazines talks about how all the young fellas hang out with each other every day.

If some of these boys were half as committed as their coach our club would be top 8 no worries. If they'd prefer to hit the piss with Matt Elliott or Nathan Brown or that knockabout party coach Ricky Stuart then go for it. This story mirrors other things I've heard and it sounds like the attitude problem isn't with the coach.

I understand where you are coming from Chachi but in actual fact it is a fine line that a coach must navigate in relation to the social side of things.

Go too far one way and you have a bunch of disgruntled players, too far the other and you have a team of pissheads.

Its easy to say "if you dont like it f**k off elsewhere" ... the problem then becomes one of replacing them with players that are convinced there is not a problem at the club.

If the above mentioned rumours have some substance I am concerned.

Bay56 said:
I understand where you are coming from Chachi but in actual fact it is a fine line that a coach must navigate in relation to the social side of things.

Go too far one way and you have a bunch of disgruntled players, too far the other and you have a team of pissheads.

Lets be honest, at the moment, we've probably got elements of both, henry is obviously trying to make them more professional,

Chachi

That the thing. I'm not saying Henry shouldn't socialise with the players, but why does he need to organise bloody barbeques and pissups? I'm just not sure a half-cut 23 year old is going to give you an accurate feel for what it's like at the club...

There's no doubt a lot of these young fellas need discipline if they want to succeed.

What a load of sh*t.

if the above is true then the players need a serious arse kicking.

Can you imagine Darren Lockyer all upset because Wayne Bennet didn't go out on this piss with him on the weekend?

FFS Henry is the coach, not social club manager.

I think some of the flaws in Elliot are really starting to come out even more so now that hes gone

Bay56

I'm not saying Henry's role is one of social club secretary ... merely that his role has to be balanced in a manner that does not piss players off, while at the same time making sure that they understand who is in charge of the football team.

The current 'evidence' (probably arising from nothing but rumour) might suggest that Henry has gone too far one way.

ak47

Keep in mind Folkes ß pun intended

When the bulldogs were failing this year, there was rumour calling for his head.

Saying he is too strict, not much of a human but a robot, and doesn’t socialise too much, and its 100% football or the highway.

They aren’t calling for his head now………they are winning again.

Bulldogs have been very successful under Folkes.

Raiders have been the opposite under Elliot.

Panthers now suffering one of their worst seasons.

Raiders in 2007 whinge about a new strict coach.

BRING IT ON I SAY

Our culture needs to change…..if that means getting autocratic so be it.

Other strict coaches I can think of.

You obviously don’t want backlash, like Brian Smith is getting.

But Canberra needed a change……..as stated in other threads we are all collectively sick n tired of finishing on the cuff of the 8.

IMO this mean whatever has been happening in the past 7-10 years……….needs to change.

If its less socialising and more training – than earn your big bucks and do it.

IMO our whinging players are taking for granted the situation they are in…..pocket full of cash……..and stardom.

Do you wanna be a pro……..or do ya wanna WIN!!!!

ak47

plus its only human nature - if we arent happy - we arent socialising

tell me the time u had a shocking week or day at work and gone on the piss with all of your colleagues after a client has walked out and taken business elsewhere

NEVER

Tell me the time u had a great week or day at work, and gone on the piss with colleagues to celebrate

ALOT

I do believe Henry would socialise moreso, if we were a little more astute to sticking with gameplans, thus bring in the result that Henry believes would happen if we did what he said.

Every press conference its "We didnt stick to gameplan, and played dumb footy"

Dont expect him to turn around and forget that once the uniform is off...........its not Elliot anymore...........there is no time for humour or sarcasm for a loss, and the media and Finch knows this now with Henry.

Elliot has a joke for everything - even the spoon honours, and it comes a time and place where its gotto stop.......THE RAIDERS IS HAPPENING NOW.

Chachi

It will be interesting to see how Fittler goes when he actually has to make some hard decisions. It's easy being everyone's mate when you're winning.

hotdogs

I don't exactly think its all about just getting on the piss with the coach...from what i've heard and what i gather its more the doing things together-i know in the seasons with elliott, the day before every home game after training both PL and FG teams would go for lunch at the Italian Kitchen in Kaleen-which they don't do anymore.I think the team has its groups, like everything, but their not socialising as a team, which doesn't always HAVE to be getting on the piss.i know they haven't done a lot of away camps, even during pre season when they use to go for the weekend at the AIS.
Maybe your right it might just be a thing that they got use to for long with elliott-5 years, and its taking a while for them to adjust to henrys way...hopefully next year then will be different is thats the case. i have to say though whenever i've seen henry around the place he looks very sour...and maybe the boys find him very unapproachable!

A large group of the boys all live near each other and are great mates , now if your mate is dropped then you are gonna side with him and feel bad for him as well , thats human nature , these boys need to realise this is their job and start acting like it , its not bloody school anymore. and i wouldnt go on the piss with my Boss , he is wank , but that doesnt stop me doing my best everyday , well somedays anyway.
I just hope this is all rumours and will disappear when we get that winning culture , your coach is gonna get his team you just gotta give him no reason to leave you out , and Thurling is one bloke who is doing that.