Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tigers Lock Down Leichhardt Oval for Members only

Have you purchased "Season Opener" membership?

• Yes, wonderful idea no question about it

Votes: 4 25.0%
  • No, It's out of my price range.

Votes: 12 75.0%

azsportza

What a joke. Tigers I love you but Mr. Humphreys I can't believe that you would shut out Leichhardt to members only. How many of you Tigers fans have actually forked out the money for this "membership"?

WESTS TIGERS boss Stephen Humphreys believes matches at Leichhardt Oval are set to become member-only affairs as the club's round one match against Cronulla heads for a sell-out without tickets going on sale to the general public.

With huge interest in the March 4 clash, the club yesterday launched a special one-game membership package for the match and Humphreys said the sales had been phenomenal.

''We have had our biggest day of membership sales today,'' he said last night. ''We will see how they go over the next few days and if they are not all gone we will put some tickets on public sale later in the week but at this stage the response has been terrific.''

Source: SMH.com.au

Stinkler

Asked what Sharks supporters wanting to see the anticipated clash between Benji Marshall and Todd Carney could do if Tigers members bought all the tickets, Humphreys said: ''They'll have to watch it on Foxtel or Channel Nine.''

Disgraceful.
Sharks fans aren't given a chance to go and watch their own team?

I'm all for having massive numbers of members, but if they have more members than tickets, it's time to move out.

hybrid_tiger

They aren't "shutting out" anyone, merely giving members first priority.

I think the $65 ticket (and subsequent member) is a great idea. Our membership numbers are disgraceful for a club that claims so many supporters. This will clearly drive up membership, creating a strong revenue stream.

If we played very match at Leichhardt I could understand the concern, but we don't. None of our other games ever come close to selling out, so what's the f**king big deal?

Ausguy

Hybrid you would be bitchin if manly or parra did it to you. The criticism is fair. And for humphreys to say to other fans to watch it on tv is just rude.

Fordy20

Consider the way Gus bats himself silly over Sunday arvo footy at Leichhardt. Humphreys knows he's got a great product here and given that lots of fans live a long way away, I can see how this would appeal. Ultimately it's a business and the club would prefer guaranteed revenue streams and this is a way to boost membership numbers.

I remember when they changed the lower concourse to allocated seating at Leichhardt. Usually me and a good mate would make a day of it, buy tickets online, get accommodation, get there early and sit somewhere close to the middle in the lower concourse, cheering on the lower grades with a handful of other people, drinking overpriced alcohol and eating fast food. Then before the main game started we had good seats and all the people who rocked up 10mins before the match got the seats they deserved.

One time we rocked up to do the same thing and security pointed out our seats which were right in the back corner of the lower concourse. It was ridiculous, we were the only blokes there and it just killed the vibe of the day altogether. I briefly considered membership to ensure I'd have decent seating in the lower concourse, but the costs involved were way beyond what I could afford and most of the year the seats at other matches would be sitting empty due to cost involved in getting there. So now I just watch it on TV.

hybrid_tiger

Hybrid you would be bitchin if manly or parra did it to you. The criticism is fair. And for humphreys to say to other fans to watch it on tv is just rude.

No I wouldn't. If the club has more members than seats then what can you do?

Like I said, we only play four games a year at Leichhardt. We play big games at the SFS, which never sells out. We play other games at Campbelltown, which never sells out.

If a one game membership doesn't count as a club member, then why does a 0 game membership count? Anyone who pays up is a member. N.b there is a difference between a member and a season ticket holder.

gronkathon

[/COLOR][/LEFT]

Disgraceful.
Sharks fans aren't given a chance to go and watch their own team?

I'm all for having massive numbers of members, but if they have more members than tickets, it's time to move out.

They are but the crowd figures for Ronson Oval speak volumes :)

Reality is there will be tickets available to the public. There wont be reserved seating available but GA tickets will be available.

Maybe this will kick some of our slack fan base into gear about buying tickets and the game after will have stronger pre ticket sales

macnaz

What ever happened to first in best dressed .. f**ked if ill be blackmailed into a membership to go watch a team ive been supporting and watching for 40 years. I spend enough money on other tigers shit without giving them more. Plus I work lots of weekends so its a week to week proposition when I can go.

Ausguy

Yeah emotion aside... i just want to go to the game, result is indifferent as its only round 1. Its a shame.

f**king pissed off.

Wife and I were keen to go watch our teams play each other. She's never been to leichhardt.

Looks like she'll have to wait for some other year.

Have had to cancel the trip north for the game. Luckily the hotel refunded us and more luckily, I was going to book my plane tickets today.

I hope its worth it Wests Tigers. Obviously the fans mean jack shit to you.

I don't see the problem here...are you suggesting that the Tigers should sell less tickets to members?

macnaz

So the first game is heading to be a sellout regardless of where and how the tickets will be sold, this is just a greedy and underhanded way to force people to get a membership to increase our membership in the west drive. No other club purchases a membership because they feel threatened or mislead into thinking that is the only way they will get to see a game.
Business aside , its just wrong.

macnaz

That's a lot of money for some people
Its a hell of a lot to many supporters , how many do you see at the games with Husband ,wife 3 or 4 kids and out come the chicken loaf sambos and cordial to save a dollar ? Their got bucklys of paying 65 bucks.

you guys are idiots, they are just trying to sell membership

do you seriously think they are only going to allow 10,000-12,000 people into leichhardt?