Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tinkler weighs in with $100m Knights offer

Gaba

Yeah, each to their own.

Our members own our Name, Colours and that our home ground remains in Sydney plus 25% of the club.
The dragons have the same name and colours and the red v

You sold out your club by merging with another. It is not the same club, will never be the same club, whilst ours is the same with different ownership.
Dragons didnt merged they are a joint venture

Stgeorge is still around and can come back as stgeorge but no reason they have a good relationship with Illawarra

Our members own our Name, Colours and that our home ground remains in Sydney plus 25% of the club.

so what did rusty pay $3m for then?

and don't kid yourself that your fans "own" your colours... souffs have gone from being red & green to red, green & white, or red, green & black, depending on who is paying rusty the most that week..

and hey, homebush is in sydney, yes.. but goddamn it's a long way from redfern.. and in the heart of parrmatta & bulldogs territory nonetheless..

You sold out your club by merging with another.

yep, i'm sorry i did that.. i hold myself personally responsible..

You sold out your club by merging with another. It is not the same club, will never be the same club

it's very much still the dragons... same uniform.. same leagues club.. same home ground, same record of success..

souffs can't say yes to either of these..

ours is the same with different ownership.

yep.. just like resch's brewery after CUB bought them..

Traditional Grounds? One of your home grounds is in Wollongong, 80km away. Real tradition there.

i award you two gold stars..

one for geography (yes, wollongong is 80kms away from redfern)
28mm-gold-star-stickers-260-p.jpg

and one for history (yes, win stadium / wollongong showground) has been the traditional home of rugby league for the illawarra team when playing in the national comp.. we've never moved from there..)

28mm-gold-star-stickers-260-p.jpg

wow.. we have a learnered souffs fan in our midsts..

THE OFFER1. The Tinkler Group will:
(a) Guarantee a minimum of $10million (annually adjusted for CPI) in sponsorship revenue (in sponsorship and corporate hospitality sales) to the club each year for 10 years, ie $100million plus CPI over the next 10 years. It has been indicated by you that the current sponsorship commitments are in the order of $7million annually. As per our discussions I would like the opportunity to review the details of current contracts and sales. Tinkler Group would be pleased to provide to the Knights members an annual audit certificate that the minimum guarantee has been satisfied.
(b) As you would recall my previous offer was to invest up to $10million to buy and operate the Knights NRL licence. This offer is revised and replaced by a) above. The sponsorship guarantee being offered effectively delivers incremental revenue streams in the order of $30million plus CPI for the Knights.
(c) Provide a guarantee that the Newcastle Knights will always operate as a ‘‘not for profit’’ organisation and that 100% of surpluses will be re-invested into both the Knights and junior development programs for rugby league in the Hunter Valley.
(d) Immediately settle all of the outstanding liabilities of the Knights. You have indicated this is in the vicinity of $3million.
(e) Ensure the club has adequate working capital at all times.
2. Knights members: existing and future will have the guaranteed right to control the club’s name, colours, location and home ground. In the most unlikely event that a change to any of these heritage issues were to be proposed it is understood and agreed that a 75% vote of members will be required.
3. In the unlikely event of an insolvency of the Tinkler Group, members will have the right to buy back the Newcastle Knights for $1. Further and as per my previous offer the members will have the first right for up to 90 days to buy the Knights from the Tinkler Group in the event that the Knights are offered for an orderly sale. The purchase price for members will be no more than the total consolidated losses, if any, of the Tinkler Group from the time of purchase to the sale offer date.
4. The broad intent of the mission statement and key strategic principles as set out remain substantially the same including the intention to appoint a Knights Rugby League Advisory Board made up of a chairman (appointed by the Tinkler Group), the chairman for the Newcastle Rugby League, 2 members of the existing Knights board (to be replaced by 2 elected directors after 2 years) and an old boys representative.
http://www.theherald.com.au/news/local/news/general/the-offer-in-detail/2049685.aspx

where do we sign, again?

drake

Great deal for the Knights, and I think the deal is good for League in general. Tinkler seems to really want to help out RL in the Hunter region.

Besides the $3 mill Crowe paid for the club, he paid the shortfall for the first 3 or 4 years he owned the place. I think the first year was about $7mill. I reckon he has spent somewhere between $20 - 23 mill of his own money on Souths so far.

If you also take into account the sponsorship money that his image and personal involvement has brought to the club, I'd say South's got a reasonably good deal.

sounds like a lot of post-rationalisation from souths fans on here..

realising that the club was sold off far too cheap so the brain is working out ways to justify the price..

Ronnie Dobbs

My bad, according to tele it was only 7m a year from sponsors.

here

So at current, he would only be putting in an extra 3m himself, plus wiping the 3m debt. Current trends are that everyone is growing, with more sponsor dollars, so in 5 years whos to say they wont have the 10m easily?

I don't think the offer is as great as it sounds from what I can see.

Where does it say that he's the only sponsor? To me 10 million plus 7 million would take their sponsorship income alone to 17 million - easily the best in the NRL. Probably the best in any code in Australia. Then you have memberships & gate.

I don't see where you're coming from mate. There's nothing that states they have to give up all their sponsorship. They'll probably lose Coal & Allied & what Tinkler tips in will be 10 times the value annually. Then you have Blue Tongue, NBN, NIB etc who whose sponsorship won't be affected.

Ronnie Dobbs

Yeah, each to their own.

You sold out your club by merging with another. It is not the same club, will never be the same club, whilst ours is the same with different ownership.

Traditional Grounds? One of your home grounds is in Wollongong, 80km away. Real tradition there.

Yeah we know you won the competition last year, congratulations.

The good peopole of Wollongong think so. When did Souths fans become elitest? Just paying overs for hacks and having a wanker as an owner doesn't entitle you to judge.

And thanks. f**king awesome.

Last edited by a moderator:

Von

There was some concern earlier on that a privately owned club may scare off other sponsors. I don't see it that way. Sponsors do it for publicity, i.e. their logo on the jumper. That will still occur.

The EPL teams are all privately owned and they still attract massive sponsorships as companies know their name will get noticed. It's the same here with the Broncos and even Souths & Manly.

macavity

Bluetongue are no longer a sponsor mate. Tooheys again now.

We would probable gain a number of sponsors too.... people wanting to suck up to Tinky who couldn't bring themselves to sponsor a soccer club.

sounds like a lot of post-rationalisation from souths fans on here..

realising that the club was sold off far too cheap so the brain is working out ways to justify the price..

lol.

If you actually look at the nuts and bolts of it, the deal that Tinkler is offering is almost exactly the same as that which Crowe offered Souths.

$3 mill to wipe off debt and then an amount each year to cover any short fall in sponsorship. The only difference being that Tinkler has a cap on his liability, Crowe does not.

Don't let the truth stand in the way of a good Souths bashing though.

Noname36

I'm praying that they take the offer. Money like this would be a revelation for the club. The ability to attract high-profile players, state of the art training facilities, being able to at least put up a fight to stop our best juniors being poached...

With Newcastle's location within a rugby league heartland and support, I've long thought that money was the only thing stopping them from being a huge force in the competition. Looks like those days could be approaching fast (providing the board members pass it of course).

macavity

lol.

If you actually look at the nuts and bolts of it, the deal that Tinkler is offering is almost exactly the same as that which Crowe offered Souths.

$3 mill to wipe off debt and then an amount each year to cover any short fall in sponsorship. The only difference being that Tinkler has a cap on his liability, Crowe does not.

Don't let the truth stand in the way of a good Souths bashing though.

Very true.