Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney agrees to terms with the Roosters.

BrisVegas

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,25242109-5006066,00.html#

Todd Carney signs with Roosters

EXCLUSIVE by James Phelps Josh Massoud | March 26, 2009 12:00am

THE Roosters will boast the NRL's hottest scrumbase trio next season, with Todd Carney agreeing to join star playmakers Mitchell Pearce and Braith Anasta at Bondi.

With incumbent NSW halfback Pearce secured until 2013, Carney will arrive at the club as a five-eighth and enable Anasta to shift to lock.

The Daily Telegraph has learned Carney and Roosters officials reached an agreement several weeks ago for the ex-Raiders ball-player to resume his NRL career with the tricolours.

Sacked by Canberra last July after a string of alcohol-related incidents, Carney is prevented from playing NRL this season. He accepted a footballing lifeline from far North Queensland two weeks ago, joining local side Atherton Roosters and playing his first game in eight months.

But it can now be revealed that Carney headed to the tropics with his future beyond 2008 already finalised after negotiating with the Roosters several weeks ago.

Although no contract has been signed, The Daily Telegraph understands both parties have agreed in principle to a four-year deal that will make Carney a Rooster until 2013.

The Roosters wanted to monitor Carney's rehabilitation in Atherton during the next month before making an announcement.

Roosters recruitment manager Peter O'Sullivan last night refused to confirm the club had secured Carney's services. "We are going to monitor his behaviour and have a think about it," he said.

"We are interested in quality players and we'll see how things go.

"He hasn't signed anything yet."

Carney's manager David Riolo scoffed at suggestions that a deal had been done.

"You can write whatever you want - I don't know where you are getting your mail from," Riolo said.

"He hasn't agreed to any terms."

But Penrith - one of several clubs in the race for Carney's signature - last night confirmed they were now looking elsewhere on account of the Roosters winning out.

"We were in there with the best of them," Panthers general manager Mick Leary said.

"As far as I knew we'd matched the dollars other clubs had put up but I haven't spoken to his manager David Riolo for about a month. We were keen to obtain a new halfback but I'm sure there will be other opportunities that present themselves."

Carney, 22, spent most of his time in Canberra as a halfback. Although he will wear the Roosters' No. 6, he could still play first receiver on the opposite side of the ruck to Pearce. Officials also believe he has enough utility value to fill in at fullback.

Carney's signing will place pressure on the Roosters to retain Anthony Minichiello and Setaimata Sa, who are off contract after this season.

It may be a tad presumptuous by the Roosters to assume the NRL will register a contract for Carney to play in 2010.

Unless he can show a legitimate attempt has been made to curb his alcohol fuelled outbursts, they should refuse registration for another 12 months. It simply wouldn't be worth the bad press.

I wonder what sort of odds bookmakers would give for the number of years he would last before being sacked. They could frame a market for what Round he will cause a scandal in.

im gonna ask the obvious question - how can they afford him? they offloading mini or something?

sass

they imply either mini or sa will go.

meanwhile I HATE THIS STORY. I refuse to believe it. hate hate hate.

Sass I'm with you mate.
Unless he makes a f*cking major turnaround this year in his behaviour.
I'm surprised, but I'm not going to say anything against the club I love. I just hope he doesn't f*ck it up, like he f*cked up Canberra.

Navjot

This could turn out to be a masterstoke signing or an absolute embarresment for the club if old habits die hard, watch this space i reckon.

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Good luck to you lot if its true, the bloke couldnt keep himself out of strife when he wasnt around football in a small town like goulburn, what makes you think he is going to stay out of strife in sydney??

Navjot

I tell ya what i know the tigers were interested in carney, but if the roosters let sa or mini go i would take either or both at a heartbeat.

mattyg

bullcrap...how many 400k superstars can one team have...what happened to not being able to afford mason so back loading his contract. How do they magically have the money to do this.

Roosters now from all reports have Minichiello on 400k, Anasta on 450k, Pearce on 400k, Myles on 350k, Mason on 400k, O'Meley on 400k. Thats 5 players on $2,000,000 between them. Add Carney on his huge contract and that gives you 19 players in a $1.6 mill salary cap (less than 85k per player). I doubt this very much considering they have Fitzgibbon, Soliola, Sa, Aubusson etc. in that mix who would also be on considerable money. Add to that all these superstars are on really long term deals.

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Good luck to you lot if its true, the bloke couldnt keep himself out of strife when he wasnt around football in a small town like goulburn, what makes you think he is going to stay out of strife in sydney??

When you put it like that...

:(

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU...

mattyg

4 year deal for Carney as well...WTF!! i'd have him on a 1 year incentive based contract for sure...that is just ridiculous.

sass

I'm still hoping the story's wrong.. or that the nrl can choose not to register the contract. *elbows gallop in the ribs*