Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Greenberg Appointed NRL CEO

Who Should Be The Next NRL CEO

• Todd Greenberg

Votes: 6 7.4%
  • Shane Richardson

Votes: 5 6.2%
  • Phil Gould

Votes: 7 8.6%
  • John Grant

Votes: 2 2.5%
  • Andrew Demetriou

Votes: 5 6.2%
  • John Quayle

Votes: 10 12.3%
  • Somebody Else.....Post Who

Votes: 46 56.8%

elbusto

Sharks have 3500 juniors and three grades of seniors. They meet all criteria now as they have money as well.

Last Week

Moving the Panthers would be ludicrous, merging the Eels with them would be common sense, the newest generations are moving towards the mountains and Parra is obsolete as a breeding ground. Gould will never replace Richardson as a 'smarts' man but he will get the job done if he is associated with a distinctly separate area where he can establish 'us against them' compared to 'next train stop'

Idiot.

BlueandGold

Sharks have 3500 juniors and three grades of seniors. They meet all criteria now as they have money as well.

Moving the Panthers would be ludicrous, merging the Eels with them would be common sense, the newest generations are moving towards the mountains and Parra is obsolete as a breeding ground. Gould will never replace Richardson as a 'smarts' man but he will get the job done if he is associated with a distinctly separate area where he can establish 'us against them' compared to 'next train stop'

Yeah merging the 2nd largest city team with Panthers sounds like a great idea.....................for the mentally geniused.

Merge Parra
Team based in the 2nd Sydney city
100million development approved
300million stadium approved
23k members
80+million in revenue
12million in profits last year.

with Panthers
19k members
145million in revenue
17million profit
massive jnr nursery

Both these clubs are self sustainable that dont need no handouts from the NRL.

Got to be one of the most ridicules suggestions i have heard to date.:crazy:

cleary89

Yeh but i doubt there will be thirds next year. Was only 4 teams this year and one wanted to (and should have) gone up to seconds.

cleary89

No chance of other club nominating thirds?

Aquinas no. They had a forfeit in 1sts because they all played seconds, lost and only had 12 fit blokes to back up in firsts. Engadine had a few forfeits in seconds. Joeys and como should put out a thirds again. Who knows with st pats (all union islanders who backed up on sundays, often had only 12 or 13). Menai should go up and they wanted to at the start of the season. Youd be relying on a gymea or de la getting a third side and im not sure what their numbers are like.

I hope so anyway, im not good enough to play seconds haha.

elbusto

Aquinas no. They had a forfeit in 1sts because they all played seconds, lost and only had 12 fit blokes to back up in firsts. Engadine had a few forfeits in seconds. Joeys and como should put out a thirds again. Who knows with st pats (all union islanders who backed up on sundays, often had only 12 or 13). Menai should go up and they wanted to at the start of the season. Youd be relying on a gymea or de la getting a third side and im not sure what their numbers are like.

I hope so anyway, im not good enough to play seconds haha.

There is bugger all senior footy left in sydney mate

some11

I nominate shutting down the whole comp indefinitely.

Can't have any scandals if there's no game!

I still remember sitting in a room with jim doyle for an hour discussing tassie rugby league. Resulted in absolutely nothing. Now we have an administrator and no game. Go figure?

They ousted the WARL board, the one that had led substantial growth of the game in WA since 2008, replaced it with yes men, gagged th CEO, gave us a new badge and have done sweet FA since in WA. The game is flourishing here despite the NRL, not becasue of it. Shows how resilient our game, and the people in it, are.

Sharks have 3500 juniors and three grades of seniors. They meet all criteria now as they have money as well.[/QUOTE]

Do they? Their annual reports make for sobering reading, they were the poorest club in the NRL, they are marginally not the poorest club in the NRL but are hardly rolling in it, they still owe some pizza guy $3.5million dont they? All of the down payment money has gone on clearing some of their debt. They are still assett rich and cash flow poor and needed a $1million loan from a director and ran a $1.25mill loss looking at their 13-14 books. Maybe 14-15 is better?

http://www.sharks.com.au/content/dam/sharks/pdfs/Cronulla%20Sharks%20Football%20Club%20Accounts.pdf

I was quite surprised to read the Panthers NRL annual report and what a great job they have done turning around revenue since 2011. Their sponsorships are much much healthier and even gate revenue, though small, has improved. They are doing a great job in improving their income level.

http://www.panthers.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/AnnualReport2014_PDRLFCweb.pdf

Having said that despite significant income rise Panthers still lost $780k in that year, I wonder if it is better for clubs to show an operating loss for tax purposes? If so we should maybe take the 14 clubs not making a profit line with some dubiousness?

Or alternatively if the grant went up $1million a year and clubs capped any extra expenditure they would mostly be in the black? I wonder why the NRL hasnt done this given it has the cash reserves to do so. I suspect it is because they know a broke club is a weak club and they can foster better business practices on them with an offer to bail them out if they accept governance change?

Either way I suspect the clubs are all broke line is a tad conveniant.

Craigshark

Sharks have 3500 juniors and three grades of seniors. They meet all criteria now as they have money as well.[/QUOTE]

Do they? Their annual reports make for sobering reading, they were the poorest club in the NRL, they are marginally not the poorest club in the NRL but are hardly rolling in it, they still owe some pizza guy $3.5million dont they? All of the down payment money has gone on clearing some of their debt. They are still assett rich and cash flow poor and needed a $1million loan from a director and ran a $1.25mill loss looking at their 13-14 books. Maybe 14-15 is better?

http://www.sharks.com.au/content/dam/sharks/pdfs/Cronulla%20Sharks%20Football%20Club%20Accounts.pdf

I was quite surprised to read the Panthers NRL annual report and what a great job they have done turning around revenue since 2011. Their sponsorships are much much healthier and even gate revenue, though small, has improved. Tehya re doing agreat job in improving their income level.

It's ok mate.. The development is going ahead and Perth still don't have a team.

Spanner in the works

What about a relatively senior executive from somewhere like Nike/Adidas/Reebok/etc? Obviously someone at the CEO-level is out of our league salary wise - same with the tier just below in most cases e.g. chief operating officer - but I'd seriously consider the next tier down if we can. For example, Nike has the CEO, then the COO/Executive Vice President-level, and then the Vice President-level - this is the level we would target. They are usually pretty hungry and are the one's being groomed for a CEO-role in the future. Things they are likely to bring to the role:

• Hard skills in commerce.
  • An understanding of the media, particularly advertising and marketing. Nike, Adidas and co are brands as much as they are products, and I think having those well-developed skills will be very beneficial to the code, particularly given the competitive nature of the industry they have just come from.
  • They know merchandise and sports marketing - particularly important I would say for any role in an industry such as ours (and the way clubs earn revenue).
  • They know sponsorships - also important for the role they would be entering.

Something to consider? Going from a huge global sporting brand like Reebok or Nike to a top-tier sporting competition like ours doesn't seem like a huge departure in terms of knowledge and skills to me.