Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Toyota Cup Squad Named For Season 2009

That's a very strong Squad. So much talent.

Noel Cleal will be licking his lips at the talent at his disposal.

tbh..i think the squad may struggle next year, it's a very young squad and we appear to be a little thin in the forwards.

Canberra have about 18 players backing up from this years squad and they bloody well won the comp.

Hey Colonel,

I'm trying to find an artical about Daniel Cross, I could of sworn that he came from the roosters SG Ball side and we were in the middle of a tug of war with the Titens for his services.

do you remember that??

Hey Colonel,

I'm trying to find an artical about Daniel Cross, I could of sworn that he came from the roosters SG Ball side and we were in the middle of a tug of war with the Titens for his services.

do you remember that??

There was something about him not being totally sold on the move to Sydney and was prepared to stay in Qld. Not sure if the Titans were involved. He was fullback for the Roosters SG Ball side.

http://www.thedaily.com.au/news/2008/aug/17/local-star-may-ignore-nrl-offer/

But it looks like we may have snuck another one off the Eagles.

Interesting that Josh Murray isn't listed as an Under 20's player unless he'll play SG Ball.

http://dailyadvertiser.yourguide.co...wagga-teen-signs-with-parramatta/1235300.aspx

http://www.streetcorner.com.au/news/showPost.cfm?bid=8780

Eel's under 20s start pre-season training

Posted 11/11/2008 at 08:06 AM by StreetCorner
The Parramatta Eels have kicked off preparations for Toyota Cup season 2009 with a 34-man squad coming together yesterday to begin pre-season training.

The depth of the squad is a highlight with a total of 15 players having featured for the Eels at some point during this year's debut season of the national under 20’s competition.

New recruit Lachlan Gowland also has Toyota Cup experience having played five games for St. George-Illawarra during 2008.

Head Coach Matt Cameron says while he’s enthusiastic about the quality of the 2009 squad there is a lot of hard work to be done before it’s ready to take the field.

“You can’t replicate experience so it’s a definite plus to have so many players who have already played Toyota Cup,” Cameron said.

“However last season counts for very little with so many new guys coming in.

Cameron said the Eels were fortunate to have three 2008 Australian Schoolboys in Tim Auremi, Albert Kelly and Daniel Galati in the squad and said the club had we’ve recruited strongly and selectively from outside.

“But ultimately Parramatta’s focus is on developing our juniors and this squad is reflective of that, with the vast majority of the squad coming from junior clubs within our district and through the club’s district representative program,” he said.

The Eels finished fifth on the 2008 Toyota Cup ladder and were eventually bundled out in week two of the Finals. Toyota Cup Squad 2009

Mitchell Allgood (Front Row/2nd Row) 27/4/1989 Brothers Penrith

Ramis Amanoel (Front Row)20/2/1990 Guildford

TK Amosa (Halfback) 3/5/1990 Wentworthville

Tim Auremi (2nd Row/Lock/Centre) 8/4/1990 Greystanes

Jason Baiteri 2nd Row/Lock 2/7/1989 Hills Bulls

Boyd Brown (Front Row/2nd Row/Centre) 29/1/1990 Cabramatta

Shaun Cox (Wing) 2/7/1989 Guyra

Daniel Cross (Fullback/Utility Back) 10/2/1990 Caloundra (Qld)

Daniel Galati (Hooker) 27/7/1990 Greystanes

Nathan Gardner (Fullback/Wing) 7/3/1990 Cabramatta

Lachlan Gowland (Lock/Centre) 17/4/1989 West Arana Hills (Qld)

Brad Graham (2nd Row/Centre)8/10/1990 Red Bend Forbes

Jamie Graham (Hooker) 8/10/1990 Red Bend Forbes

Scott Hartigan (Lock/Hooker) 15/7/1989 Guildford

Royce Hura (2nd Row/Lock)15/7/1990 Wentworthville

Ellis James (2nd Row/Front Row) 22/6/1990 Hills Bulls

Mitchell Johnson (Front Row) 5/8/1990 Wentworthville

Albert Kelly (Five Eighth/Halfback) 21/3/1991 Smithtown Juniors

Sam Kelso (Wing/Centre)6/11/1990 Halswell Hornets (NZ)

Solomone Lasalo (2nd Row) 28/7/1990 Wentworthville

Taniela Lasalo (2nd Row/Lock/Centre) 23/9/1989 Wentworthville

Joel Latham (Front Row/2nd Row)16/5/1989 Cabramatta

Fred Latulipe (Utility Back)19/11/1990 Cabramatta

Owen Lauofo (Centre/Wing)22/5/1989 Wentworthville

Anthony Mitchell (Hooker)27/5/1989 Brothers Townsville (Qld)

Ryan Morgan (Centre)4/5/1990 Greystanes

Daniel Mortimer (Halfback/Five Eighth)13/6/1989 Orange CYMS

Domenic NASSOb(Fullback/Wing/Centre)17/7/1989 Hills Bulls

Rulon Nutira (2nd Row/Lock)11/2/1990 Hornby Panthers (NZ)

Pat O'Hanlon (2nd Row/Lock)14/3/1991 Northern Marlins (Qld)

Cameron Speechley (Halfback) 7/3/1989 Guildford

Kene Te Whata (Front Row) 3/4/1989 Northland (NZ)

David Thomas (Centre/2nd Row) 22/2/1990 St Pats Blacktown

Fathead

I predict that the junior of the year will be Pat O'Hanlon.
My spies tell me that this kid could be anything and has the right work ethic to achieve regular NRL in a couple of years.

I predict that the junior of the year will be Pat O'Hanlon.
My spies tell me that this kid could be anything and has the right work ethic to achieve regular NRL in a couple of years.

yeah..I've read a few wraps about him, looking forward to checking him and Dan Cross out, I think they could be stars..

Parra Glory

Does anybody know if Solomone Lasalo is Taniela Lasalo's younger brother? I have seen Taniela's brother play park footy quite a few times and the kid definatly has a lot of talent.

could be, he also played for the Bears SG Ball side last year

Not sure but we also have a Tui Lasalo in this years Harold Matts squad.

eelaholic

They are cousins

Solomone was in my SG ball squad at Norths in 2008

He played 2nd row. He can be quite damaging (when he wants to be), but can unfortunately get a bit lazy (both on the field and at training)

I think with the right coach and a bit of fitness he can be an asset for the team

He's not quite as impressive as Taniela, but who knows what could happen now that they are training together

APRIL BELLE

yeah..I've read a few wraps about him (O'Hanlon), looking forward to checking him and Dan Cross out, I think they could be stars..

Pat O'HANLON needs another 12 months to bulk up. He is still light framed despite his 6 foot 5 inch frame. He will show his skills and potential next year but be patient. 2010 will be his year.

Rocket has done wonders getting this kid. I am stuffed how the Cowboys let him go.

Dan Cross is a great little player but he is small and not in the same league as O'Hanlon.

Pat O'HANLON needs another 12 months to bulk up. He is still light framed despite his 6 foot 5 inch frame. He will show his skills and potential next year but be patient. 2010 will be his year.

Rocket has done wonders getting this kid. I am stuffed how the Cowboys let him go.

Dan Cross is a great little player but he is small and not in the same league as O'Hanlon.

thanks AB..I take it your from Queensland?

rambo1

Got a feeling they might be rushing O'Hanlon. I think he is only 17 so why not start him in SG Ball to see how he goes?

rambo1

http://www.ourfootyteam.com/ais_07tour.php

PAT O'HANLON In FRANCE WITH THE AIS FOOTY TEAM
australian_ais_teamPhoto_s3.jpg
Australian AIS team after the 1st Test (Photo : arl)

Pat O'Hanlon was kind enough to speek to ourfootyteam by a scratchy phone from France.
@ 9:00 PM Thursday 20 th November
G'DAY PAT, HOW ARE YOU GOING OVER THERE.
"Yeah good, its great"
IS IT COLD FOR A MACKAY BOY?
"Mate, its cold, really its freezing over here "
THE BOYS ARE OFF TO ENGLAND, THAT WILL BE EVEN COLDER - LOL
"I think its snowing in London, yeah that will be worse "
WOW THAT'S COLD
YOU HAVE HAD A RIPPER OF A SEASON, WHAT HAVE BEEN THE HIGHS & THE LOWS?
"The high would definately be winning the Man of the Match Award in this years U19 State of Origin"
YOU GUYS WON THAT DIDN'T YA'S (lol)
"nah, you know we didn't, the low was definately when i broke my arm and missed playing for the Queensland Schoolboys at the ASSRL National Championships in Darwin."
CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE FOOTY, YEAH THE 1ST GAME AGAINST THE FRENCH JUNIORS
"Yeah no worries"
HOW WAS THE GAME PAT ?
"It was a bit tough, they came out tougher than we expected, we didn't expect them to come at us like they did, we need to clean out a few cobwebs, but to their (French Juniors) credit, they played really good. "
THE BOYS PLAY AGAIN TONIGHT (Aussie time) ?
"Yeah we kick off at 3:30 this arvo" (France time)
ARE YOU IN THE TEAM PAT TONIGHT ?
"I'm playing"
patrick_oHanlon_eels_s3.jpg
ARE THE BOYS DOING ANY SIGHT SEEING OVER THERE IN FRANCE?
"We visited Carcassonne Castle, its a real big castle with like a city inside it, we visited Toulouse City, yeah it was nice, lots of old building hey."
PARRA NEXT YEAR ?
"Yep, after this tour, i'll be straight into it"
SO YOU THINK YOU START PLAYING SG BALL OR STRAIGHT INTO THE TOYOTA CUP
"I've been named in the Toyota Cup squad, but, whatever they think is the best Development Pathway"
WANNA SAY ANYTHING TO THE PEOLE BACK HOME AT MACKAY
"Yeah i do, miss ya's all heaps, hello to everyone at Mackay SHS and i really wish the Academy all the best for the future"
THANKS PAT, GOOD LUCK THIS ARVO TO YOU AND THE BOYS, ALL OF AUSTRALIA IS BEHIND YA'S
"Thanks, no worries"