Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ultrathread I: Thread of the Year - 2014

Didgi

Agree the child should be independent, but that doesn't hinge on financial independence.

I'm reliant on my parents and will be for a fair while (could survive but I'd have no career), but I live away from home 10 months a year and could make any major decisions without them.

Then again, I'm legally an adult. I wouldn't be letting my kids get tats etc until I thought they were responsible enough, but that would be separate from them moving out etc.

My parents were the same RE drinking, when I wanted to go to parties they told me to avoid any hard shit, don't do anything you wouldn't want photographed and shown to them and take it slow. I'll be doing the same for my kids, they can probably start having a beer etc or 16-17 (I won't be as strict there, I wasn't allowed to grab a beer at home until a month before my 18th) but ease them into it rather than have them find out themselves.

Then again, there's an awful lot you can learn from f**king up majorly. Just not too majorly.

afinalsin666

i'm a responsible parent..

as such, i have already had my kids tattooed with full sleeves, as these seem to be the popular trend of today (and tattoos never go out of fashion, right?)..

the benefit being, i don't have to worry about them making the wrong decision later in life and getting a tattoo - they've already got one.

and the added benefit, given children have less skin, the tattoo parlour charges less...

gives me more money to put through the pokies, so it's a win for everyone really..

You are an abusive shitlord. Where are the spacers in their cheeks? And their septum piercing? They will be ridiculed by the cool kids without them, and will eventually commit suicide. You monster.

Dani

When my Mum caught my mate and I sneaking around the liquor cabinet at home, she sat down with us and mixed us a bunch of different drinks and shots so we'd know what each was.

When the day came that I, late bloomer that I am, asked to attend a party (I was 17) - her and Dad furnished me with a sixer of beer and a bottle of Coke to use as a mixer.

They were the same with my younger brothers. Better to know your kid is getting drunk at a mate's place than to have no idea where he is or what he's doing IMO.

My parents did the exact same. Sent me off to parties with booze they got for me.

And you know what, I never abused their trust. I drank what they got me and rarely any more. I wasn't hanging around the shops trying to get a stranger to buy it for me either...

Misanthrope

Mis, you mixed beer and Coke?

Wow

Ew! No! :lol:

My folks handed me a 2L bottle of Coke. I was like "What's this for?"

They said I'd find out.

Within five minutes of getting to the party, some dude emptied half of my coke out and poured cheap whiskey into the bottle.

Misanthrope

I couldn't tell you when my first drink was. Probably a beer and probably well before it was legal.

There's a photo of my (then) six year old brother sneaking a pull from my Dad's stubby of Tooheys Old on Facebook :lol:

I made all my own decisions in life since I was about 10. First time I got drunk at 15 i went halves in a bottle of vodka mixed with a 1.25l bottle of Solo. Spent the next 8 hours spewing and sleeping in a lane way. I'll let my kids drink from 16 or so because they will anyway but only beer or mixed drinks.

Dani

I was 12. My friend and I stole lemon ruskis from everyone's eskis on cup day and went to the park to drink them.

afinalsin666

I made all my own decisions in life since I was about 10. First time I got drunk at 15 i went halves in a bottle of vodka mixed with a 1.25l bottle of Solo. Spent the next 8 hours spewing and sleeping in a lane way. I'll let my kids drink from 16 or so because they will anyway but only beer or mixed drinks.

:lol: that's the way.

My first time getting drunk was two bottles of Bombora and a six pack of extra dry. Stayed awake the whole night, but was wrecked for days afterwards.

afinalsin666

Indeed, very deadly. Although the worst hangover i've had was either Fruity Lexia or Bundy Rum. Very classy drinks.

Dragon2010

I've got a topic I'd like to raise a bit of (hopeful) discussion on. Hopefully, it makes sense.

In regards to life/career drive - how do you sell yourself?

I mean, are you happy just to live day by day and survive. Have a stable career and do a job that makes ends meet and no more, or do you want to be somebody, be the best you can possible be and rise above the rest?

I know it's common to see both - ie. Some people are just happy (or privileged) enough to be able to put food on the table and keep a roof above their head, and for them. That's enough.

Although, I must say, for me, whether it's due to arrogance or a competitive nature. I've always wanted to be the best and rise above. I can't stand being in one place and always look for ways to improve and better myself.

It was something that got bought up in a meeting I had today. Was just interested to see how other people feel about it.