Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"Unbelievably well coached" A. Johns

The media attention has started
I foresee articles on Beau Ryan in RLW and Tim Moltzen in Big League
A herald article on sizzler yesterday and after picking up thesononthehill from his pre school i tuned into talkin sport to here sizzler being interviewed
We can only hope the media attention we are going to get going into sunday's game as favourites doesn't distract the boys. Curiously in the interview sizzler said he wants to keep opposing sides to `15 or 16 a game'. Also mentioned `attitude' to defence. If only it had been there last yr against sh*t like the seagulls, soufs, easts and newcastle

But we definitely have the balance right this yr. Payne, Heighno, D Galea provide us with great workrate and let the likes of Payten, Fulton and Bronson do the craftier stuff. In all honesty we have on paper one of the top sides in the comp which is why the last 2 seasons have been abject. We have plenty of quality and they can all play and when you look at the sh*t that played finals football (and indeed lost the grand final) last year should have had the coaching staff having a good look at themselves

Fighting41

themanonthehill said:
The media attention has started
I foresee articles on Beau Ryan in RLW and Tim Moltzen in Big League
A herald article on sizzler yesterday and after picking up thesononthehill from his pre school i tuned into talkin sport to here sizzler being interviewed
We can only hope the media attention we are going to get going into sunday's game as favourites doesn't distract the boys. Curiously in the interview sizzler said he wants to keep opposing sides to `15 or 16 a game'. Also mentioned `attitude' to defence. If only it had been there last yr against sh*t like the seagulls, soufs, easts and newcastle

But we definitely have the balance right this yr. Payne, Heighno, D Galea provide us with great workrate and let the likes of Payten, Fulton and Bronson do the craftier stuff. In all honesty we have on paper one of the top sides in the comp which is why the last 2 seasons have been abject. We have plenty of quality and they can all play and when you look at the sh*t that played finals football (and indeed lost the grand final) last year should have had the coaching staff having a good look at themselves

You have no credibility to make any comments on the Tigers and anything you do say is slanted because of your lack of integrity and Cowardice.

Maybe this is why you are jealous, because the players and coaching staff have what you don't have courage, conviction and integrity.

Where as you, are a spineless, weak, pathetic, inadequate individual who is a coward

One day, when you get off the dole, get a job and save some money you too might be able to have a holiday with your fam somewhere other than culburra ...

simon says

No matter what you have thought of Sheens in the past,gee the side has looked well drilled.

Goal line defense has looked sharp,and we are the only team in the comp that I have seen pull off any serious kind of plays ala the flying wedge.

Come on MOTH.....fess up,we are looking very well coached.....cmon mate.

It is 2 weeks
We looked good for 6 wks last season in the middle before it went pear shaped
Some of you forget the end of last season a little too quickly
But maybe coach shines has pulled the reins tight after the Seagullls trial if stories are to be believed

Fighting41

themanonthehill said:
One day, when you get off the dole, get a job and save some money you too might be able to have a holiday with your fam somewhere other than culburra ...

Like your footy you have know f**kin idea.

I have never known anyone to brag about a holiday to Malaysia.:lol:
You f**kcing jetsetter!!!!!!:lol:

Tiger Hawk

Looks like another WTFer from the official interweb forum has come over with a chip on his shoulder.

Haven't you got anything better to do, like discuss songs, banners and guess the crowd numbers for the upcoming match?

They must have run out of predict the scores/face paint/flagpole/lucky undies threads and thought they'd come and talk to the big boys when school finished

Callan Pk

Tiger Hawk said:
Looks like another WTFer from the official interweb forum has come over with a chip on his shoulder.

Haven't you got anything better to do, like discuss songs, banners and guess the crowd numbers for the upcoming match?

You got nothing better to do then brown tongue Moth, cretin?
The way you sheep use all his insults like ronald, sizzler, spastic etc is pathetic, grow a brain and use it, get an opinon of your own.

simon says

themanonthehill said:
It is 2 weeks
We looked good for 6 wks last season in the middle before it went pear shaped
Some of you forget the end of last season a little too quickly
But maybe coach shines has pulled the reins tight after the Seagullls trial if stories are to be believed

I agree its only two weeks,but there is a steely resolve about them that I didnt see last year.When they do a big hit they are all in there patting backs,Liam got plenty of backup the other night with LOD,and there are plenty of players in motion.

We havent sent the comp on fire,but IMO we are doing the little things right and going very well.

Without Bunji,Collis and Head.

8 out of ten so far.

netic

Moth like most people here i also think your an absolute idiot and really wish you would support another team, As a lifetime supporter of Balmain Tigers and now Wests Tigers i think the team is doing great this year thanks to our coaching staff....

And rather then remember a bad time which was August 2007 i would rather focus on the good times which is now......Your and your little crew of bitch..es need to stop looking at the past and focus on the future..........

Get a life...

themanonthehill said:
Don't let the facts get in the way hey fruit picker you deluded head in the sand bogan mug
Mug…jeez MOTH, that’s the best you can ever do with me, every time you try to insult me you cant get past mug, pretty weak effort

super_coach said:
I rather read Moths sland on tigers than the pickers any day. Calls it as he see it, calls a spade a shovel and their is some entertainment value. Dont agree with everything he says (actually I think Morris is a 6 out of ten and not a minus 10). Sheens has been the Media's kola bear for years. His results just dont stack up with the raps he been getting over the past 10 years. Now Iam not saying he is bad coach, but he is not the god of coaching that the media is painting.

As for the fruit picker, work on your own game it needs plenty of work forget bagging others
Calls it as he sees it, bull, he cant see past that enormous ship on his shoulder

And of course you would rather read MOTHs rants, you are one of his 3 brown tongue followers I referred to

Tiger Hawk

Callan Pk said:
You got nothing better to do then brown tongue Moth, cretin?
The way you sheep use all his insults like ronald, sizzler, spastic etc is pathetic, grow a brain and use it, get an opinon of your own.
Check out Fighting41's post history dipsh*t and tell me where he has once, ONCE, posted anything football related on a RL forum. In fact, all of that tool's posts are directed at MOTH.

super_coach

This might go over the heads of a few who have made recent contributions to this post( the likes of Callan Park, The fruit pickers and a few others) who have a combined IQ less than the amount of !st grade games that Benji has played in the last 12 months. But the facts are

1---Sheens has a pretty average win ratio over the past ten years
2---Recriutment has been average
3---results in 2006 and particular 2007 average at best

Now as Moth has said and many others 2008 is looking much better, Gelea and Payne give the side a much better look from the defence department and thats where our problems come from. Two weeks is far to early to be making any predictions and I will be the first to give sheens a rap if when he turns the joint around. But like all head coaches he has to be judged on results and be given the same treatment as the other 15 coaches in the NRL by the media. With the group we have now their should be no excusses for anything short of a top 6 finish. Looking forward to the replys from the IQ brothers

netic said:
Moth like most people here i also think your an absolute idiot and really wish you would support another team, As a lifetime supporter of Balmain Tigers and now Wests Tigers i think the team is doing great this year thanks to our coaching staff....

And rather then remember a bad time which was August 2007 i would rather focus on the good times which is now......Your and your little crew of bitch..es need to stop looking at the past and focus on the future..........

Get a life...

It seems that you're missing the point.

One of those Sheens-sycophants posted comments made by Joey Johns to the effect that the Tigers were a well-coached side. A lot of us challenged this statement by reference to the Tigers' lack of success in recent seasons. 2004, 2006 and 2007 should be considered utter failures given the relative strength of our squad.

In most situations the coach is held accountable for the team's performance. However, if you searched through all the articles/reports/interviews relating to the team's capitulation in each of these seasons you would be lucky to find any criticism levelled at Sheens. Invariably the media cites inexperience/ injuries/ refs blunders/ bad luck as the cause of our demise. The mere fact that Sheens has experienced past GF success with a Canberra rep side + the Tiges should not be cause to absolve him of responsibility for later failures.

I'm sick of hearing nuffies accuse others of being bad supporters because they have the 'gaul' to assess the coach's credentials ON THE BASIS OF THE TEAM'S PERFORMANCES. If the media were not always being so deferential towards Sheens they might do their job and apply the same level of scrutiny as they do to other coaches such as Smith, Brown and Co.

Of course, everybody is happy with the performance in the first two rounds of this season and given the coach should assume responsibility for our failures so should he take credit for our success. The quality of opposition hasn't been top line although the circumstances of each game have made the victories particularly pleasing. Whats more the squad looks to have more grunt in the forwards with the addition of Payne, Teo's development as a ballrunner (first since Manu), Galea's defence and big red stringing decent perfromances together for the first time ever. I think we're all hoping top 8...towards the lower end at this stage, I'd say.

TV Ted the only thing I will disagree with is the `bottom end of the top 8' sentiment.
Objectively (and trying to be unbiased) Melb will be 1st by a mile
Before the season i was thinking Parra would be up there but looking at their side on NRL teams, with not a lot to come back they're no certs
Cronulla I think were a lot of people's smokies but Ross and Williams out already has them testing their depth and Thompson is under an injury cloud
Cowboys have started badly and will suffer massively at Origin time .. they've lost 2 ... they'll lose 5 or so during the rep season (big assumption) ... by my calcs that leaves them only 2 other losses to make a push for the top 4 (lets be honest no thurston they are sh*t)
Manly's luck and arse was all used up last year
The dogs are a spent force
Ditto the dragons
Brisbane are a shadow of what they were and whilst they'll probably be top 8 i don't think they're a threat
Titans lack depth and are very very weak out wide
Easts have a good pack and Tupou is playing like he should have been and like he is capable of but out wide the likes of kenny dowell, sa, perrett etc aren't gonna frighten teams
Canberra, penriff, soufs, knights LOL

I am not prone to overstatement but I truly believe we have the 2nd best squad in the comp. Top 5 should be the minimum we are aiming for. We have a heap of quality to come back and with the exception of Prince v Morris I think our 05 backline is possibly better than the 05 version (esp at centre - Collis is utter class)

Robbie has come on since 05 and the pack has more metres in them than the 05 pack imho and at the moment is perfectly balanced.

Those of us with our eyes opened have every right to question sheens and simmons for the 06 and 07 seasons. We ran home with 5 from 7 at home last yr and the abject performances of August and early september are easily forgotten by the morons like fruit pickers etc and his crayon wielding, face painted ratarded mates like they forgot the 4 times tables they learned yesterday at sarah redfern school for the mentally geniused.

Sheens has had 1 very good year since 1996 but has been a koala bear in the media who have rounded on the likes of smith (unjustifiably) and brown (probably justifiably given what he has had to work with)

The alluded to primary school morons confuse looking objectively with `not supporting' and in their eyes poor decisions by the coaching and management of the club (including the whoring out of home games which disadvantages the side) cannot be questioned and must be accepted with the blind faith that will render these fools insignificant oxygen thieves for the rest of their lives

hitman82

I think it's great how several of you West Tigpies fans constantly bag out your lunatic coach. Makes for very entertaining reading.