Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Vaughan and Frizz in state of origin

Losing Cook was a big mistake however, we never learn from our mistakes. Now we let another potential champion go in Robson. The dumb officials at SGI simply do not learn from such mistakes; they have their minds on other things.

It was undoubtedly that fella Millward’s mistake - again !

Crush

McInnes is a great tackling machine but will never represent NSW mainly because of his inability to read a game. On many occasions he has sent the ball the wrong way, pass the ball to the wrong player and given away penalties at the wrong time of a set/game.

Robson could have been our 'Cook' and I'm sure we will in the future again regret letting go such a good prospect.
McInnes isnt the problem with the Dragons nor are any of the players individually. Its the culture, the belief and the work ethic.
Same with Blues last night. They lost not because their roster was less skilled than the opposition rather that the QLD team wanted it more and had more self belief.
We should close down all threads on players being dropped or promoted and just discuss the coaching staff and the team culture, its all that matters at this stage. Once the team culture is there and the team is firing and putting in 110% then we can open up discussions about personnel again.

Carlton

McInnes is a great tackling machine but will never represent NSW mainly because of his inability to read a game. On many occasions he has sent the ball the wrong way, pass the ball to the wrong player and given away penalties at the wrong time of a set/game.

Robson could have been our 'Cook' and I'm sure we will in the future again regret letting go such a good prospect.

I disagree, McInness is more than just a tackling machine. His service is actually pretty good and reads the game well (you can see this with his tries from dummy half and when he was picking up a rampaging Vaughan). I dont know how you know he has sent the ball the wrong way or to the wrong player, the only way you can know this is if you hear the calls on the field and know what the coaches instructions are.

McInness does not give away an undue amount of penalties and often when he has its because the defenders have fallen off the tackle to the side and we dont have any markers. In this situation he is doing the right thing and not allowing the roll on from the attack.

Last night Cook did some good things in attack but maybe they needed McInness defence in the middle even more. Its not just the number of tackles McInness makes its also his extraordinarily high tackle efficiency. Also, the fact he is making first contact on the biggest forwards in the game and in many cases handling them single handedly without letting them make post contact meters.

McInnes isnt the problem with the Dragons nor are any of the players individually. Its the culture, the belief and the work ethic.
Same with Blues last night. They lost not because their roster was less skilled than the opposition rather that the QLD team wanted it more and had more self belief.
We should close down all threads on players being dropped or promoted and just discuss the coaching staff and the team culture, its all that matters at this stage. Once the team culture is there and the team is firing and putting in 110% then we can open up discussions about personnel again.
There is very little value in discussing the coaching staff. We have done that exhaustively over the past few years and were delivered an extension for the biggest fraud of a first grade head coach in the NRL.

When it comes to players, fans have their favourites and the players they do not like. On a forum such as this, players will always be discussed.

Pro Dragons

Has Robson been announed going?..
Another potential champion. You sound like Joey Johns. How many times have we heard this? Cam King was meant to be another one.
I am not convinced about Robson. Time will tell who is right!

What ever happened to Cameron King?

getsmarty

Blues player ratings: State of Origin game one
Author
Martin Lenehan NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 5 Jun 2019, 10:26 PM

Player ratings for the NSW Blues from game one of the 2019 State of Origin series.

1. James Tedesco: Electrifying first-half display from the game's best fullback. His dazzling feet set up the opening try for Morris and he finished with 30 runs for 267 metres runs but a dropped ball on kick return in the 70th minute gave the Maroons the chance to wrap it up. 8.5/10

2. Nick Cotric: Did nothing wrong in first half but came in too far and opened up space for Corey Oates to score the Maroons first try. Limited opportunities in attack and looked to pick up a leg injury in the second term. 6

3. Latrell Mitchell: Seemed out of sorts in the first 40 and was outpointed by arch-rival Will Chambers. Sent to the sin bin midway through the second half for a professional foul on Matt Gillett and the Maroons capitalised. Not his best night. 5.5

4. Josh Morris: The veteran centre made an impressive return to the Origin arena with a try and plenty of strong defensive work. Had eight tackle breaks in the first half. 7.5

Tedesco sets up Morris

5. Josh Addo-Carr: The left side defence of the Blues looked shaky all night and the Storm winger was found out more than once. Used his blinding speed to run down Chambers in the 30th minute to save a try. 6.5

6. Cody Walker: No real influence in the first half and was replaced 15 minutes into the second half. Played a key role in Jake Trbojevic's try which gave the Blues a late sniff but overall had very few opportunities to show his off-the-cuff skills. 5

7. Nathan Cleary: Did all that was asked of him with a solid kicking game and made his tackles. Seven kicks for 217 kick metres in first half and then Cook took over more of the kicking after the break. 7

8. David Klemmer: Unbelievable first half from the enforcer of the Blues pack. Played the entire first half and made 129 metres from 12 quality hit-ups and 25 tackles. Less effective in the second half but a powerful showing. 8.5

9. Damien Cook: Explosive out of dummy half and gave the Maroons headaches all night with his speed and footwork. Forming a lethal combination with James Tedesco. High work rate in defence with 45 tackles. 8.5

10. Paul Vaughan: Strong opening to the game with nine runs for 80 metres before he was rested. Set the tone with Klemmer early but was well contained after the break as the Maroons forwards took control. 6.5

Trbojevic gives NSW a chance

11. Boyd Cordner: Another captain's knock, getting through a power of work in defence with 34 tackles. Understated leader but always effective. 7

12. Tyson Frizell: Just seven runs for 44 metres in first stint of 30 minutes and played only another 10 minutes for the match. 6

13. Jake Trbojevic: Always tries his heart out and finished with 17 runs for 130 metres and grabbed a late try in 50 minutes of game time. 7

Interchange:

14. Jack Wighton: Sent into the game by Brad Fittler with 25 minutes to go and had a kick charged down and threw an intercept pass which Dane Gagai swooped on to score. 4.5

15. Payne Haas: Thrown into the Origin cauldron after 22 minutes. Made 14 tackles in 18 minutes in first half and finished with 31 tackles and no misses. Conceded a silly penalty on David Fifita as the Maroons gained momentum. 6.5

16. Cameron Murray: Got his boarding pass after 30 minutes and enhanced his reputation with rock solid game although a bad turnover early in second half when he didn't get to his feet to play the ball. 7

17. Angus Crichton: Played 52 minutes and struggled to make an impact. 5

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/06/06/blues-player-ratings-state-of-origin-game-one/

getsmarty

Maroons players ratings: State of Origin game one
Author
Paul Zalunardo NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 5 Jun 2019, 10:31 PM

Player ratings for the Queensland Maroons side from game one of the 2019 Holden State of Origin series.

1. Kalyn Ponga: NSW were focused on stopping him. That's easier said than done. Ponga made things happen almost every time he touched the ball. What a player. 9/10

2. Corey Oates: Denied a first-half try when he put his foot into touch. Made up for it in the second 40 with a great finish. NSW sent their kicks towards Gagai's wing for much of the night. 6

3: Michael Morgan: A great player in the halves, but was outpointed by Josh Morris playing as a centre. The fact the Maroons won will gloss over some of his short-comings. 5.5

4. Will Chambers: After a rough 2018 Origin series, Chambers was impressive. Won his personal battle with Latrell Mitchell. Could have positioned supports better and set up a first-half try. 7.5

5. Dane Gagai: A brilliant performance. Two superb second-half tries got his team the win. NSW sent plenty of ball his way via kicks and runs and he handled everything with ease. A stirring performance. Out-pointed Addo-Carr. That intercept try was something else. 9

Gagai intercepts Wighton pass

6. Cameron Munster: Apart from missing a tackle which resulted in NSW's first try, the Storm man was on top of his game. Showed why he's one of the best open-field runners going around. 7.5

7. Daly Cherry-Evans: Kicking game was very good, as was his organisational work. Proved himself worthy of the Maroons captaincy. 8

8. Jai Arrow: In his 21-minute stint to start the match, had just two runs for 21 metres. Was much better in the second half. Queensland needed more consistency from one of their starting props. 6.5

9: Ben Hunt: Was very busy, making 30 first-half tackles. Service out of dummy half was fair, but he doesn't offer the constant threat that Damien Cook provides with ball in hand. Makes up for that with effort. 8

10: Josh Papalii: Effort was never lacking. Didn't match the running metres of Blues prop Klemmer but did enough to set a platform for the skilled players in his side. 7

11. Felise Kaufusi: His powerful running game makes him a danger whenever he gets the ball. Queensland know they'll get a good performance out of him in every match. 7

12: Matt Gillett: Tackled strongly, but didn't offer a lot in attack. Has always been one of the more reliable defenders in the game. 6.5

Ponga creates space for Oates

13. Josh McGuire: Never short of advice for opponents, McGuire's work as an irritant was matched by his effort on this occasion. Not the type of player to break a game open, but gets through plenty of hard yakka in the middle of the field. 6

Interchange

14. Moses Mbye: Came on with just eight minutes remaining. Didn't get much in the way of opportunities. 4

15. Joe Ofahengaue: His night was ended by a bad cut on his knee, but played strongly in 33 minutes of game time. Made 113 metres from 11 runs but had a tackle efficiency rating of just 78 per cent. 6

16. Dylan Napa: There's no two ways about it - he should have scored a try in the first half when he fell on a loose ball in the in-goal area. Was his usual aggressive self but lacks foot speed. 6

17. David Fifita: Small sample size (26 minutes) but showed he deserved to be on the Origin stage. 6

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/06/06/maroons-players-ratings-state-of-origin-game-one/

getsmarty

Queensland Under-18s romp to big win over young Blues
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Wed 5 Jun 2019, 06:34 PM

With halves Sam Walker and Josh James controlling the game superbly, Queensland under 18s have beaten NSW 34-12 in the Origin curtain-raiser at Suncorp Stadium.

The win broke a three-year drought for Queensland in the annual under 18s clash and was built on a powerful forward display and a pinpoint kicking game by captain James.

The Brisbane Norths No.6 laid on a try for winger Xavier Coates with a pinpoint cross field kick in the 54th minute and landed a couple of conversions from wide out in the first half.

Coates racked up huge running metres in the second half as he broke the Blues line on several occasions and was a fitting winner of the man of the match award.

Queensland v New South Wales Under 18s

Coates, who played in the Brisbane Broncos' trial game against Souths Logan in February, was part of the Tweed Heads Seagulls side which won the national under-18s final over NSW champions Illawarra.

After trailing 18-6 at the break, the Michael Ennis-coached NSW side fought back through prop Sione Fainu but Coates’ try and a runaway intercept try to Fanitesi Niu put the game out of the Blues’ reach.

Interchange utility back Reece Walsh then put the icing on a memorable win for the Maroons when he crossed in the closing stages.

Queensland made 45 tackle breaks across the 70 minutes and their power running proved too much for the Blues' defence.

Match: QLD U18s v QLD U18s

Round 1 - Wednesday 5th June

Full Time

Home Team

QLD U18s

Scored 34 points

Away Team

QLD U18s

Scored 12 points

Venue: Suncorp Stadium

Match broadcasters:

• NRL.COM

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/06/06/queensland-under-18s-romp-to-big-win-over-young-blues/

BLM01

I disagree Crush. The Blues lost beacause of the backs defence, when on top in the 1st half we could of nailed em further had we played football and not play one out. Inability in the 2nd half for our forwards to take it to em with line speed. Freddie's like Mary's at times bench use and rotation was poor.
Klemmer played too long in the 1st half..he was good but we had no Frizz or Klem when it was needed in the 2nd half. Vaughan and a newby in Haas had to do all that grunt work when QLD were getting on top early in the 2nd half on their own. We were 1 bigger prop short the whole game.
Shining light and standout new kid - Murray. He was the 3rd best NSW welshman behind Cook / Teddy, closely followed Jake & Klem.
I though Cotric troubled em in attack but the flanks got no ball..why?. Josh Morris gets praised and picked for what?. He is seriously yes better than Aitken in defense, but got found out later on, but just as big a ball hog as is kick happy Chambers. Even Latrell hogged the ball this game.
Morris could of butchered that 1st try by going alone. Cotric will never see any ball either.
Just a disgrunted Blues supporter.

BLM01

Cause we will Possm. Robson has shown enough of 1st grade that he is better than Cook and should of been picked for Origin.
I get you like and rate him..but judging him against other proven worthy 1st graders based on what..reserve grade. Limited minutes in 1st grade. Say all you like when he kills it for 1st grade at the Cowboys. Then I will acknowledge you and our shortsightedness.
You forget to mention against the Sharks when we were attacking in the 2nd half how Robson dropped a sitter standing 1 out from the ruck which killed any momentun (never much of it btw) charge we had at the time as were down 14-9.

Cause we will Possm. Robson has shown enough of 1st grade that he is better than Cook and should of been picked for Origin.
I get you like and rate him..but judging him against other proven worthy 1st graders based on what..reserve grade. Limited minutes in 1st grade. Say all you like when he kills it for 1st grade at the Cowboys. Then I will acknowledge you and our shortsightedness.
You forget to mention against the Sharks when we were attacking in the 2nd half how Robson dropped a sitter standing 1 out from the ruck which killed any momentun (never much of it btw) charge we had at the time as were down 14-9.
This is the problem, then it will be too late; a complete waste of time and another mistake that could have been avoided.

Our pathways people and head coach should have know better and should have tested Robson to know how good he is at first grade level.

On all the occasion I have seen Robson play at first grade level, he has impressed me to the extent that I believe he along with Lomax should have been our priority signing.

getsmarty

Vaughan on State of Origin mission for NSW Blues without injured Klemmer
Dragons Den
r0_0_3311_2154_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Crunch time Paul Vaughan is tackled in the Blues loss to Queensland at Suncorp Stadium. Picture: AAP Image/Dan Peled

Dragons prop Paul Vaughan is ready to carry the torch for NSW in the must-win second State of Origin game in Perth, in the absence of injured enforcer David Klemmer.

Blues coach Brad Fittler was left with some selection headaches after the series opener, compounded by Klemmer, who played 51 unbroken minutes in Brisbane, suffering a hand injury set to leave him sidelined for three or four weeks.

Vaughan was also a standout in the 18-14 loss after NSW led 8-nil at half-time, but he knows there's a void to fill in Klemmer's absence.

"I was devastated for him," Vaughan said.

"Klem is one of the best front-rowers getting around in the comp.

"I look up to him a bit, I like to look at the way he trains, he's got a huge motor, so I try and match what he does.

"Someone's going to have to step up to that workload he has, there's big shoes to fill ... I want to increase my workload as well."

Vaughan admits playing bigger minutes would require multiple stints and adding to the pressure on him is the inexperience of the NSW pack, where Payne Haas and Cameron Murray made their Origin debuts in game one.

The 28-year-old endorsed the selection prospects of Melbourne premiership player Dale Finucane and Penrith's Reagan Campbell-Gillard, who made his Origin debut last year.

Brisbane's Matt Lodge and Thirroul junior and two-time NRL premiership player Matt Prior are also in the mix.

The squads for game two, to be played at the new stadium in Perth on June 23 will be named after the Dragons clash with Manly at Brookvale on Sunday.

Vaughan admitted it has been difficult approaching Origin this year on the back of five straight losses, in contrast to the 2018 campaign when the Dragons won nine of their first 11 games.

St George Illawarra produced a pressure-relieving 36-12 win over cellar-dwellers the Bulldogs on Monday.

They now face a crucial showdown with Manly, who are seventh overall with a 7-6 record, ahead of the Dragons at 5-7 in 10th.

Vaughan will square off against NSW teammate Jake Trbojevic, as well as his brother and Manly fullback Tom, who could earn a Blues recall on the wing.

He's adamant he will be fearless approaching the Sea Eagles clash.

"The attitude I have is I wouldn't be playing rep footy without the Dragons," Vaughan said. "When I come back here I want to put my best performance in, that's the best way to repay the boys. I'll be doing everything I can Sunday arvo to play my best footy and worry about the (Origin) task after that."

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...lues-mission-without-injured-klemmer/?cs=3713

getsmarty

vaughanp_2nh_5485.jpg

DRAGONS

High Dragons workload has Vaughan ready to lift for Blues
Author
Brad Walter NRL.com Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 12 Jun 2019, 05:31 PM
walterbrad-head.png

Paul Vaughan believes the extra minutes he has been forced to play for St George Illawarra this season will enable him to help fill the void in the NSW team for Origin II after the loss of his Blues front-row partner David Klemmer with a fractured wrist.

Vaughan admits that it will be difficult to replace Klemmer but the Dragons prop agreed that Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Dale Finucane were two players worthy of a call-up into a NSW team he said should remain largely unchanged from the series opener.

"I think we have got a great team there, the talent is stacked from 1-17 so I don't think we need to really look externally too much, we just have to get a few things right internally," Vaughan said.

"I know there are a couple of changes that have to made through injury but we have just got to keep the same core players and I think we will be right."

Klemmer played the first 52 minutes of last week's 18-14 loss to Queensland at Suncorp Stadium because Blues coach Brad Fittler felt the Newcastle prop was performing so well he didn't want to replace him.

Match Highlights: Maroons v Blues

In contrast, Vaughan played 41 minutes in two stints but the 28-year-old regularly plays longer for the Dragons and has been averaging 54 minutes per match this season because of injuries to middle forwards and the unavailability of Jack de Belin.

"I don't know if I can play 50 minutes straight like Klem, because he has got a massive motor and I play differently to Klem, but at the same time I can do those minutes in different stints," Vaughan said.

"I want to step up and increase my workload as well. I want to try and match what he does but it is going to be pretty tough. At the same time, I am looking forward to it and I can't wait.

"Personally I thought my performance was pretty strong in Origin I and now I know I can compete at the level, I want to have a bigger impact, I want to play more minutes, I want to do more work."

Like his NSW teammates, Vaughan had no idea that Klemmer had fractured his wrist early in the first half as carried the ball more than 100 metres in the opening 20 minutes.

North Queensland prop Jordan McLean was the player most likely to replace Klemmer but he injured his hamstring in last weekend's loss to Manly, while Campbell-Gillard produced his best game of the season for Penrith and Finucane plays well every week at Melbourne.

"I think one of the best things NSW has is the number of forwards to choose from so whoever is going to get picked is going to do the job," Vaughan said.

"Campbell-Gillard has been there before and he is playing some good footy at the moment. He is getting back to form and when he is at his best he is one of the best front-rowers in the game.

"Dale Finucane has been a very successful player for a long time because he has been at a great club. He has played in four or five grand finals so you can't look past him. He is efficient, his work rate is great, he is just one of those blokes who is pretty much made for Origin."

Match Highlights: Bulldogs v Dragons

While he said the entire NSW team was keen for redemption in the historic June 23 Origin at Perth's Optus Stadium, Vaughan's first priority is helping St George Illawarra to a win over the Sea Eagles on Sunday.

After humbling Canterbury 36-12 last Monday to end a five-match losing streak, the Dragons are just two points behind seventh-placed Manly on 12 points and share eighth spot with four other teams.

"We want to start winning back-to-back games but Manly have got a great forward pack and they are a pretty powerful bunch so it is going to be another tough game," Vaughan said.

"The attitude I have is that I wouldn't be playing rep footy without the Dragons and I wouldn't be doing it without the boys as well so when I come back here I want to put my best foot forward.

"That is the best way to repay the boys and I think that is the attitude you have do have so I will be doing everything I can on Sunday, trying to play my best footy and then worry about Origin after that."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/06/12/high-dragons-workload-has-vaughan-ready-to-lift-for-blues/