Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Vote now: SHIRE AWARDS

Keen to know everyone's opinions on our Shire
Vote under the following categories
If anyone tosses up any other good categories I might add 'em

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint
Best fish or chicken and chips
Best Asian food
Best coffee
Best pizza

VENUES
Best pub/club
Worst pub/club

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined)
Best beach
Best park
Biggest superstar
Lowest merkin
Best suburb
Worst suburb
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?)

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint: Pauls famous hamburgers, BP Gymea for sausage rolls, cronulla pie shop for pies
Best fish or chicken and chips: Caringbah charcoal chicken for chicken and the best chips in the world
Best Asian food: Diamond chinese sutherland (next to the skate shop) or Jade Lotus sylvania
Best coffee: Picasso's middle of Miranda fair
Best pizza: Gilles Cronulla

VENUES
Best pub/club: Northies
Worst pub/club: Vinyl room/the Royal at Sutherland

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning: hungover brunch at South Cronulla beach, then relax and read the weekend's papers listening to mellow music like ben harper or ministry of sound chillout mixes
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined): Northies Sunday night
Best beach: North Cronulla
Best park: Prince Edward Park Woronora
Biggest superstar: ET
Lowest merkin: Phil Gould and Carmens bouncers
Best suburb: Cronulla
Worst suburb: Kurnell
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?): Lower North Shore

cheese

ShireShark said:

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint

Pauls is the shiz for burgers. I'd go as far as saying it is unbeatable .....but for pies, i cant go past como marina. I once found an aorta in a pie from cronulla pie shop, havent had one since.

Peter Michaels fish market: Being able to pick your own fillet is tidy......cant go past whiting and chips.

That manky chicken shop in the mall near nulla nulla used to go ok for a 1/4 chicken with chips and gravy, but i dunno if i'd be game to neck that stuff these days

Best Asian food

"the best noodle inn" in cronulla mall.......f**k me, their satay rice is the 7th wonder of the world.

That thai joint close to carngbah bizzo's wips up a mean pad thai too...

And also Paddys in bonnet bay is an awesome ching restraunt

Thai in a box is good too

Best coffee

Caringbah mall ......Either DCM's or Michelles Patisserie whip a good coffee. Gloria jeans aint to bad either, but you have to wade through countless number's of metrosexuals just to get a cup.

Best pizza

Gilles

VENUES
Best pub/club

Northies

Not really in the shire, but the beer garden at the Scarborough Hotel is just perfection.

Worst pub/club

boyles and hunters

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning: bed
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined): northies of a sunday
Best beach: Greenhills, or the Alley
Best park: Oak park
Biggest superstar:
Lowest merkin: The flebs that hang at the wall of a nighttime
Best suburb: Cronulla
Worst suburb: Rosewall drive in menai - f**king houso's
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?) Anywhere closeish to the coast, excluding bondi. The Golden Sheaf in Double Bay "OMFG swhiiiiiing hubba hubba" is pretty tidy. Mona Vale district is golden too

all post offices are f**king shockers
but at miranda i've spotted ET and noddy in the past
cronulla is bad but...
engadine is the worst around the end of school time

The Popper

You're right about Cronulla Post Office, Blacktip. It's so bad that there's probably even a queue when there's nobody in the building. Hey, say `G'day' to me next time you`re in there. No, I don't work there but it's possible I'll be standing in the queue. A packed lunch is in order there.

millersnose

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint - pauls engadine
Best fish or chicken and chips - greek one at jannali
Best Asian food - pappadams sutho
Best coffee - bills at sutho
Best pizza - pizza league yarrawarrah

VENUES
Best pub/club jannali
Worst pub/club hunters

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning - in bed
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined) - the mirror
Best beach - garie
Best park - como dog park
Biggest superstar - bill collins
Lowest merkin - former sharks coach who wont be named
Best suburb - oyster bay
Worst suburb - menai
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?)[/quote] - king street newtown

Tadpole

cheese said:
ShireShark said:

Worst pub/club

boyles and hunters

:shock: :shock: BOYLES RULES!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :p

wittyfan

The Popper said:
You're right about Cronulla Post Office, Blacktip. It's so bad that there's probably even a queue when there's nobody in the building. Hey, say `G'day' to me next time you`re in there. No, I don't work there but it's possible I'll be standing in the queue. A packed lunch is in order there.

It couldn't be as bad as Maroubra PO. There's always a queue to the door and the counter staff would do anything to avoid serving people. :( Not to mention the number of times I've been stuffed around with parcel delivery. :x

SirShire

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint - Cronulla Pie Shop and Miranda Takeaway don't do a bad burger
Best fish or chicken and chips - Miranda Charcoal Chickens for both
Best Asian food - Man Lin Wah Miranda or Jade Lotus
Best coffee - Aromas Cafe Gymea
Best pizza - Pizza Hut!

VENUES
Best pub/club - Northies and funtions at North Cronulla SLSC
Worst pub/club - Vinyl Room and Boyles Hotel

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning - Sleeping
Best place to check out chicks - Any beach or at Westfield Miranda, sitting next to the escalators going up from Arizona's :D
Best beach - Green Hills or North Cronulla
Best park - Toyota Park :p
Biggest superstar - ET
Lowest merkin - Gus or either of my neighbours
Best suburb - Yowie Bay
Worst suburb - Bundeena (Bundenesians!)
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? - I usually opt to go down the coast rather than stay in Sydney. We have holiday houses at Mollymook and St. George's Basin

SirShire

Boyles is seedy as!

A few more additions:
- Pizza League Yarrawarrah to great Pizza
- The Blue Groper in Oyster Bay and Lilli Pilli do excellent fish and chips, but they charge a fair bit.

Nuffs

Boyles and Hunters rock! :lol:

a good takeaway shop is the sutherland chinese fish and chip shop. one of my mates told me about it a year ago and i've been there every week ever since. bewdiful!

FOOD/DRINK

Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint Paul's for burgers, not sure about the pies.
Best fish or chicken and chipsMichaels Cronulla for the fish (although the chips are a bit ordinary), Caringbah Charcoal Chicken
Best Asian foodBukhara's Caringbah for Indian, Royal Orchard Cronulla for Thai.
Best coffeeThe little place under Rydges Cronulla (Grind, I think)
Best pizzaNever found a good on ein the shire so I'm going to try all your suggestions.

VENUES
Best pub/clubNorthies
Worst pub/clubHunters

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morningA cholesterol-packed fry-up then a good walk along Cronulla beach/round the National Park.
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined)Probably Northies
Best beachGarie (does that count as the Shire?). If not, Wanda.
Best parkRoyal National Park
Biggest superstarNoddy
Lowest merkinSo many to choose from - let's start with certain board members. :twisted:
Best suburbSouth Cronulla
Worst suburbLucas Heights
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?)Oki Doki Oval - nah, just kidding. Bronte beach or The Rocks.

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint.
The pie shop at Jenola shops, don't know its name, their Chicken Cheese & Asparagus pie is sublime. Cronulla Pie shop sucks now its "Shakespeares".

Peter Michaels

Best Asian food
Ty Thai or Golden Orchid

Best coffee
Don't drink coffee.

Best pizza
Gilles

VENUES
Best pub/club
Cronulla RSL

Worst pub/club
Biggles or what ever its called now.

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning
Bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoe, mushrooms, big mug of earl grey tea, watch the footy show with lots of highlights and interviews of the Sharks mighty victory the previous night.

Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined)
Northies

Best beach
Garie

Best park
Royal NP

Biggest superstar
ET

Lowest merkin
Phil Gould

Best suburb
Cronulla

Worst suburb
Far Kurnell

When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?)
The Rocks.

Frenzy

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint Paul's famous hamburgers, the little shop on Woronora Heights Road at Engadine for pies, sausage rolls and pasties
Best fish or chicken and chipsMichaels' for fish, C/bah Charcoal chicken for chook and chips
Best Asian foodMumtaz Mahal on the Kingsway at C/Bah
Best coffeeCoffee is coffee
Best pizza Fishermans Catch with creamy cheese sauce from Pizza Haven Kirrawee

VENUES
Best pub/clubNorthies/Tradies
Worst pub/club The Vinyl Room :lol:

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morningAsleep
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined)Whilst I am asleep, Northies, Cronulla, Woolies at Engadine, Westfield f**k they are everywhere
Best beachGarie (got it all fishin, surfin, pervin, swimmin formerly the home of the Cronulla TDA AGM), Shoes
Best parkWhichever one is not presently over run by "visitors"
Biggest superstarAlvin Kallicharan and Andy Roberts!
Lowest merkin Anyone who qualifies as a "visitor", Dragonschik
Best suburbALL
Worst suburbNONE
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?)I go to work at the Parra Gaol :lol:

FOOD/DRINK
Best pie/sausage roll and/or hamburger joint - Bakery on Gannons road
Best fish or chicken and chips - Oporto's
Best Asian food - Man Lin Wah
Best coffee - Go live in Bondi if you wanna sip Latte
Best pizza - Taren Pt Hotel

VENUES
Best pub/club - Taren Pt Hotel
Worst pub/club - Miranda Bizzo's

MORE
Best way to spend a Sunday morning - Never been coherant on a Sunday morning
Best place to check out chicks (or blokes, if you're that way inclined) - Westfield Miranda or Cronulla Mall
Best beach -Wanda
Best park - Wanda, my dogs love the sandhills
Biggest superstar - Elle MacPherson
Lowest merkin - Phil Gould lives here doesn't he?
Best suburb - Yowie Bay
Worst suburb - Janalli
When forced kicking and screaming to go out of the Shire, favourite place in Sydney metropolitan area? (ie. where do you go to see how the other half live?) - Botany or La Perouse

Nuffs

Salmon said:
Is that the one next to Sutho post office Nuffs?

nah it's on the other side of the bridge. although, i sometimes get food from the one next to the PO and it's alright

Where is the best place to meet women 28-40?
When I have single mates in the shire I never know where to take them, so we always end up at northies.
Not that that is bad, just I dont know if there is anywhere else.