Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Wb1234

What's PNG ever done to you old timer bear?
Dragging in other "accepted" bids isn't what will win any arguments, however the money was granted, it's been granted, and the ARLC would be absolutely derelict in its duties to not accept it, you call the png bid parasites, when it's the politicians who pushed the use of those funds.
I'd be more worried if the NRL accepted the Western Bears bid without a licence fee
Me and you are the only ones on here who support the 3 teams coming in

Lots of people just crap over bids that aren’t their own one

Every bid has flaws and strengths

MugaB

Well I'm leaning towards the orcas for 20th, but not sure they have the boots on the ground, like the southern island bid (Endacott) I'd like to think that they are both open to join each other, as one super bid...
The orcas have both a branding and money, just need some local presence,
This is looking like the whole 17th "seq" bid all over again, between Ipswich,/Bombers, firehawks and Redcliffe

Wb1234

Well I'm leaning towards the orcas for 20th, but not sure they have the boots on the ground, like the southern island bid (Endacott) I'd like to think that they are both open to join each other, as one super bid...
Not sure which bid in nz gets it

Not a fan of playing games in Wellington should be South Island only

Don’t believe the orcas have the money they say they have behind them chalmers has done this before

Moffatt doesn’t have money and pvl doesn’t seem to want to meet him so that’s a shame

Matt_CBY

Dragging in other "accepted" bids isn't what will win any arguments, however the money was granted, it's been granted, and the ARLC would be absolutely derelict in its duties to not accept it, you call the png bid parasites, when it's the politicians who pushed the use of those funds, Andrew Hill had previously said they could possibly raise their capital, and the bid wasn't reliant on govt funding, but the political angle was pushed by albo..

I'd be more worried if the NRL accepted the Western Bears bid without a licence fee
Did a genie grant the money or did Governments guarantee the money?

MugaB

Not sure which bid in nz gets it

Not a fan of playing games in Wellington should be South Island only

Don’t believe the orcas have the money they say they have behind them chalmers has done this before

Moffatt doesn’t have money and pvl doesn’t seem to want to meet him so that’s a shame
That leaves Endacott

MugaB

Did a genie grant the money or did Governments guarantee the money?
Our federal government did it, Andrew Hill built this bid 4 years prior, it was going to use their own govts money, aswell as local sponsors, like coke and Santos, but albo had pushed the grand 600m tax payer funded grant, which doesn't bother me as much as it does the other posters here, due to the same exact leg ups the Fumbleballers get from the govt for all sorts of stuff, aswell as RU with the Fijian super rugby side, and moana pacifika also being govt sponsored (nz)

Centy Coast

Dragging in other "accepted" bids isn't what will win any arguments, however the money was granted, it's been granted, and the ARLC would be absolutely derelict in its duties to not accept it, you call the png bid parasites, when it's the politicians who pushed the use of those funds, Andrew Hill had previously said they could possibly raise their capital, and the bid wasn't reliant on govt funding, but the political angle was pushed by albo..

Nope sorry, f#ck em, they anren’t even Australian, all these other bids have worked hard only to see the Centrelink Kumuls get gifted a position, absolute joke.
Talk about the welfare bid of the Century.
I can see their players lining up now to get their payments with all the other welfare deadbeats hardworking Aussies prop up each fortnight.

Centy Coast

True, but I only believe in an Australian competition, the other is what International rugby league is for and it isn’t up to our Government to support or the NRL to foster other Countries development in rugby league.
If the PNG were behind the PNG bid then fine, why should PNG get help when other bids don’t, it is total bias and favouritism.

Centy Coast

Old mate has lost it completely.
So it is okay for you if three key Raiders players jump over to PNG to take up their tax free option ?, I honestly can’t see the clubs or the players union agreeing to this rubbish.
The fact the you bag the Bears out at every opportunity yet ignore this shows how much you actually dislike the Bears.

AlwaysGreen

The irony of a bears fan complaining about bias and favouritism. The bears are being foisted on the WA bid by the NRL!

Without that favouritism and bias they wouldn't have a hope in hell of getting anywhere near a NRL licence.

Centy Coast

They get a bit touchy I’ve noticed, when the other bids are getting attention .
Do you think it fair though ?, I’m being serious ?, all of these other bids have been rejected, backed by private investors, yet PNG backed by the Aust Govt’s tax payers money is fine ?.

AlwaysGreen

So it is okay for you if three key Raiders players jump over to PNG to take up their tax free option ?, I honestly can’t see the clubs or the players union agreeing to this rubbish.
The fact the you bag the Bears out at every opportunity yet ignore this shows how much you actually dislike the Bears.
Yes it is OK. Because it's a free market.

I don't dislike the bears because they're too irrelevant to care about.

Centy Coast

The irony of a bears fan complaining about bias and favouritism. The bears are being foisted on the WA bid by the NRL!

Without that favouritism and bias they wouldn't have a hope in hell of getting anywhere near a NRL licence.
Atleast it is in Australia and the money stays in Australia, what aren’t you getting ?

BuffaloRules

Do you think it fair though ?, I’m being serious ?, all of these other bids have been rejected, backed by private investors, yet PNG backed by the Aust Govt’s tax payers money is fine ?.

Well…not much is “fair” these days …

Lets be honest ….it’s not just the Govt to blame …. PVL and the clubs are happy to take the Govt money, even though there is no way PNG should be considered as one of the three next areas to expand to.

Centy Coast

Favouritism ?, if you knew nothing about rugby league you’d know the Bears should never have been shafted in the first place, Arko and his buddy Bozo used their positions of power in the ARL to save the buzzards and get rid of the Bears.
I won’t even go with Michael Searles’ Gold Coast Titans beating the John Singleton backed $$$ Central Coast Bears for the NRL license in 2005 after the previously failed attempts of the Giants, Seagulls and the Chargers ffs.

Iamback

Mate you are so full of sh#t, the PNG bid is a piss take on all Australians

If they ever want to actually see international footy get to a higher level and have it as more than just lip service.

Then we need countries like PNG being decent.

There is no way unless they are forced there via a draft that an Aussie is going to play for PNG. So the tax exemptions will end up meaningless.

So having a 3rd country developing NRL standard talent has a benefit on the game as a whole