Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

SirPies&Beers

morning people, will perth reds or his covert government marine seals operations insider be at this commission meeting today? anyone have the faintest idea of when suspected information will start coming out about decisions made?

Wb1234

morning people, will perth reds or his covert government marine seals operations insider be at this commission meeting today? anyone have the faintest idea of when suspected information will start coming out about decisions made?
This arvo leaks could start happening

Should be pretty much a rubber stamp by now

SirPies&Beers

This arvo leaks could start happening

Should be pretty much a rubber stamp by now
hopefully thats spot on and we hear something today or tomorrow. how do you think the clubs will go/react? reckon any club might push back or anything like that? i cant really see any push back to be honest, especially if there's cash coming in for them as a result of this expansion round. v'landys will probably tell them "this is how it is, this is what you are expected to make off it and this is how we will move forward"

Wb1234

hopefully thats spot on and we hear something today or tomorrow. how do you think the clubs will go/react? reckon any club might push back or anything like that? i cant really see any push back to be honest, especially if there's cash coming in for them as a result of this expansion round. v'landys will probably tell them "this is how it is, this is what you are expected to make off it and this is how we will move forward"
Pretty sure clubs have been kept up to date all the way through and it’s a formality

Pvl gave the nswrl and qrl record money recently so they are happy with him

Clubs imo will have an agreement to get more money from the arl too over the license fees

They need to get a hurry on or 2027 becomes hard to achieve

Get the coach and football club sorted out then spend the next two years building a roster

I’m pretty sure clubs don’t have a formal say over expansion anyway but Pvl doesn’t like making enemies

SirPies&Beers

Pretty sure clubs have been kept up to date all the way through and it’s a formality

Pvl gave the nswrl and qrl record money recently so they are happy with him

Clubs imo will have an agreement to get more money from the arl too over the license fees

They need to get a hurry on or 2027 becomes hard to achieve

Get the coach and football club sorted out then spend the next two years building a roster

I’m pretty sure clubs don’t have a formal say over expansion anyway but Pvl doesn’t like making enemies
as it stands, if west aussie bears are announced in 2 weeks then they would still be 10 months ahead of where dolphins were at the same time, time frame wise as in dolphins were
october 2021 announcement for a march 2023 kick off vs
possible west aussie bears december 2024 announcement for a march 2027 kick off.

i can appreciate the fact that west aussie's have considerably more work to undertake and hurdles to jump over in the establishment and set up of a club operations in a foreign to rugby league frontier vs. dolphins who had already established infrastructures and are in prime rugby league territory. so west aussie bears would need all of that extra 10 months to establish foundation and infrastructure to support a top flight footy club

Depends if the 'hurdles to overcome' have been overcome in the last week for WA. Could well be we get an in principal agreement from the clubs today with official announcement in coming weeks if things haven't yet been signed off from WA's end.

SirPies&Beers

Depends if the 'hurdles to overcome' have been overcome in the last week for WA. Could well be we get an in principal agreement from the clubs today with official announcement in coming weeks if things haven't yet been signed off from WA's end.
maybe bear knows whats happening he seems to have the crystal ball that predicted how this would unfold fairly accurately.
@Red&BlackBear any update from you cob?

Centy Coast

as it stands, if west aussie bears are announced in 2 weeks then they would still be 10 months ahead of where dolphins were at the same time, time frame wise as in dolphins were
possible west aussie bears december 2024 announcement for a march 2027 kick off.

i can appreciate the fact that west aussie's have considerably more work to undertake and hurdles to jump over in the establishment and set up of a club operations in a foreign to rugby league frontier vs. dolphins who had already established infrastructures and are in prime rugby league territory. so west aussie bears would need all of that extra 10 months to establish foundation and infrastructure to support a top flight footy club
That’s what North Sydney and their NSW Cup, Jersey Flegg, S.G.Ball, Harold Mathew’s, Lisa Faola, Harvey Norman competitions are for.
WA can take as long as they want to get the proper set ups established.
The Melbourne Storm only achieved this recently despite entering the NRL in 1988, WA will be decades in front of them.

Jamberoo

Which is where NS comes into the equation for WA. Id hope we'd be looking at a QRL club as well so we can scout the best jnrs on the East coast and have them stay local whilst coming through our amalgamated systems.
But from a WA perspective, get 7k participants, get elite pathways properly developed and we will be adding to our East coast pool with a decent WA one. Id guess (and dont have the data to back this up) but for most clubs I doubt more than 50% of their starting 20 or so players come from their own systems. everyones buying and letting go players all the time. If I was WA id also have a scouting system in UK looking at the best 15-17 year old kids over there and aim to being a couple a year over into Sg ball to give them a shot. Its a global market.

I agree, which is why Id like to see some sensible proposition from the NRL! '
$2mill from NRL and $2mill from WA govt a year to NRLWA. NRL club to guarantee at least $2mil a year is spent on setting up the elite pathway sides.

That sounds a reasonable ask from all parties wouldn't you agree? Vlad asking for $120mil is as much a pss take as asking $20mil license fee!
Its like NRl is trying to set this up to not happen with their unrealistic requests!
7k juniors in WA is not as valuable or as productive as 7k in NSW or Qld. In WA almost all the best athletes are playing AFL, but in NSW they are playing RL.

Wb1234

Dolphins was rushed

The delay in doing the collective bargaining agreement with the players meant it got pushed back six months

As well as they did on the field they were well under the salary cap not being able to sign players

And Perth will be competing with png who will get an extra year to prepare

Centy Coast

Dolphins was rushed

The delay in doing the collective bargaining agreement with the players meant it got pushed back six months

As well as they did on the field they were well under the salary cap not being able to sign players

And Perth will be competing with png who will get an extra year to prepare
Yeah players will be jumping over each other to take their families to live in the compound in PNG lol.
Actually I think first up they may attract a few players, be it at the end of their careers or young single players looking to make their reputation and some quick $$$, it will be how those first few players find it that will make or break PNG in attracting players.

Wb1234

Yeah players will be jumping over each other to take their families to live in the compound in PNG lol.
Actually I think first up they may attract a few players, be it at the end of their careers or young single players looking to make their reputation and some quick $$$, it will be how those first few players find it that will make or break PNG in attracting players.

Zero tax

It’s a huge incentive

Dragonwest

7k juniors in WA is not as valuable or as productive as 7k in NSW or Qld. In WA almost all the best athletes are playing AFL, but in NSW they are playing RL.

A large majority of our players either have a family's of Poly or Maori decent or the Caucasian players which may have been born in Perth but are from a 2nd or 3rd Generation League family from the East Coast, NZ or England. I don't see any drop in the quality of Athletes in Rugby League within WA due to AFL. The main threat is and always was Union. As soon as the pathway is in place League will have the upper hand and wrestle back players from Union.