Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Majority of the games money comes from tv revenue. Which in turn, props the clubs up. I don’t see what the issue with having 6 good time slots out of a possible 9 and eventually 10 is.

The specific time slots I think are concerning in their overall pull is clearly the 7:30pm WA kick off’s. The second half of that game wouldn’t start until close to 10:30pm in the EC. Meaning viewership numbers where majority of the eye balls are will drop and that drop will be bigger than whatever the increased localised numbers to WA is.

Therefore the overall numbers will be low, so if you’re a major corporate partner or a game day broadcaster sponsor - why would you pay a premium for the 9th game if a portion of that will be televised in terrible time slots where majority of the population is? Makes no commercial sense.

It needs to be at a viable time where 1) growth can happen in the localised market it’s targeting whilst 2) not losing % of viewership in the established market. Thats the challenge. It’s not a hard concept to grasp.

Yes, there might be a couple thousand fans who might not make it to the games but as I’ve alluded Cowboys and Titans fans share similar hurdles and Warriors also have time slots they rarely play in due to the same reasons.

Quite literally what I’m trying to explain. 7:30pm and 8pm WA kick off’s won’t work or should I word it more like won’t reach the commercial pull when you factor everything in.
Go ask Cronulla how that Works. Yes most of the games money comes from Tv. For clubs most of the big clubs money is 50/50 or more from fans and corproates, good luck thriving with low crowds.

and again For the hard to read, 6pm Saturday or 4pm Sunday work best for perth and other clubs if 6pm Sunday is the new weekly slot. 6pm Sunday is going to be another sht crowd game for east coast teams. The more wa plays in it, like nz in the 6pm Friday slot, the better for everyone, except wc eagles fans lol

but for now I’m more worried about if and when we actually get a club than when it plays!

Bukowski

Not really. Yes the dolphins game sold out but battling that traffic and leaving work early to make it for KO will get tired pretty quick. Thursday 6pm, Friday 6pm, Saturday afternoon wont work well for us imo. Sunday 4pm remains the best spot for us. Despite our resident swans fan being concerned it clashes with his afl lol
Friday or Thursday would only be once maybe twice a year though. Not everyone works 9 to 5 soit's not effecting the whole fanbase so they'd still manage a good crowd. But, I agree that most weeks should be 4pm Sunday

What's wrong with Saturday arvo?

Bukowski

Majority of the games money comes from tv revenue. Which in turn, props the clubs up. I don’t see what the issue with having 6 good time slots out of a possible 9 and eventually 10 is.

The specific time slots I think are concerning in their overall pull is clearly the 7:30pm WA kick off’s. The second half of that game wouldn’t start until close to 10:30pm in the EC. Meaning viewership numbers where majority of the eye balls are will drop and that drop will be bigger than whatever the increased localised numbers to WA is.

Therefore the overall numbers will be low, so if you’re a major corporate partner or a game day broadcaster sponsor - why would you pay a premium for the 9th game if a portion of that will be televised in terrible time slots where majority of the population is? Makes no commercial sense.

It needs to be at a viable time where 1) growth can happen in the localised market it’s targeting whilst 2) not losing % of viewership in the established market. Thats the challenge. It’s not a hard concept to grasp.

Yes, there might be a couple thousand fans who might not make it to the games but as I’ve alluded Cowboys and Titans fans share similar hurdles and Warriors also have time slots they rarely play in due to the same reasons.

Quite literally what I’m trying to explain. 7:30pm and 8pm WA kick off’s won’t work or should I word it more like won’t reach the commercial pull when you factor everything in.
I think the bigger issue for that timeslot would be fatigue rather than being on late at night. It would be the last of 4 games , better to have 3 on sat and 3 on sun.

Wb1234

You do know that eagles and dockers play on a Saturday as well don’t you genius?
Then when they play on those days pick the Sunday slot

This isn’t rocket surgery

Or even better pick a slot which is before the fumblers and finishes when they start or after they finish (730 pm sat night Perth time)

Get all those fumblers watching both on tv

Bukowski

do they play all day? you saying they can’t start at either match 3:30 or 5:30 local to avoid clash?

perthwrongs, ding dong
The AFL are going to come after the new club, scheduling games so that they clash. Worrying about what they do or trying to steal their fans is wasted energy. They build the club right and they'll have no worries about the fanbase size.

AlwaysGreen

Perth weather is a factor in night games. It's milder, less chance of rain and less dew factor. Perfect weather for WA fans to watch their team in a time that suits them.

Our selfish East coast bears fans are going to have to come up with something else.

The AFL are going to come after the new club, scheduling games so that they clash. Worrying about what they do or trying to steal their fans is wasted energy. They build the club right and they'll have no worries about the fanbase size.
This >

My ex pat mate lives near the margaret river and it's AFL all over but says the NRL is much talked about and respected and thinks the NRL would do well (again) if they had a team.
I`ve seen this observation of DC`s many times before, non-NRL fans even if they don`t follow the game closely, respect the toughness of it. Give them their own team, build the club right as you say and they`ll be ok. Like Vic but without the f-ball baggage, a lot of people`s second team.

SirPies&Beers

Perth weather is a factor in night games. It's milder, less chance of rain and less dew factor. Perfect weather for WA fans to watch their team in a time that suits them.

Our selfish East coast bears fans are going to have to come up with something else.
this is a funny reply when considering you act like some sort of smarter than everyone poster on this forum who constantly replies here and tv negotiations threads acting like you are know it all.

yet beens explained here by poster and acknowledge by some locals here that a night time west aussie game (730/805 starts locals time) is like 10/1030 east coast by time second halves start. how is that a good thing? how in your alwaysloser brain do you think bears are advocating this as for them only like they is selfish? Is you entrenched in your moms granny flat that much that youre so detached from the real world in you fail to see a massive target audience for nrl is kids and families? so how is having a game start and second half so late good for businesses where the overwhelming majorities of consumers is?

clearly youre just a alwaystroll, a alwaysloser troll at that because if you was half as smarts as you think you are youd realise bears guys has a point and you’re so obsessed in trying to be better than posters you obsess over everyday that you don’t even think about what you’re replying with anymore. You just do it because you’re alwaysloser! Lol. portion of where majority of fans are won’t watch games so late and the decline in that will be much bigger number than increases in local west aussie uplifts.

alwaysloser, will keep doing always loser things!

SirPies&Beers

Go ask Cronulla how that Works. Yes most of the games money comes from Tv. For clubs most of the big clubs money is 50/50 or more from fans and corproates, good luck thriving with low crowds.

and again For the hard to read, 6pm Saturday or 4pm Sunday work best for perth and other clubs if 6pm Sunday is the new weekly slot. 6pm Sunday is going to be another sht crowd game for east coast teams. The more wa plays in it, like nz in the 6pm Friday slot, the better for everyone, except wc eagles fans lol

but for now I’m more worried about if and when we actually get a club than when it plays!
aren’t sharkies shortfalls because they doing silly builds and affecting cash flows? they still has land to sell should they ever get real bad

perthwrongs, ding dong

Bukowski

West Coast are huge and Freo are very popular. The AFL isnt going to go against its tv schedule when it doesnt matter to their crowds when games are held
They did last year when the out a game on Friday night against the Dolphins roosters game. They will again.

They also had a 'round zero' last year in response to our Vegas venture and they've had 'legends' games on the same night as state of origin.

aren’t sharkies shortfalls because they doing silly builds and affecting cash flows? they still has land to sell should they ever get real bad

perthwrongs, ding dong
I've seen on LU a lot of fallacies about the Sharks "shortfalls", as in, there isn't one.
I usually bypass the posts I see but today I feel like posting.
Besides the Sharks acquisitions, they also have 19M in the bank. I saw one ignoramus in the NRL forum say that they dont have that because they have to pay for the new leagues club fit out. What a load of horse shit.
The Sharks are not using their own money initially to pay for it, the bank is. They have a 12M loan approved to do the works. The club itself will pay the bank off once its up and running.
When Penrith were on their knees Gould went to to James Packer to help set them up, and it worked out sensationally for them.
Packer was their bank.

For a little bit more insight. I come from construction and I was the Foreman/Supervisor forall the pre works around Shark Park before the last Grandstand went in. I also was involved with some of the nearby constructions that went on after and the Sharks were part of it.
I changed careers and am now I'm in Clubland in that particular area. This means I can see every clubs profits, losses etc.
There is more than one club within 20 mins of Sharks that earn very decent profits, im talking 30M every 6 months. There are also clubs that are dying.
This is all to do with Pokies and Gambling.

The ones succeeding? All of them are newish and cater for the 20-30 something disposable income crowd.
The ones dying? They can't afford to update their premises for the younguns to spend, they are still raping the pensioners.
The Sharks are going to have a brand newly done up club looking over water, with plenty of machines.
They'll pay off that loan easily, and invest their 19M and further money in other ventures.

I'm not having a go here, just showing some clarity.

Just to Edit on this: our Chairman, Steve Mace, is a self made multi millionaire through many diversities, our CEO, Dino, used to run Star City. They know their shyte, and in regards to Dino, he's part of the Mediterranean Mafia of the NRL. PVL, Uncle Nick, George Peponis, and Dino. They aren't going to let one their own fall.
Obviously I'm having a little fun with this last part, but there is some proven truth to it.