Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

BuffaloRules

It was wonderful seeing Townsville get a great ground, Parramatta, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Roosters, Penrith are next, we need to push for Canberra.
We are slowly eliminating this second rate facilities giving our game the prestige it deserves.
We don't want to be taking a step backwards.
Imagine seeing a sold out Te kah stadium in Christchurch.. that will be beautiful. That's what our game needs.

Mate .., I went once to the old Cowboys stadium they played out of for 20 years … terrible and about 30 minutes drive out of town … that’s actually hard to do in respect of a 150k town … have a stadium that far away

Part of the deal i would look to renegotiate on is the grass roots. Whilst $7mill over 5 years is a good amount Id be going back if I was Vland and asking for $5mill over ten years. Allows for longer term planning. Offer a free origin in 2028 for the increase.

BuffaloRules

Yes, my point is that the conditions now are a lot better for expansion into new markets than they were 25-30 years ago. Storm entered in a tumultuous time for the game. It will be a lot more stable for Perth. Further shows how dumb the NRL is for not coming to an agreement with WA govt.

well … they couldn’t get a deal done looks like so they won’t be playing out of any stadium now

Canard

Perth wants to attract migration from the east coast. 60% of the population are in QLD and NSW - rugby league heartland.
You'd think that having a brand new stadium and team would entice a lot of people who couldn't commit otherwise. There's not many big League fans a dumb as Perth Red to move 4000km from the closest club.

This is a massive missed opportunity for Perth to become relevant to the majority of Australia's population
You created a faulty premise and then launched a whole fake solution to it.

Even if this was true, there net interstate migration has been overwhelming positive for years now.

And people don't move because of sport, they move because of better financial opportunity.

Yep, there's options for Vlandys. A smart man wouldn't let this be a hurdle.
Sadly he has shown he'd rather cut his nose off than negotiate. I've little doubt, given how antagonistic this whole journey has been, that he no longer supports it. He didnt want a Perth team in the first place, this is just the excuse for him to can the whole thing.

Lets just look at how this has played out, again.

WA consortium want to go it alone. told they have to partner with bears or no deal. WA agrees

Despite all the rumours that the bid is excellent and WB are a shoe in we get to October and Vlad tells the bid the business case doesnt stack up and told no

WB bid goes back in November with a revised offer inc the 'business case' areas they supposedly fell short on. Told no deal

WA Govt take over and spend an antagonistic 4 months trying to quietly get things done whilst sydney media keeps putting their oar in and putting them in a politically difficult position. Funding offered for the areas they have said all along they will fund, grassroots, training centre and some gameday support. Rumour NRL not happy with the offer and will say no.

This whole journey has been NRL moving goalposts and finding reasons to say no for a long time now.

Canard

You continue to ignore the appalling rising costs of the Tasmanian stadium .
State Govt estimate(or should I say guesstimate) of $775m, but people "in the know" have stated it is now $1bn.The AFL will not be adding a cent more I would expect on the stadium.
For a state yes AFL obsessed , but not exactly financially loaded for 1 winter code and cricket with a population of 550,000 . A lot of money for a small population. So basically next to no competition from the other winter codes.
1000%

Which is why any State Govt would be f**king stooopid to be railroaded into building major stadia right now.

$350M turns in $600M in the blink of an eye. And a losing election issue.

1000%

Which is why any State Govt would be f**king stooopid to be railroaded into building major stadia right now.

$350M turns in $600M in the blink of an eye. And a losing election issue.
Yep, Tassie sht show over the stadium. Brisbane sht show over the stadium, Penrith scaled back from a new stadium to a half redeveloped one. In a cost of living crisis era to be seen spending large on stadia is not politically smart. Especially in a city where RL is a secondary sport. Park it, come back to it. It will happen eventually.

BuffaloRules

Sadly he has shown he'd rather cut his nose off than negotiate. I've little doubt, given how antagonistic this whole journey has been, that he no longer supports it. He didnt want a Perth team in the first place, this is just the excuse for him to can the whole thing.

WA consortium want to go it alone. told they have to partner with bears or no deal. WA agrees

Despite all the rumours that the bid is excellent and WB are a shoe in we get to October and Vlad tells the bid the business case doesnt stack up and told no

WB bid goes back in November with a revised offer inc the 'business case' areas they supposedly fell short on. Told no deal

WA Govt take over and spend an antagonistic 4 months trying to quietly get things done whilst sydney media keeps putting their oar in and putting them in a politically difficult position. Funding offered for the areas they have said all along they will fund, grassroots, training centre and some gameday support. Rumour NRL not happy with the offer and will say no.

This whole journey has been NRL moving goalposts and finding reasons to say no for a long time now.

That Sydney media … I hate them! Got a lot to answer for

Iamback

Yes but do you think the league will make any of that money back from PNG ?.
Sure PNG have a massive rugby league following in their Country, it’s virtually a religion to them, it will also have the biggest bootleg merchandise available for locals because the majority of the poor buggers certainly won’t be able to afford full 100% NRL merchandise, NRL club memberships, NRL game day match entry fees on a fortnightly basis, let alone provide PVL and the NRL with extra gambling revenue.
The PNG journey will certainly be interesting.
When I was President of the Ourimbah-Wyoming Magpies RLFC, where James Maloney has come back to play with this season, we would send over old footy jerseys, shorts, singlets, polo shirts, boots to both PNG and Fiji each off season after our new club merchandise would arrive.

I have said elsewhere in this forum. I don't see the NRL as a whole making money from the NRL side. The 9th game is worth something, I just see others

Where it will benefit is giving the locals proper player development, It will give International RL a 4th tier 1 nation.

That benefit will flow on, Lack of money in Test footy is one area the game is behind.

NZ v PNG 3 test series to allow the NRL to pause for Origin because that is now more valuable is one indirect benefit I see.

For the clubs, They get money for having to share the pie.
They are able to sell exposure in a 3rd country to sponsors - This would be what the NRL hopes as well
They have someone new producing talent so it doesn't drain their resources.

BuffaloRules

Yeh headlines like this in the SMH really helped!

The WA premier and $500m came to Sydney. The Perth Bears dream is alive and well​

From November right ? And the Perth media and opposition didn’t pick up on it at the time.., or if they did they waited for the election to make a big deal of it and cause maximum damage ..pretty smart I guess

Iamback

I think each case should be considered on its own merits actually …

All the new teams will struggle

And if they get admitted then fall behind because of a lack of CoE for example. Then you extend the period of time they are bad.

Ensuring everything is ready for day 1, gives them best chance to compete

Bukowski

Yes, he showed his hand when he said he wasn't interested in a rusted on AFL state. Maybe the other boardmembers, the clubs or the broadcasters told him that they wanted Perth. I think he had done everything he could do to show interest but actually not personally wanting Perh. He's looking for an excuse not to accept the bid, he has all along.

taipan

Geez they let Shark Park and its surrounding projects get developed during the NRL season and despite a great atmosphere they draw the smallest sold out crowd in the NRL.
Correct.However the capacity has been reduced as the leagues club development on one side is stalled ATM.
Plus the NRL own the Quest hotel attached to the ground.
Most Sharks supporters are frustrated with the size, but State Govt decided to give all the money to Penrith for their stadium and not to Sharks/ Tigers/Manly.