Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Warriors heading for a sell out

Hatzy

The New Zealand Warriors' National Rugby League season opener against Parramatta on Saturday night is on course to being a rare sellout at Auckland's Mt Smart Stadium. At the start of Friday, more than 16,500 tickets had gone, leaving just 6500 still available. The removal of some seats after the end of last season means capacity at the ground has been
reduced to about 23,200. Chief executive Wayne Scurrah said fans wanting tickets should get in early rather than be disappointed as missing out. "If the weather is good, it looks like we'll be on target to sell out, which would be a fantastic way to start the year," he said.
"We'd love to see that happen, especially with Steve Price playing his 300th first-grade match." Skipper Price will become the 11th player in the competition's 101 years to reach the 300 mark when he leads the Warriors out against the Eels. The only time Mt Smart Stadium has sold out for the first home game of the season was on March 10, 1995, when the-then Auckland Warriors made their debut in the NRL. That night, 29,220 turned up to see Brisbane pip the Warriors 25-22.
http://tvnz.co.nz/rugby-league-news/warriors-heading-sell-2540963

Sorry, but after the week the NRL season launch has had, this is great news for the game in New Zealand regardless of who you support.

IanG

Exactly right and I hope they get their sell out and have to shut the gates.

Not only Steve Price's 300th game but also how much has the sad tragity of Sonny Fai played in it?

jono

http://tvnz.co.nz/rugby-league-news/warriors-heading-sell-2540963

Sorry, but after the week the NRL season launch has had, this is great news for the game in New Zealand regardless of who you support.

Hey , you don't hafta apologise , as an Eels fan I hope it IS a sell-out. Because nothing could be better for the game than the great atmosphere such a crwod will generate. And hopefully inspire BOTH teams to produce a cracker of a match, which I'm sure it will be. All the best , Sonny Fai R.I.P. but EELS to win!!!!

ozjet1

300 games is a massive feat.....and Steve Price has been a monument to the game of rugby league. Congratulations to him.......a leader, and a real man. There havent been many reports on this milestone. It's a shame that the society we live prefers to focus on negatives and the sensationalism that it brings.

the Warriors, and the south-side Auckland community in general, will band together and honour Sonny Vai....there's no doubt it's the major reason for the anticipated large crowd. in general however, i dont think it looks great for the warriors this season on the crowd front if super 14 crowds are any indication.

BrisVegas

Great to hear. A strong NZ Warriors is good for the game over the tasman. I hope the Warriors get away to a good start this season, after drawing big crowds for their home trials it could be a breakthrough year for them crowd wise.

In other ticket sales news, as of yesterday evening there are less than 5,000 tickets remaining for the Broncos V Cowboys game. Officials are hopeful the 50,612 attendance record for an NRL game at Suncorp can be broken.

ozjet1

Great to hear. A strong NZ Warriors is good for the game over the tasman. I hope the Warriors get away to a good start this season, after drawing big crowds for their home trials it could be a breakthrough year for them crowd wise.

In other ticket sales news, as of yesterday evening there are less than 5,000 tickets remaining for the Broncos V Cowboys game. Officials are hopeful the 50,612 attendance record for an NRL game at Suncorp can be broken.

definately the game of the night......but we have to sit through news' lovechild vs perennial pretenders 1st. i'll be approaching it as a starter before the main course type of scenario.

sharko

This is good news but they have to maintain it for the rest of the season. The Warriors fans have a built a reputation on being "fair weather" supporters..the moment the going gets tough the Warrioes fans stay away or go back to watching Rugby..it is a poor attitude to have.
They have a very strong and experienced team this year and should make the 8, time for their fans to step up on a consistent basis.

byrne_rovelli_fan82

LOL it's one bloody game, as soon as they hit a string of losses, which is their common theme you can bet many of that crowd will run away. the big ones only come in when they win, they aren't really that keen it's only in with regards to a big milestone and all that. So don't get too excitied.

gunnamatta bay

This is good news but they have to maintain it for the rest of the season. The Warriors fans have a built a reputation on being "fair weather" supporters..the moment the going gets tough the Warrioes fans stay away or go back to watching Rugby..it is a poor attitude to have.
They have a very strong and experienced team this year and should make the 8, time for their fans to step up on a consistent basis.
You could throw the majority in that basket.

Hatzy

300 games is a massive feat.....and Steve Price has been a monument to the game of rugby league. Congratulations to him.......a leader, and a real man. There havent been many reports on this milestone. It's a shame that the society we live prefers to focus on negatives and the sensationalism that it brings.

the Warriors, and the south-side Auckland community in general, will band together and honour Sonny Vai....there's no doubt it's the major reason for the anticipated large crowd. in general however, i dont think it looks great for the warriors this season on the crowd front if super 14 crowds are any indication.

There has been a ton of coverage (both TV and print) on Pricey's 300 mate.

In terms of crowds there are a few factors for the large start to the season:

1) General enthusiasm for the quality of the team we are fielding this year (including 3 trials wins - a first)
2) The Sonny Fai tragedy was covered a lot in New Zealand
3) Steve Price's 300
4) Kiwis World Cup win
5) Rugby is becoming a very boring product even for the diehard Rugby fans
6) Strong finish to 2008 season
7) Mt. Smart now typically produces good results for the Warriors

I disagree with your point that we won't have good crowds this year. If the boys play well like they are expected to, I wouldn't be surprised if we go close to selling out every home game. Thats not the hype kicking in - we have good crowds when we play consistently good footy.

I know Super 14 is suffering, but they aren't one and the same. If the Warriors go far it will be interesting to see how many new fans our sport gains.

Hatzy

LOL it's one bloody game, as soon as they hit a string of losses, which is their common theme you can bet many of that crowd will run away. the big ones only come in when they win, they aren't really that keen it's only in with regards to a big milestone and all that. So don't get too excitied.

I'm embarassed to have you as a Warriors supporter. Go away with your negative, green, italicised writing.

DINGb@T

Awesome news. Round 1 is looking like a cracker across the board.

Didn't the Warriors get a huge crowd for their last pre-season game. I remember reading it and being surprised. It was larger than most season-proper crowds.

Lambretta

Oh come on. Name an NRL club that has been attracting huge crowds whilst playing piss poor football?

There isn't one. Everyone talks about Souths as being one of the best supported clubs in Australia - but their attendance figures don't back that up when they're going badly.

But when they start winning they pack places out.

Everyone else is the same.

Shorty

For round one things are looking mighty good.
Yes it would be ideal to have it maintain the rest of the season but come on would it kill some people to be positive?
League has had a pretty average start to the season - Good crowds would be great.

blain

what the hell is your problem skinny, this is something we should celebrate and your pissing all over it.

r u even a warriors supporter anymore? im pretty sure your not eh.