Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Welcome to the comp, Redcliffe.

Last Week

Its so RL to base expansion decisions on removing the most popular club off fta to appease a tv corp who want to drive people to subscribe to its channel in that city lol

I suppose we should be thankful for small mercies but Vlandys mates got just what they wanted and now FTA carries all the risk. If the new club is more Titans than Storm then FTA loses out big time in this deal.
After listening to the dribble from Gus last night, pay TV is the better option.

And it's the logical selling point of the second Brisbane team. How else would you sell it to broadcasters?

Diesel

The motive was to drive more subscriptions to Fox by getting Broncos games on Fox...Pete and the partnership....real growth would bring two new clubs.
That’s how I read it but this will be a good thing.
1, Kayo/Fox get more Broncos fans to subscribe
2, more twilight/arvo/Saturday games for Broncos fans and young families.
It’s a business decision first & foremost but the sports going public also win with friendlier time slots

roofromoz

They gonna be awesome and remain Redcliffe still or do something stupid and call themselves Brisbane?

Right decision. Now to figure out where Team 18 comes from.

Brisbane Dolphins
River City Dolphins
Sunshine State Dolphins

Surely they would be still based at Redcliffe, play some matches there, but play mostly at Suncorp?

After listening to the dribble from Gus last night, pay TV is the better option.

And it's the logical selling point of the second Brisbane team. How else would you sell it to broadcasters?
Oh I dont know, maybe that a second team will be hugely successful and therefore drive more new people to follow nrl And increase tv audiences?

ReddFelon

Brisbane Dolphins
River City Dolphins
Sunshine State Dolphins

Surely they would be still based at Redcliffe, play some matches there, but play mostly at Suncorp?

With those options, Brisbane Dolphins is the best choice. River City is so dumb, Perth, Melbourne and Brisbane are all considered the River City. Would prefer North Brisbane Dolphins or something that differentiates them from the Broncos but gives them a wide reach from Sunny Coast down to Redcliffe.

Hartwood

With those options, Brisbane Dolphins is the best choice. River City is so dumb, Perth, Melbourne and Brisbane are all considered the River City. Would prefer North Brisbane Dolphins or something that differentiates them from the Broncos but gives them a wide reach from Sunny Coast down to Redcliffe.
Except that Brisbane is the only city nicknamed "River city"

ReddFelon

Except that Brisbane is the only city nicknamed "River city"

Aside from the fact that more people call it Brissie or Brisvegas, I lived in Perth for 27 years before moving to the Gold Coast and plenty of people call it the River City or Swan River City.

A ton of people call Melbourne the Yarra River City too. If you polled the majority of Australians it'd be a safe bet that they'd know Brissie way more than River City.

Quidgybo

Its so RL to base expansion decisions on removing the most popular club off fta to appease a tv corp who want to drive people to subscribe to its channel in that city lol

I suppose we should be thankful for small mercies but Vlandys mates got just what they wanted and now FTA carries all the risk. If the new club is more Titans than Storm then FTA loses out big time in this deal.
There’s other perspectives that can be spun. What do you think PVL and Abdo flew all the way to LA to personally meet with Lachlan to say? Realistically.

Hey Lachlan, we know you control/own the Broncos and have cherished your monopoly on top grade club Rugby League in the Brisbane market. And we know that to please our fans in QLD and our FTA partners at Nein we have to give the Broncos a lot of prime TV slots, more than any other club. And we know you control/own one of our two major TV partners and fund the game to the order of $Bs. And we know that until now that’s made you plenty of money in return.

But it isn’t working right now and that’s hurting the game and costing you money Lachlan, mate. It’s not working because your monopoly in Brisbane and high publicity strategy built around the Broncos only works if the Broncos are always winning. NO team always wins. And when the Broncos aren’t going well we end up with a LOT of shit games in prime slots, a ton of your Brisbane customers stop paying up at once and we’re all left soaked in red ink.

So here’s what we want to do.…

Etc, etc

Burns

So what was the go with the stadium for Redcliffe? Are they going to play out of Moreton Daily Stadium, and some games at Suncorp?

Is Moreton Daily even up to full-time NRL standard? Its capacity is only 11,500?

T to the T

Contrary to reports, there are no conditions attached to News Corp Australia’s updated broadcast deal and it is incorrect to suggest the NRL has agreed to reduce Brisbane Broncos free-to-air games by 25 per cent.

Can you give the V'landys bashing a rest for once FFS

Pippen94

Sunshine State is best & probably get up