Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

West Coast Pirates Bid News

sheepbender

No way is the Brisbane2 bid going to be ready for that, bye bye Brissie 2. Hope you work on your bid and you guys can be a potential powerhouse by 2017.

How can you know that, none of the bids seem to be very forthcoming with news except for the Bears, but they've been campaigning for a decade.. They're all keeping their cards close to their chest..

Likelihood Reds logo will be reworked for 2013 launch
Team colours will be reviewed for 2013 launch (bring on the gold!)

Where do you get this information from?

http://www.nrl.com/finance-not-an-issue-in-wa-league-bid/tabid/10874/newsid/61795/default.aspx
Western Australia's bid team claim they'd be among the highest sponsorship-earning NRL clubs within two years if admitted to the competition.
They are acting on advice to have their bid ready to go in the next few weeks and indications are finance should not be an issue given interest shown in the AFL-dominated state.
"I've been told: 'Don't be surprised if you get a phone call from possibly even (NRL chief) David Gallop this month giving you six weeks to have something on the table'," said West Australian Rugby League Bid project manager Ralph McManis.
"That's so the independent commission can take them into review at their very first meeting in the first week of May."
WARL chief executive John Sackson said about $4 million worth of company sponsorship commitments were already on the table and one of them was prepared to commit $1.5 million to be the team's major sponsor.
Following the lead of Star City casino's recent major sponsorship of South Sydney and the partnership between Crown Casino and the Melbourne Storm, Perth's Burswood Casino was among those eager to be involved with a WA team.
Despite having only been able to sell "hopes and dreams" at this stage, McManis said the interest shown by the business community made them believe the club would be very profitable.
"We've had a bit of a roadshow around some of the corporates of Perth, particularly the top end of town," he said.
"If we're awarded a licence, we anticipate we could go close to being the highest sponsor-earning NRL club in our first two years."

lturner

Interesting article in todays paper about a possible third AFL team in Perth. Seems the thought of the NRL moving into town may be rattling some cages?
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/afl-to-grow-to-20-teams-as-oz-population-grows/story-e6frg1xu-1226020440515

Perth really seems like a good idea for the NRL.

But in a side point, how is it that some people can possibly claim that Brisbane (pop 2m) couldn't support another NRL club while the AFL is thinking of putting a 3rd AFL club in Perth (1.7m).

Just goes to show that people when say anything if it's in their self-interest, ie Broncos owners and to a lesser extent supporters.

sheepbender

I see David Gallop seemingly could remember every bid team except for Perth tonight on the footy show, hopefully that's not an indication of anything..

Just watched it, how did you miss him talking about Perth? We were the only team he actually stated the value of! He clearly wants the Reds and one of either CC or Brisbane2. 2min 50sec mark.
http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/nrl/footyshow/

What do you think to red gold and black for our colours Sheepbender?

5501236496_7e47616276.jpg

Goddo

Meh, there are lots of Gallop sound bites and interviews recently where he fails to mention 1 or 2 bids, and talks up some and not others.

You should take it all with a big grain of salt. There are 4 bids which have a realistic chance of winning a licence: Perth, Ipswich, Brisbane and Central Coast.

After hearing that Gallop interview, I reckon Perth are a shoe-in.

One heartland and one new market.

taipan

Agree just about spelt it out by his response.The only thing I would suggest ,it could be 2013 or 2014.

Phil_22

I was watching Barefoot RL last night on NITV, they had Anthony Elias (Directore Bulldogs) and asked him who he though would be guaranteed to come in. He said Perth due to the TV rights deal that it means for the NRL.

It looks like they will be in.

My thoughts are this, Get the best TV rights deal possible, then use that $ money to expand by more than 1 team.

Lets get Perth, CC Bears, C QLD, and another Brisbane team in by 2015.

Do it gradually Perth 2013. CC Bears and C QLD 2014 and Ipswich or in 2015.

Lets not undersell our Game but promote it as the best game going!

andrew057

Why would you want to wait for 2014 to introduce the Bears? Their bid is more advanced than the others. Reds and CC Bears for 2013.

A 2nd Brisbane and New Zealand team to come in the following years.

With new TV money, offer all Sydney clubs the opportunity to permanently relocate to Adelaide.

BDGS

How can you know that, none of the bids seem to be very forthcoming with news except for the Bears, but they've been campaigning for a decade.. They're all keeping their cards close to their chest..

Because i know it takes longer then 8 months to get a bid ready for the NRL.

and on another note, i have found every bid to be open about their bid with the exception of Brisbane2. All other bids are happy to tell you anything you want, all you have to do is email them or speak to them. WA, CC and CQ are leading the way here but even Ipswich does it as well, Birsbane2 are the only ones keeping it all quite.

BDGS

Just a question, no offense intended but how can what Gallop said last night shape your thinking on NRL expansion.

He has been saying the exact same thing as that for the last 18 months.

He usually uses the Central Coast Bears as the example for a heartland bid. Good show of support by the Central Coast Bears fans last night, looked to be two groups of Central Coast Bears fan and one guy on his own.

BDGS

Just watched it, how did you miss him talking about Perth? We were the only team he actually stated the value of! He clearly wants the Reds and one of either CC or Brisbane2. 2min 50sec mark.

Yeah, he seems to be favouring the Central Coast after last weeks comments about congestion in Brisbane and using the Central Coast NRL bid as the expanle like he has for the past 18 months.

sheepbender

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/nrl/footyshow/

What do you think to red gold and black for our colours Sheepbender?

5501236496_7e47616276.jpg

Yea but only after being reminded by Broughman, he rattled off Bears, Brisbane 2, Ispwich and Central QLD without a 2nd thought... But yea atleast he went into detail about Perth..

Yea the Gold is superior to Silver/Grey, but they did use Yellow back in the day didnt they?

sheepbender

Because i know it takes longer then 8 months to get a bid ready for the NRL.

and on another note, i have found every bid to be open about their bid with the exception of Brisbane2. All other bids are happy to tell you anything you want, all you have to do is email them or speak to them. WA, CC and CQ are leading the way here but even Ipswich does it as well, Birsbane2 are the only ones keeping it all quite.

The best ones, are the ones that say nothing at all ; )

BDGS

Yea but only after being reminded by Broughman, he rattled off Bears, Brisbane 2, Ispwich and Central QLD without a 2nd thought... But yea atleast he went into detail about Perth..

If Broughman let the man speak, he may have gotten around to WA.

Yea the Gold is superior to Silver/Grey, but they did use Yellow back in the day didnt they?

They did use yellow back in the day but Gold would look better this time around. imo