Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Western Melbourne - NRL Expansion (2nd Victorian Team)

greenBV4

Interested to see the claims of an Alt account
Half the people on this site have so little faith in our game they think there's only 1 or 2 rl supporters from outside nsw or qld on here, and anyone else claiming to be must be an alt

Personally I think vic 2 is a few years off but it’s a good strategy by the nrl to create a market for a team and push the discussion about who will be next.
Spot on, definately not something you'd do now, but there's a strong growth happening in Vic at the moment and the NRL should jump on this to help sustain it, pump some much needed funds into grassroots with a strategy to maybe consider Melb 2 for team 20

In reading about all these new teams possibly coming into the competition I read it all like this:
The NRL are saying "We are very serious about expanding. Start getting your ducks-in-a-row, because when the time comes we will be picking the best team(s) that suit. We aren't fecking around here"

Pneuma

In reading about all these new teams possibly coming into the competition I read it all like this:
The NRL are saying "We are very serious about expanding. Start getting your ducks-in-a-row, because when the time comes we will be picking the best team(s) that suit. We aren't fecking around here"
And it puts a bit of context around a Tasmanian fumbling team which has been agreed to by the chief fumbler only because the government wouldn’t shut up and paid a fortune for it. The market in Tassie is tiny.

Canard

Why is GWS widely derided as an abject failure, but Melb 2 now seen as a great idea?

Anyone who lives in Melbourne knows that Western United have been nothing short of a disaster in terms of fan support, and that Tarniet is a shit place for a stadium of this type. And soccer is a much bigger sport here than League.

Luckily for all involved they don't have the funds, nor planning approval to build a private stadium on land gifted to them by Council.

mongoose

Interested to see the claims of an Alt account. This new chap seems legit to me and knows what he’s talking about. Personally I think vic 2 is a few years off but it’s a good strategy by the nrl to create a market for a team and push the discussion about who will be next.
i'm only joking, blue bags seems to be the only poster who was pushing hard for Melbourne 2.

For me, I would really like to see a steady stream of Vic juniors coming through into the NRL before we talk about a second Melbourne team though. The Storm should also be averaging over 20k a game.

Pneuma

i'm only joking, blue bags seems to be the only poster who was pushing hard for Melbourne 2.

For me, I would really like to see a steady stream of Vic juniors coming through into the NRL before we talk about a second Melbourne team though.
Wasn’t thinking of you so much mate. BTW blue bags is hilarious. The steady stream of juniors is starting to happen but it needs consolidation. 2nd team is at least 5 years off but the idea is sound and we have failed fumbling models to learn from.

And it puts a bit of context around a Tasmanian fumbling team which has been agreed to by the chief fumbler only because the government wouldn’t shut up and paid a fortune for it. The market in Tassie is tiny.
Well in regards to that other sport, I can guess that the NRL could be saying "if you're going to give them that much money because they have more teams and a wider audience, then next time around we're going to have that many teams that stretch the land, so you'd better be paying up"
Of course I'm just doing as everyone else here does, speculating.

Colk

Wasn’t thinking of you so much mate. BTW blue bags is hilarious. The steady stream of juniors is starting to happen but it needs consolidation. 2nd team is at least 5 years off but the idea is sound and we have failed fumbling models to learn from.

Do you reckon mate? 10 or 15 years and I’d look at it.

It’s not a bad idea for the future considering the massive growth projected for Melbourne. Demographics also change so the people driving the population growth might be an easier sell than what it was 20 of so years ago.

Nevertheless, I think you would still want to see more growth in junior numbers and in Storm attendance and support.

Pneuma

Do you reckon mate? 10 or 15 years and I’d look at it.

It’s not a bad idea for the future considering the massive growth projected for Melbourne. Demographics also change so the people driving the population growth might be an easier sell than what it was 20 of so years ago.

Nevertheless, I think you would still want to see more growth in junior numbers and in Storm attendance and support.
I’m an optimist. 20 teams by 2032 so by then at least. It’s a massive city so, if the NRL are considering it, that’s a good timeline. Whatever the reality is the competitive tension will make the discussion worth it.

Canard

So this forum is consistent in its view that GWS is a steaming pile of horseshit. Yet some think Melb 2 is great idea?

Melbourne's growth isn't all West by the way, its quite significant in the North, and obviously SE. And the demos of Western Melbourne are not people from RL supporting backgrounds.

Growth doesn't correlate to support, especially when its not an RL state (not even close).

Western United admittedly nomadic existence, sees them have a crowd average of 3.1K! Why would the NRL have any more resonance?

Pneuma

So this forum is consistent in its view that GWS is a steaming pile of horseshit. Yet some think Melb 2 is great idea?

Melbourne's growth isn't all West by the way, its quite significant in the North, and obviously SE. And the demos of Western Melbourne are not people from RL supporting backgrounds.

Growth doesn't correlate to support, especially when its not an RL state (not even close).

Western United admittedly nomadic existence, sees them have a crowd average of 3.1K! Why would the NRL have any more resonance?
It’s a proposal worth looking at. GWS is an outstanding example of how to fail. The lessons learned from that should assist a new Victorian club wherever and whenever that occurs.

mongoose

GWS will be beneficial for AFL long term but boy that club's had a rocky start. The arrogant and divisive way AFL goes about things hasn't helped their cause either. GWS Giants is obviously a terrible nickname for a club too.