Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers take over bid

It turned out it wasn't.....

But you took your million dollars worth of silver to screw the game.
How was Super League any different to NSWRL clubs filling their Leagues Clubs with poker machines when the NSW Gov legalised electronic gaming machines for licenced venues in the mid-50s?

NSWRL clubs were following the law, but it was morally questionable as they were taking money from people with addiction issues. They used this revenue stream to bankrupt the BRL clubs, who didn't have access to poker machines as they were illegal in Queensland.

It's hard for Queenslanders to have any sympathy for NSWRL clubs who fell by the way side during fallout of the Super League War because it was a case of ruthless bullies from Australia's largest city receiving a dose of their own medicine. As a Queenslander I have no emotional attachment to the NSWRL clubs, but I love the BRL, but there's no point bitching about what happened as it was just evolution and economics in action. Businesses rise and fall all the time based on external factors they have no control over. Life is unfair.

I agree with that article. The Tigers have abandoned Campbelltown and the Macarthur. That’s how it feels anyway.

there is reasons for that, stadium is poor with no cover for fans and very limited corporate facilities, and big money sponsors are based in the city and want to be wining and dining guests in plush corporate suites near where they live, not out in the burbs.

AlwaysGreen

there is reasons for that, stadium is poor with no cover for fans and very limited corporate facilities, and big money sponsors are based in the city and want to be wining and dining guests in plush corporate suites near where they live, not out in the burbs.
You really have no f**king idea about Sydney.

Or anything but today we'll focus on Sydney.

You really have no f**king idea about Sydney.

Or anything but today we'll focus on Sydney.
Australia needs high-speed rail. It'll cut commuting times in half, which is vital for Sydney. SFS and Parramatta Stadium will be enough with high speed rail delivering speeds of 320km/ph.

PVL should be lobbying the NSW and Queensland Govs to build it. Everyone will benefit, from people commuting to and from work to school students. If he pulls it off he will establish a lot or good will with the public. It'll be better than trying to get the NSW Gov to build new stadiums in the suburbs.

Mr Spock!

Politis stopped giving money to the club when he took over management and City Ford was no longer the major sponsor. He brought business acumen and corporate professionalism to get us to the position we’re in now. Your accusation is just lazy and defamatory. You currently have an owner under investigation for dodgy business practices, so look in your own backyard first.

You’re right in that it shouldn’t be viewed as a business template for managing a club because not every club can be as lucky as us.
Lol a used car salesman that isn't shonky.

There's a first.

And you must be talking about ex-Easts board member James Packer?

Or did you mean Easts CEO Joe Kelly who was banned for salary cap breaches?

Mr Spock!

How was Super League any different to NSWRL clubs filling their Leagues Clubs with poker machines when the NSW Gov legalised electronic gaming machines for licenced venues in the mid-50s?

NSWRL clubs were following the law, but it was morally questionable as they were taking money from people with addiction issues. They used this revenue stream to bankrupt the BRL clubs, who didn't have access to poker machines as they were illegal in Queensland.

It's hard for Queenslanders to have any sympathy for NSWRL clubs who fell by the way side during fallout of the Super League War because it was a case of ruthless bullies from Australia's largest city receiving a dose of their own medicine. As a Queenslander I have no emotional attachment to the NSWRL clubs, but I love the BRL, but there's no point bitching about what happened as it was just evolution and economics in action. Businesses rise and fall all the time based on external factors they have no control over. Life is unfair.

Lol....the BRL was decimated by the Broncos to a nothing competition. And Superleague f**ked up the Crushers.

If you can't see the difference between superleague and poker machines than you're pretty daft.

But we already know that.

Btw Rabbitohs don't have poker machines.

Unlike Qld clubs.

Lol a used car salesman that isn't shonky.

There's a first.

And you must be talking about ex-Easts board member James Packer?

Or did you mean Easts CEO Joe Kelly who was banned for salary cap breaches?

So you have nothing to back up your claims.
Breaches at other clubs are our fault, now? Packer under investigation while owning Souths. My point still stands.

Mr Spock!

20 years of shit. Then booted out . Then more shit.

Now Rusty owns your history. Pretty blatant hypocrisy there, mate.

30 years of shit actually....I wonder if your club will last that long.

Lol what'd you guys do with your merger money?

Hey guys let's merge and become like Balmain....(and Norths)

add947d18bf1f7623b46297e886c1082

Mr Spock!

So you have nothing to back up your claims.
Breaches at other clubs are our fault, now? Packer under investigation while owning Souths. My point still stands.
So does mine.

Let's not forget Peter O'Sullivan was up to his neck in the Melbourne Storm salary cap breaches.

Notice a pattern here.

Roosters are hypocrites accusing other clubs of shonky business practices.

So does mine.

Let's not forget Peter O'Sullivan was up to his neck in the Melbourne Storm salary cap breaches.

Notice a pattern here.

Roosters are hypocrites accusing other clubs of shonky business practices.

It started with you.

The Roosters have billionaire Politis's endless pockets and paper bags.

That's how a club should be run?

Don't worry I'm sure Benny'll be back in 12 months to buy your club again when it's a bit cheaper.

Maybe Dawn Fraser can raise some money by doing some laps.

I was merely highlighting your hypocrisy.

Lol....the BRL was decimated by the Broncos to a nothing competition. And Superleague f**ked up the Crushers.

If you can't see the difference between superleague and poker machines than you're pretty daft.

But we already know that.

Btw Rabbitohs don't have poker machines.

Unlike Qld clubs.
You need to brush up on your history.

The Broncos were invited into the NSWRL by Arthurson and Quayle, who wanted a Brisbane team in 1987, but the QRL said "no". Quayle then called Queenslanders "backwards".

The Broncos were the final nail in the coffin of a corpse that was slowly bled dry by cashed up Sydney Leagues Clubs who were filthy rich from poker machine revenue. Sydney clubs bought up the best players for years, and did it at a greater rate during the 80s. The BRL clubs spent everything they had to hold onto their players, and it sent the likes of Pastoral Brothers Leprechauns and Fortitude Valley Diehards into terminal decline and almost claimed Wynnum Manly Seagulls.

If you didn't know that pokies were illegal in Queensland until the Wayne Goss Labor Gov legalised electronic gaming machines in the 1990s then you don't have a clue. Tweed Heads Seagulls went broke because the oldies from the Gold Coast who used to catch the bus over the border to play the pokies could now do it in their own neighbourhood, so Gold Coast Seagulls became Gold Coast Chargers.

If you think poker machines are not a social ill then there's no hope for you. People have lost their lifetime earnings thanks to pokie machines feeding their addiction issues. Super League didn't lead to people with addiction problems going bankrupt, yet you whine about it like a bitch because it broke up a Sydney suburban competition that was masquerading as a legitimate national league. Many of the Sydney teams couldn't make the transition from semi-professionalism to full-time professionalism. Arthurson and Quayle originly came up with the idea of rationalising Sydney in the 80s. Super League merely sped up the decline of clubs who were created in a suburban competition and had enough fans and resources to compete at that level, but couldn't afford the costs of flying around the country with players and staff on a full-time salary.

Why don't you blame Arthurson and Quayle for dooming Sydney's smaller clubs when they decided to expand in 1982?

It started with you.

I was merely highlighting your hypocrisy.
Roosters are the most important team in Sydney. They're based in the CBD and flying the flag for RL against serious competition from Swans and Waratahs. It would be great if the ARLC had a plan to convert the North Shore into rusted-on Roosters territory.

The Elmer Fudds aka South Sydney are a juggernaut now, but who knows where they will be when the old timers die off. They averaged less than 11k in 2017, which isn't enough for a team not collecting revenue from pokies and proves they have a lot of fair-weather fans.

https://afltables.com/rl/crowds/souths.html

@Mr Spock!

How come you hate the Western Sydney Tigers so much?

The only teams I hate with a passion are the Broncos and Storm, as they've always had massive advantages over everyone else and have done more to harm the game than any other club. Broncos have given fumbleball and onionball a base to build upon by insisting on being the only NSWRL/ARL/NRL team in Brisbane. They did everything they could to run the Crushers out of business.

Tigers are often dudded by bad referring calls, as are the Roosters. Neither team has harmed the game and are vital.

Are you just shitty because Melbourne put 50 on the Elmer Fudds the other night, effectively ending their premiership hopes for 2021?

Mr Spock!

You need to brush up on your history.

The Broncos were invited into the NSWRL by Arthurson and Quayle, who wanted a Brisbane team in 1987, but the QRL said "no". Quayle then called Queenslanders "backwards".

The Broncos were the final nail in the coffin of a corpse that was slowly bled dry by cashed up Sydney Leagues Clubs who were filthy rich from poker machine revenue. Sydney clubs bought up the best players for years, and did it at a greater rate during the 80s. The BRL clubs spent everything they had to hold onto their players, and it sent the likes of Pastoral Brothers Leprechauns and Fortitude Valley Diehards into terminal decline and almost claimed Wynnum Manly Seagulls.

If you didn't know that pokies were illegal in Queensland until the Wayne Goss Labor Gov legalised electronic gaming machines in the 1990s then you don't have a clue. Tweed Heads Seagulls went broke because the oldies from the Gold Coast who used to catch the bus over the border to play the pokies could now do it in their own neighbourhood, so Gold Coast Seagulls became Gold Coast Chargers.

If you think poker machines are not a social ill then there's no hope for you. People have lost their lifetime earnings thanks to pokie machines feeding their addiction issues. Super League didn't leave to people with addiction problems going bankrupt, yet you whine about it like a bitch because it broke up a Sydney suburban competition that was masquerading as a legitimate national league. Many of the Sydney teams couldn't make the transition from semi-professionalism to full-time professionalism. Super League merely sped up the decline of clubs who were created in a suburban competition and had enough fans and resources to compete at that level, but couldn't afford the costs of flying around the country with players and staff on a full-time salary.
Dude your grasp of history isn't much better than anything else you write.

Qld players had long gone to NSW and it was the reason State of Origin was launched.

Even while this was going on the BRL grew to be an incredibly strong comp.

It wasn't until the Broncos that the comp lost all it's star players.

Many ARL players at the time were being paid more than the PM. Remeber Meninga and his "what has rugby league ever done for me?"

Superleague screwed the game for years including destroying clubs like the Bears and tried to destroy the Rabbits.

Now if you're so enraged about poker machines, I take it you've taken it up with the club you support - (who also sold itself out to Superleague's millions as well as break up people's families).