Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Unite as JV remains anything but Cosy

Lockyer4President!

90% of western surburbs supporters just want more recognition with the jersey and the colours - larger magpie on the sleeve and more white of the jumper. Also a small magpie on all promotional items - t-shirts, jumpers etc. What about all future designs of the jersey must be 50% black, 25% gold and 25% white and the magpie must be the major item on the sleeve even if it costs the club ponsorship $s.

10% of magpie supporters will never return (like one of my bros) lost to the game forever - more to do with superleague and the forced amalgamations.

But the attitude of certain Balmain supporters has been we saved your arse and the guys have been along for the ride. So bloody smug, now Balmain is up shit creek, realistically Wests could pull the plug and Balmain would totally disappear - they are broke and Wests need to cover the loan - to some revenge would be sweet - after their smug attitude for 15 years.

There should be edict put out by the club that broadcasters - TV and radio should refer to the side as the "Wests Tigers" not the "Tigers"; this should include players and officials when interviewed - if smug old Balmain supporters pulled their heads in, we all might get along.

You should ask yourself if that will help the club or if it's just to make you feel better.
Your club is Wests Tigers, right?

super_coach

Parra wanted to merge with the Tigers for one reason,they wanted the Tigers brand name. Like it or hate it, from a marketing point of view its up their with the strongest brand names in town.

Now Iam a x Tigers man and I would have no problems with being a magpie one week and a tiger the next, but it would be a pain in the neck for the marketing people.

I was a 100% behind the merger from day one and Iam still that way. Both clubs would have perished if not for the merger. AS we grow older we grow smarter and I think people now realize that Wests did get the rough end of the pineapple, but things are changing and their has been a power shift.

I just hope people pull their head in and get behind the WESTSTIGERS and forget the past

DanOz

We are recruiting a whole new generation of supporters who only will know the Wests Tigers in any event, and wont care about Magpies or Balmain. To disolve the jv you would kill off their team, its never going to happen.

As the balance of power shifts back to Wests where the money and juniors are, all this hopefully will soon be a thing of the past, and success is the best antidote so hopefully Potter gives us semi final football this year and puts us on the path.

philgood

You reckon to saved our sorry arse, well there is no Balmain now - you are broke, so you tiggies can piss off.

You wish mate. Wests Tigers are nothing without the majority support of the Balmain fans, no matter how much money Wests have

weretiger

Piss Balmain off and re-establish the Western Surburb Magpies - but put a tiny tiny tiger on the sleeve of the Magpie jersey.

this is the crap what started all the garbage:x i just dont get the big deal about a magpie on the sleeve balmain lost its name theres no original tigers emblem on the jumper balmain supporters arent having a sook fest without wests balmain will die without balmain wests will also die,that is why the merger took place so i dont think to much has changed where one could stand alone

boonboon

Why is everything favouring the wests side of the joint venture. Their is no balmin on any of the merchandise but wests get a maie on our jumper. Campbeltown gets a trial every year Leichhardt gets nothing. All I hear is about looking after Wests juniors. I hear rumours the nsw cup team will be Campbeltown based but no home games at Leichhardt. All I read in the media is wests this and wests that, we lost our identity you just lost an animal. Wests bias needs to end it's meant to be a joint venture not just a wests magpies love in with our mascots. As for the jerseys and predominantly white jersey with black and a predominantly black jersey with orange and white and both ha e a magpie but no balmin logo, I look in the store and every item is mainly black or mainly white but never mainly our orange. I am sick of it we want our share we want even not this wests magpies do inane that is becoming so prevalent . I'm glad this topic has brough up the clear bias

macnaz

What is wrong with this site, posts are going out of order and it goes off line every hour or so.

lol. Its been all over the shop, at one point this thread actually disapeared which i thought was a good thing ;)

Lockyer4President!

If the club was inclusive of both foundation clubs it would certainly help the new club recognise it history.

As an outsider I can't see how WS are especially hard done by. Half the club name, half the club colours, the Magpie emblem on the jersey, etc. It seems as though unless half the games are played at Campbelltown Stadium and the team was wearing black and white and called the Magpies you'll feel slighted.

The fact people are still chippy about the JV is probably why the WT board have made the utterly geniused decision to not play in the traditional WS and Balmain jerseys and to instead wear the most vomit inducing strips in the comp, simply so no former fans are offended. The sooner you guys get over the JV the sooner we can see the traditional jerseys running around again.