Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What a crock of sh*t

Try doing either trip on foot with a couple of kids in tow...

Now consider getting a bus or a taxi from Central to the stadium. Bear in mind that you can get a train from anywhere to Central in the first place, without having to change.

Compare that to Homebush.

Now compare the two stadia and tell me which one you'd prefer to sit in. Anyone who says Homebush is a liar...

God you're stupid.

Distance from train to seats at Homebush = distance from Central to Moore Park. It's just that there's a little more to do along Cleveland Street...

We're talking about doing it on foot you gumby.

One is a 1.8k trek with a steep uphill climb for half that, the other is a couple of hundred metres at best, with no hill, no lights, no nothing.

This club has the stupidest fanbase of all clubs, followed closely by the Raider fanbase, then the Rooster fanbase courtesy of the Roosters idiot who posted in this thread.

Take out smeg, ink, unit and a couple of others and this clubs fanbase would be about as smart as dirt.

The stupid fanbase is matched only by the stupid administration of this club.

A good match methinks...

I think the penny has dropped (at long last).

Steep uphill walk? Have you actually ever walked it? It's a hill but to call it steep is bullsh*t. You're making sh*t up, again.

And citing ink as being a smart fan, well, really......

I've walked it 100 times.

I've been a Rugby League fan for 40 years. The first game I ever went to was at the SCG.

The walk is not 15 minutes. If you think that, time yourself next time, you'll get a shock.

Tiger Hawk

How long is it then? Through all this I've not seen you put up an alternative time (not that I've read every page or every post).

The only time I bothered to time it, it took just on 1/2 an hour. That was plenty of time ago when I was a lot younger and fitter but it was including stopping for traffic, lights etc etc etc.

Tiger Hawk

30 minutes?! No way. I'm not using the time it takes to get from your seat out of the stadium (or vice versa). Just purely from the time you physically leave the stadium's grounds to central. 15 minutes, 20 max which allows for traffic etc. Maybe I walk fast.

Highlander

nothing beats the crawl up the hill to the footy stadium
have 2 or 3 schooners at each pub. its gold

Thats right

All this crap about 15mins is a joke you should take atleast 2hrs min

Its like when you go to CS you go to Wests before the game the Tennis club after and club hotel when you get kicked out of the tennis club.

PS i think playing at the SFS is a joke but we are the Wests whore$ not tigers.

tiger_nick

I see it's only non-Campbelltown/Minto/Leumeah folk who think it takes about 15 minutes, probably because those of us not from there aren't stopping to ask everyone we pass for a dollar.

if theres been a funnier post on LU i havent seen it.

tiger_nick

In the same thread, we have people saying "I'm not going to games or supporting them financially etc" and then "Why are the club prostituting themselves?!?!".

What do you expect them to do?

Our grounds lose money! They're sh*t. Why we'd want to play there is beyond me.

It would be delightful if we had a nice new ground in a suitable geographic location, but whilst the fans waste time lobbying to bring our current grounds up to 1940's standards we're always going to have to attend the quality grounds that are located out of our geographic area.

mate i agree with you in many ways and would be happy if that happened. i have no association with the balmain area, i supported the tigers and i would guess approx 80% of pre 2000 tigers fans feel the same. we could relocate to gosford, adelaide, perth etc and id still support them. the word before the 'tiger' means nothing to me.

however how is this stadium going to be built? i seem to remember skilled stadium cost $250million to build, i assume your talking of a stadium similar to this? the wests tigers certainly dont have the money, or do the nrl. with anz, aussie, scg, parra, cua, oki, brookvale, cua, toyota, north sydney, campbelltown, leichhardt among others in sydney why would the government part with it. i just dont see it as financially viable.

Vicious

An absolute disgrace. Playing home games in the eastern suburbs, makes you want to throw up really. Let Balmain merge with the Roosters, as much as I hate them, i`d rather merge with the Bulldogs than cop this sh*t !!!

2 mergers that would have made sense.

Each club chose the other to avoid being completely overwhelmed by another Syd club. In hindsight it would have made sense geographically & culturally to have merged along the lines proposed above.

30 minutes?! No way. I'm not using the time it takes to get from your seat out of the stadium (or vice versa). Just purely from the time you physically leave the stadium's grounds to central. 15 minutes, 20 max which allows for traffic etc. Maybe I walk fast.

Or, maybe you're a nimnal who actually has no idea how long it takes?

I'll take door #2 thanks Tony...

Like I said, you have no idea.

And the next time you walk it, you'll time it and find out that I was right because you won't be able to help yourself and you'll time it.

Then you'll realise that I was right, you are stupid. It's about that time I reckon you should find a moving bus and see if you can roll under it without getting hit.

westie

mate i agree with you in many ways and would be happy if that happened. i have no association with the balmain area, i supported the tigers and i would guess approx 80% of pre 2000 tigers fans feel the same. we could relocate to gosford, adelaide, perth etc and id still support them. the word before the 'tiger' means nothing to me.

however how is this stadium going to be built? i seem to remember skilled stadium cost $250million to build, i assume your talking of a stadium similar to this? the wests tigers certainly dont have the money, or do the nrl. with anz, aussie, scg, parra, cua, oki, brookvale, cua, toyota, north sydney, campbelltown, leichhardt among others in sydney why would the government part with it. i just dont see it as financially viable.

I just quickly found this. Sort of sums up what happened in the first half of the decade re: Oasis and shows that such a venture is possibly viable.

http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/01/20/1074360766491.html?from=storyrhs

In short, a mixture of private and local govt. investment. Macquarie were putting in a sh*tload from what I remember. The thing blew up for a number of reasons, mostly dumb sh*t like which is mentioned. There were also accusations of donations for development approval etc.

Obviously Maq Bank isn't looking so flash at the moment, but by the time such a proposal is off the ground, everyone will be feeling pretty good about spending/making money.

I saw figures a while ago re: how much has been put into league ground upgrades by govt. in the medium term past. It's well over $100 mil. What do we have to show for it? A whole bunch of dilapidated sheds which everyone still hates. Why not sit down and come up with a plan to do something which will not only provide a great facility, but also stop the constant drain of cash.

N.C.

God you're stupid.

We're talking about doing it on foot you gumby.

One is a 1.8k trek with a steep uphill climb for half that, the other is a couple of hundred metres at best, with no hill, no lights, no nothing.

This club has the stupidest fanbase of all clubs, followed closely by the Raider fanbase, then the Rooster fanbase courtesy of the Roosters idiot who posted in this thread.

Take out smeg, ink, unit and a couple of others and this clubs fanbase would be about as smart as dirt.

The stupid fanbase is matched only by the stupid administration of this club.

A good match methinks...

I was talking about walking too - with kids. Then I said I'd rather not. But at Homebush, you kind of have to, 'cause the train station is a f*cking mile away... You can check this, by reviewing my previous post.

I'm sorry, I didn't realise this conversation was only for cranky old geezers of questionable intellect. I guess when it comes to your stupid fan theory, you're a case in point...