Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What Do We Do About Kurt?

Alex28

OK...so we have basically said we don't have enough dollars to keep Kurt, and in todays papers Kurt has said he'll wait until after June 30 and "test the waters" - he also has the Tigers and most likely Parramatta chasing his signature.

So what do we about it?

I think we should give him permission to negotiate with other clubs now. Let him talk to the clubs that want him, see how much he is worth, let him know how much we can pay him and get him to make up his mind now so if he does go, we can spend the money where needed (i.e. - a utility player that is better than Riley Brown).

If he decides he will go - then we tell Kurt he'll play from the bench, or Centre, or any position other than 5/8. We give Jarrod Mullen time to play next to Andrew Johns and give him the experience of playing in a winning team that he badly needs. Give him the chance to create something rather than being hung out to dry like he was on Saturday night.

Any other suggestions?

Pure_Knight

mate i think youve said exactly what needs to happen. Mullen is a 5/8 not a halfback, that would give mullen with johns. We then have walsh as a back up half until johns leaves..i think walsh and mullen are the future halves, may take time but they no doubt have the talent to do it.
What youve said about kurt talking to clubs now and giving us the heads up is the best approach, for the reasons youve stated.

Stranger

The only thing i don't like about mullen getting alot of time with Johns, is that he may end up becoming dependant on Johns...

Alex28

I understand where you are coming from Stranger...however every game he is playing in First Grade at the moment, he is losing. We have to give him a winning culture at some stage - every time we win with Johns, we have him shoved back in First Division.

I'm really quite worried we aren't giving him the opportunity to succeed, to allow him to find his potential because when we do play well - he isn't there. When he does play First Grade, we play with no discipline/organisation/leadership and he sees next to no ball because Buderus and Kidley find it necessary to do the work Jarrod should be doing.

We aren't even giving him a chance.

Pure_Knight

Just from memory didnt mullen play with johns when we had out first win against the panthers last year, and also that great win against the cowboys where he got a try or two. I cant remember what other games he played with johns last year but he may just have a 100% record with him. To be honest i think mullen would complement johns game well, and add that extra element. He's proven he can cut it in those games last year, give him an extended run in a winning team, and i think we will all see him grow and shine as a player.

antonius

Agree, play him with Johns, have Walsh playing Premier league, and the three of them training together as much as possible. Let Kidley test the waters, I have a feeling he will be dissapointed with the results.

Voice of Reason

I,d go a step further. If coach Smith does not want Kidley next year then the club should tell Kidley he will NOT be resigned for next year, drop him to Premy then go with the Johns/Mullen/Walsh strategy that you suggest Tony. In the event that Smith sees Kidley as a 5/8 (God help us if he does) I am afraid that our future (short-term at least) looks very grim.

Jobdog

Furthermore to that, if Kidley doesn't want to be here, which it sounds like, then why are we rewarding him with a permanent first grade spot?

antonius

I think that maybe Kurt has recieved an offer already from us (they have been talking to his manager) and it isn't up to his expectations. Hence he is going to shop around. I really hope the Club don't take the bait, and that Smith is at least contacted for his views. The thing that really concerns me is Chiefs comments on the footy show.

Bicey_18

Pure_Knight said:
Just from memory didnt mullen play with johns when we had out first win against the panthers last year, and also that great win against the cowboys where he got a try or two. I cant remember what other games he played with johns last year but he may just have a 100% record with him.

I think u'll find he played wit Johns against Brisbane last year and we were beaten on that arvo... I may be mistaken but im pretty sure

Voice of Reason

I agree Tony- most things that (once an idol) now officially known as Propoganda Harragon say scare and embarrase me as a Knights fan. He defends the inexcusable, peddles out worn-out tired excuses then trumps it by promoting the very thing that most of us long-term Knights fans dislike about the club- a "jobs for the boys" culture. If he truely thinks that Kidley is (his quote) the "future of the Knights" then I think he is way off the mark. Or is it he thinks that the Gidley name is so synonomous with the Knights and the brothers have given so much to the club blah blah.....?? From someone who knows I can tell you that Kurt was given a "saloon passage" through junior representative footy because of his big brother ahead of many other more talented players. Coincidence? Propoganda promotes this "we will address our own problems with our own people" attitude showing his nievity, lack of forsight and even arrogance. Yes Tony if his view is representative of the board then we are in big trouble. There is a massive difference between being loyal and supportive to being dillusional, insular and unrealistic!

Bicey_18

The way I see it..... Kurt will not be at club next year after signing a 3 yr deal with Parramatta, following Hages for the simple reason he loves being coached by him etc

Now with Kidley, Carney and possibly Carmont leaving next year .. Where does the money go?

Enter John Morris and Dean Widders. I have a feeling that both will follow Brian Smith to Newcastle.... Both will come off the bench giving us impact that we need

IMO I think Morris is better than Brown, Morris seems to have a pretty good kicking game and can be elusive...The guy can play ANYWHERE... His last year at the club he played wing I believe and had a good stint there.

And with Widders....we all know how explosive he can be off the bench and it seems Smith can get the best outta him...

But I guess all this comes back to money...

Our 2007 Possible Line up

1. Milton Thaiday
2. Anthony Quinn
3. Matthew Gidley
4. Brad Tighe
5. David Seage
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Andrew Johns
8. Craig Smith
9. Danny Buderus
10. Josh Perry
11. Steve Simpson
12. Clint Newton
13. Daniel Abraham

14. Luke Davico
15. Adam Woolnough
16. John Morris
17. Dean Widders

Rusty

Smith definitely won't have Kurt at five-eight with the way he has performed in the position and I think he himself knows that. I think that explains why Kurt has decided to wait until after June 30 cos it wont be that easy to fill a first grade spot with Smith as the coach. I am really looking forward to seeing Mullen and Johns play together like it should have been from day one.

ArturiusX

I don't know anything about Walsh, but how many times do I need to say it, MULLEN IS NOT READY FOR FULL TIME FIRST GRADE NEXT SEASON!

aqua_duck

I can't see why Mullen is not ready. He certainly didn't disgrace himself last season nand 2 years on you'd think he'd mature ten fold.
Kurt isn't the answer, a blind person could see that. His kicking game has improved but is still mediocre at best, his running game is ok but he doesn't know when to run, and his passing game is horrible. He's a handy utlity player abit like a John Morris or a Reni Maitua but certainly not capable of running a team.

Johns Magic

knights9 said:
Next year he will be 20 and if he's not ready next when will he be ?

I reckon he should have this year and another season in PL tbh.

Get the hunger happening to play first-grade. He's lacking it at the moment.

Jobdog

JM, he's probably lacking it because

a)whenever he plays first grade, they have generally lost and
b)he's not too sure when he wil be playing first grade because supercoach keeps on picking Kidley at five-eight