Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What has happened to Australian music?

some11

The new mantra is flog whatever shit sells to 'tweens'.

'Talent' shows, manufactured popstars.

Just another cycle in the music industry merry go round.

veggiepatch1959

The demise of Australian music started in the 90s when record companies became reluctant to sign new acts, instead preferring to release "remastered" and "unplugged" CDs by already well established bands such as the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, etc.

During that time, I recall the youth in the area of the NSW South Coast where I lived listening to these CDs rather than new music because their parents bought the remastered releases.

Then came along the assembly line of so called "talent shows", giving us the likes of Shannon Noll, Guy Sebastian, Casey Donovan, Tony Callea and so on.

What an unfortunate state of affairs! Creativity and original music has been stiffled by the likes of Warner Brothers, Sony and BMG. Well FMD, even Triple J is sounding like Triple M these days!

What ever happened to truely alternative music?

gUt

Aussie music as a whole is overrated. If these bands were as good as JJJ etc make them out to be they'd be more successful around the world. Aussie hip-hop is a pathetic, laughable pastiche.

Zigwaa

Parkway Drive are doing pretty well. Some other heavy bands doing good things too, Thy Art is Murder among others.

Manu Vatuvei

It's the bloody music industry I tell ya, trying to sell music to people, giving them what they think they want 'n shit.

Back in my day the truly great artists went out of their way to not make music for their audience, and by God we lapped it up.

People would rather listen to Led Zeppelin than some shitty south coast pub band, I wonder why :lol:

Heaps of good music exists but if you can't find any you like you're either lazy or you have shit taste. Judging by OP I'll go the latter.

Venues can get DJs for a few hundred and a decent one for a few grand.

If they want a live band its $5K and $15K+ for a decent one that records Cds.

Economics.

snoozer

the demise of pubs as music venues(pokies), the rise of fast track stardom(talent shows) and the major labels only releasing known artists.

jjj hot100 is a good example - gone to shit since about 2005.

Pete Cash

Gentrification of the capital cities didn't help. Sydneys music scene has recovered quite well but there was certainly some dark days ten years ago.

That said as tt pointed out there is loads of good music out there. Its just you have to look for it.

LESStar58

All I have to go on really is some of the bands that headline events, festivals etc as well as the odd temporary exposure to commercial radio in friends cars.

I'm lucky living in Melbourne cos there are alternatives in several scenes that I frequent like the rockabilly, folk etc scenes.

These days the only "new" bands I'm in to are some of the underground roots AND country bands i get exposed to fairly regularly from the states. Aside from that its my steady diet of punk, rockabilly, bluegrass, country etc that has sustained me since my teenage years. The only things I was ever taught musically by my parents was Slim Dusty and CCR.

Desert Qlder

You are just looking in the wrong places. No, you are not going to find great new music on commercial radio or even Triple J these days. It is unfortunate but they have just been taken over by vested interests, no point crying about it.

But talent does not dissipate even in the oppressive conditions under which musicians work. Ones must look deeper and in more obscure places for the type of music you desire.

Community radio is a great start. Not only do many presenters on community radio have their own wondrous collections and knowledge, but can also access AMRAP (Australian Music Radio Airplay Project) and their huge database of new Australian music. From that they can play a style that can suit their show or tastes. In Melbourne, PBS is one of the larger community stations and there is a show for all tastes, from pop rock to the more obscure styles. I know 4ZZZ in Brisbane do similar things and I'm sure there would be a Sydney equivalent.

Other than that you probably also just need to get out and see more bands. They do still play in front of live crowds you know. Supporting these artists in this age of multiple entertainment options is the only way they can give us good music.

And I still can't think of something much better to do than to go check out a band for a night out.

some11

It's the bloody music industry I tell ya, trying to sell music to people, giving them what they think they want 'n shit.

Back in my day the truly great artists went out of their way to not make music for their audience, and by God we lapped it up.

whoosh

You are just looking in the wrong places. No, you are not going to find great new music on commercial radio or even Triple J these days. It is unfortunate but they have just been taken over by vested interests, no point crying about it.

But talent does not dissipate even in the oppressive conditions under which musicians work. Ones must look deeper and in more obscure places for the type of music you desire.

Community radio is a great start. Not only do many presenters on community radio have their own wondrous collections and knowledge, but can also access AMRAP (Australian Music Radio Airplay Project) and their huge database of new Australian music. From that they can play a style that can suit their show or tastes. In Melbourne, PBS is one of the larger community stations and there is a show for all tastes, from pop rock to the more obscure styles. I know 4ZZZ in Brisbane do similar things and I'm sure there would be a Sydney equivalent.

Other than that you probably also just need to get out and see more bands. They do still play in front of live crowds you know. Supporting these artists in this age of multiple entertainment options is the only way they can give us good music.

And I still can't think of something much better to do than to go check out a band for a night out.

And the best way to support these artists is to go to their shows

mongoose

the demise of pubs as music venues(pokies), the rise of fast track stardom(talent shows) and the major labels only releasing known artists.

jjj hot100 is a good example - gone to shit since about 2005.

The last few hottest 100s have been woeful. Full of disposable indie electronic fluff i.e Flume, they don't sound like anything.

sydraider

This isnt a problem in the Metal Scene, there are a stack of really good local bands out there. Like others have said you just have to go look for it, you wont find it anywhere on mainstream media.

Ron Jeremy

Been saying it for years, Australian music is shit and embarrasment, take away the divinyls, ACDC, Icehouse and it is utter shit