Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is the most useless job society has?

Most useless job

Any farkwit can do anything.
Is that so...can you build a bridge? Design a car? Make a business profit? Create a drug that cures some pain?

Playing chords is something very simple. Can anyone be a garbo, if they work hard enough. Can anyone profit from chords that suck in young ones, well Beiber is here, catch the fever.

I thought in this life you were supposed to do what you want to do, if someone has a passion they should pursue it. There aren't many people in this world who do things just to please others, don't know why you have to single out musicians.
Because they PREY on the young.

They aren't useless anyway, I know music has helped me more than any ivory tower research fool or some scientist studying plankton in Antarctica or hard-partyin' college student wasting money from centrelink.
Yes I think you would believe that, but I am happy for reseachers to extend my life from discoveries made. Music will never ever extend life. It may well make you happy but in no way does it help society unlike medical research.

Musicians are those who cannot help society in any way, useless merkins who prey on the young in society.

Springs

Is that so...can you build a bridge? Design a car? Make a business profit? Create a drug that cures some pain?

Playing chords is something very simple. Can anyone be a garbo, if they work hard enough. Can anyone profit from chords that suck in young ones, well Beiber is here, catch the fever.

Because they PREY on the young.

Yes I think you would believe that, but I am happy for reseachers to extend my life from discoveries made. Music will never ever extend life. It may well make you happy but in no way does it help society unlike medical research.

Musicians are those who cannot help society in any way, useless merkins who prey on the young in society.

No I can't build a bridge, but I can't play guitar either. If I studied architecture or car design or business or medicine I could possibly do all of that. Just as if I practice guitar I could one day be good at it.

Musicians don't prey on the young (most anyway), the producers and other idiots like music agents do. Now there is a real useless job.

And I didn't say medical research, I said ivory tower research and studying plankton. I don't think you are going to benefit much from plankton.

Who? Name one person who cannot play a triangle. So Bieber "has it"?

I said an instrument, a triangle is a geometrical figure. Don't think I've ever seen anyone make a killing or being exploited playing one of them.

I reckon they wish they got the easy talentless road too. Prince William agrees......many wish they are born as prince, I ain't one. Others go down the useless musician path...hoping the right fat cat and marketing will give them an easy bludger life. Bieber and Dolly Parton prime examples.

so you've met Willy, nice bloke is he ?

I think Dolly was more famous for her other attributes

Absolute crap. Therefore Bieber has it then? Twiz admits he has Bieber fever, as he "has it". Others do not. hahahahaha

absolute crap

not sure how you draw that conclusion, does nothing for me

like I said previously, Bieber is no different to millions of other kids his age, he just has a better manager, he can sing like millions of others which doesn't mean he cant sing but he's nothing special

Poor darlings...unlike the people who actually contribute to society and don't look for a free ride. the roadies probably do work hard.

again, not sure how you come to these conclusions, you're obviously bias against musos

free ride ?

I wonder what the annual turnover of the music industry is, probably more money that you and I could ever imagine, and your suggesting that it adds nothing to society,

more like it adds nothing to your society

I wonder what the annual turnover of the music industry is, probably more money that you and I could ever imagine, and your suggesting that it adds nothing to society
Interesting criteria.

Sex and drugs and rock 'n roll are all big $ items. Two out of three ain't bad.

Interesting criteria.

Sex and drugs and rock 'n roll are all big $ items. Two out of three ain't bad.

drugs ?

any other illegal activities you want to add in there ?

I'm sure people smuggling is a very big industry as well

not sure what that has to do with legal activities like the music industry

I've been learning guitar for 3 years and I still haven't exploited anyone :( Maybe I should try something with a higher success rate in Australia...elite Rugby League player sounds good

Well that will be a problem for either career.

Grow some dreads, look like a bum, get some make up.

Angry is just trolling now...boooring

the internet is such a serious thing

someone_is_wrong_on_the_internet1.jpg

Since then, armed with a debut record My World 2.0 Bieber has become as much a social media star as he has a chart-topper - his fans have downloaded more than 24 million singles and his YouTube videos have been viewed at least 1.5 billion times.
Like Lady Gaga, he is rewriting the pop rule book and knows a few daily Twitter or Facebook updates have more power to keep the fan fires burning than radio playing his breakthrough hit Baby three times a day.

Baby face v Baby boomer
Justin Bieber
- ALBUMS: One studio album, two remix collections and one compilation
- CAREER: Signed to Island records in 2008 after discovered on YouTube
- SIGNIFICANT OTHER: Disney "It girl" Selena Gomez
- Named one of Time's 100 Most Influential People 2011
- MENTOR: Usher
- SOCIAL MEDIA: 9,141,770 Twitter followers; 25,986,403 people like him on Facebook
- AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES: Seven concerts
Bob Dylan
- ALBUMS: 34 studio albums plus live and compilation recordings
- CAREER: Signed to Columbia Records in 1961
- SIGNIFICANT OTHERS: Two ex-wives and six children
- Named one of Time's 100 Most Important People of the Century
- MENTOR: Woody Guthrie
- SOCIAL MEDIA: 42,275 Twitter followers; 2,376,779 people like him on Facebook
- AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES: Nine concerts

Link

Get with the times man....you old music fans will be left behind with your vinyl records of Gene Pitney.
Beiber the new face of the music industry, catch the fever.

I'm sure his publicity/media officer makes all his Twitter and FB entries, its all part of the marketing machine

drugs ?

any other illegal activities you want to add in there ?

I'm sure people smuggling is a very big industry as well

not sure what that has to do with legal activities like the music industry
Just saying that if money is yard stick for contributing to society, then we should be able to include drugs, gambling, sex, booze, guns, and yeah, throw in people smuggling - although I don't think it's as notorious as music.

Skinner

Dear God, this thread started off in very nebulous fashion, but now it's gotten even murkier :crazy:

Is NZ too small for the superstar that is Beiber?

You strike me as Neil Diamond fan skinner.