Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is the most useless job society has?

Most useless job

age.s

You know, if Angry just said "The vast majority of money generated by music is done with exploitative garbage that has no redeeming qualities. It is often aimed at children or young people too emotionally immature to understand the subtleties present in a more complex and interesting peices of music. So much of it's appeal is around the marketing, sexual suggestiveness and fashion, things that have nothing to do with the craft of creating music in and of itself. The vast majority of it is one big con and the world would be none the poorer without it." I'd actually have to put my hand up and agree. The vast majority of popular music (read music that makes money) these days is complete garbage. PS, I am not a crackpot.

Of course then we would have gotten to 23 pages, vomited at seeing pictures of a prepubecent male grabbing his crotch, seen Beave's fathers awesome metal sculptures, brought out the popcorn for some epic post wars and I wouldn't be posting this post right now. Makes you think eh....

Someone who gets it......well played sir.

It is far more fun to poke fun at music fans, they take thier tastes very seriously. I seriously know guys who judge a person by what they listen too, they do struggle with me, as generally they have not meet someone who simply does not listen to it and thinks it is all crap.

FTR I found myself listening to classical music the other day, was on a country road, could not pick up ABC news, so had a choice, rock music, classical music or silence. Went with silence for about 10 minutes, then went classical.

I am not sure what is worse right now, Beiber fever or Royal Wedding stories.

Is NZ too small for the superstar that is Beiber?

You strike me as Neil Diamond fan skinner.
Just checking his tour dates.

Tel Aviv
Singapore
Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane
Sydney
Melbourne
Adelaide
Perth
Manila
Osaka
Tokyo

and

Boondall. Yes, Boondall.

But no NZ.

oh noes, the kiwis won't have Beiber fever.....

Lucky plane fares to Boondall are affordable.

ozbash

The Beeb wouldnt go down too well here, there is universal justifiable contempt at the slug grabbing twerp.

Daughter gave me 'The Best of Johnny Cash' as a bday pressie,I'm frightened to play it..

Why do I picture this oz?

gramophone.jpg

ozbash

actually, now that you mention it..

23 yr old daughter has got the vynal craze, goes round 2nd hand shops/garage sales buying up lp's.

Trouble is, she has nothing to play them on. Eventually found her a turntable you can usb into your computer and record the bloody things !

aint technology great ?

Someone who gets it......well played sir.

It is far more fun to poke fun at music fans, they take thier tastes very seriously. I seriously know guys who judge a person by what they listen too, they do struggle with me, as generally they have not meet someone who simply does not listen to it and thinks it is all crap.

FTR I found myself listening to classical music the other day, was on a country road, could not pick up ABC news, so had a choice, rock music, classical music or silence. Went with silence for about 10 minutes, then went classical.

I am not sure what is worse right now, Beiber fever or Royal Wedding stories.

If I had a choice of Bieber or silence, silence would win hands down

I never listen to commercial radio and I think I've only ever heard one of his songs, very repetitive.

I actually thought it was a girl singing but maybe that was before they dropped.

beave

Ang, you make it sound like it's a fait accompli that everyone can play an instrument at a level in which could be considered competent to the point of being able to entertain and make a living??? Of course anyone can play an instrument, just like anyone can play footy............... but their level of competence and ability to entertain with either 'hobby' will generally dictate how much coin they earn. If you are a rubbish muso, then you can forget about making a living. Is Bieber a rubbish muso???? The kid can sing, do I like his style of music, not particularly. Both hobbies at the end of the day are not critical to the moving forward of the human race granted, but both provide an escape to the day to day grind that is known as 'life'......................

does football provide you enjoyment??? Because at the end of the day it is just a game............. is that anymore or less important than someone who can use music as a medium in which to entertain???

When you keep banging on that we must like Bieber because we like music, I giggle a little. It would be like me asking you

Me- 'oi Ang, do you like food???'

Ang -' Of course clown, what you on about??'

me- 'well seeing as though you love food, you must love Maccas. How could you love food when you know how Maccas sucks the young children into the shop with the toys that comes with the happy meals, the exploiting of teenage workers who slave away over the fryer for minimal wage, oh and don't forget the forests that get cut down to make way for the grazing lands that provides a habitat for the poor cattle that get slaughtered for those pattys you so dearly love'..................

enough of the bickering, let's just enjoy the acoustic stylings of Andee Mckee, I am expecting Ang your youtube retort to this song with a song that is just as worthless to society.......... how dare anyone have a hooby that entertains and earns you a living, it utterly disgusts me................ ;-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddn4MGaS3N4

Ang, you make it sound like it's a fait accompli that everyone can play an instrument at a level in which could be considered competent to the point of being able to entertain and make a living??? Of course anyone can play an instrument, just like anyone can play footy............... but their level of competence and ability to entertain with either 'hobby' will generally dictate how much coin they earn.
Beiber earnt 100 million last year. The corporate side disgusts me. I do not contribute to the music industry financially, I do not buy any of thier material, clearly millions do, I support there right to do so, I support my right to consider it worthless to society, as a hobby fine. I think it a sad reflection on our society the musicians are held in high esteem and rewarded in the hundreds of billions. I refuse to participate and encourage others to do so.

If you are a rubbish muso, then you can forget about making a living. Is Bieber a rubbish muso????
Depends who you ask.........In the end he is a musician. I make no distiction between Beiber and Elvis. People who consider themselves music critics do, and that is anyone who finds a difference between the noise Dolly, Justin or Bon Jovi make. It is just noise to me. Noise I do not require.

The kid can sing,
Beiber fever

do I like his style of music, not particularly. Both hobbies at the end of the day are not critical to the moving forward of the human race granted, but both provide an escape to the day to day grind that is known as 'life'......................
Yes I am not a fan of the music industry, and musician as a job, as stated before, as a hobby I have no issue.

does football provide you enjoyment??? Because at the end of the day it is just a game............. is that anymore or less important than someone who can use music as a medium in which to entertain???
I do enjoy footy and sport, these pursuits promote phyiscal excellence and general health well being. Each to thier own indeed.

When you keep banging on that we must like Bieber because we like music,
No I am pointing out I see all musician as you see Beiber.

I giggle a little. It would be like me asking you

Me- 'oi Ang, do you like food???'
Well actually food is something I consider to be a chore, a pain in the arse and I want a pill that will do the same thing.

There is a whole thread on that somewhere.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=375361&page=25

Ang -' Of course clown, what you on about??'

me- 'well seeing as though you love food, you must love Maccas. How could you love food when you know how Maccas sucks the young children into the shop with the toys that comes with the happy meals, the exploiting of teenage workers who slave away over the fryer for minimal wage, oh and don't forget the forests that get cut down to make way for the grazing lands that provides a habitat for the poor cattle that get slaughtered for those pattys you so dearly love'..................
Food is essential for humans to survive, the chore that it is. Music is not.

enough of the bickering, let's just enjoy the acoustic stylings of Andee Mckee, I am expecting Ang your youtube retort to this song with a song that is just as worthless to society.......... how dare anyone have a hooby that entertains and earns you a living, it utterly disgusts me................ ;-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddn4MGaS3N4
Just noise, but free, the way it should be.

Just saying that if money is yard stick for contributing to society, then we should be able to include drugs, gambling, sex, booze, guns, and yeah, throw in people smuggling - although I don't think it's as notorious as music.

Dear God, this thread started off in very nebulous fashion, but now it's gotten even murkier :crazy:
Fair point.

I forgot to add religion.

"The vast majority of money generated by music is done with exploitative garbage that has no redeeming qualities. It is often aimed at children or young people too emotionally immature to understand the subtleties present in a more complex and interesting peices of music. So much of it's appeal is around the marketing, sexual suggestiveness and fashion, things that have nothing to do with the craft of creating music in and of itself. The vast majority of it is one big con and the world would be none the poorer without it."

Agree.

But maybe Angry should be better at getting his point across rather than trolling :sarcasm:

age.s

Agree.

But maybe Angry should be better at getting his point across rather than trolling :sarcasm:

Oh come on, that's just no fun. :D

Anyway the key with that quote is the word majority. Music as a medium borders on sublime but it is well and truly raped in todays world. Refusing to support the corporate machine that repeatedly pillages it is imo a pretty good aim which is what Angry is getting at for mine. The industry really needs a good implosion so it can start from scratch, and it won't happen unless we start shoveling shit on to it.

I actually thought the big publishers were going to be shoveled out with the rise of a new method of distribution in the internet. IMO we need to see (and are seeing to an extent) more musicians creating, producing and distributing their work on their own, without big publishers sucking the life out of them. I want to see is the money I pay for music going straight to the artist(s), cutting out the scum that promote the garbage that I hear on radio stations and in public spaces. It's not happening fast enough imo.

Skinner

Is NZ too small for the superstar that is Beiber?

You strike me as Neil Diamond fan skinner.

Well y'know, back in the early seventies, I did have a certain fondness for the Hot August Night LP. Can't say I've heard too much of Neil since, apart from the odd wedding do where he seems to be continually trotted out.

No, I'm much more of a punk/new wave aficionado to be fair (with a touch of Burl thrown in of course).

I would make fun of you if I knew what that meant.

Bit worried about the Beiber fans
JUSTIN Bieber's fans face an anxious wait as the pop sensation has treatment for a back injury, which could force him to postpone his sold-out Sydney concert tonight.

The 17-year-old star was advised not to go ahead with his opening show in Brisbane on Tuesday after injuring his back wake-boarding in Bali last weekend.

He arrived in Brisbane by private jet just 90 minutes before he was due on stage after delaying his departure from Bali to rest up.

Link

Can we get an adam and billy suicide watch going. Much concern.