Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whats more important to you, club football or SOO

Whats more important to you, SOO or Club footy

BunniesMan

Proud New South Welshman but club footy all the way. There would be no Origin or anything else without club footy. It always has and always will come first.

I hear the term 'Victorians' as a collective all the time.
Not in the same way as Queenslanders do it.

I agree with the original statement comparing disasters. In both the QLD floods and Victorian bushfires, all states sent help. Victorians used the word "Australians" which included the volunteers from over the borders as well. Bligh didnt - and all we heard about was Queensland spirit, ignoring the massive assistance coming from across your borders.

I have to say on the ground at the time, the locals never made that distinction.

Desert Qlder

I agree with the original statement comparing disasters. In both the QLD floods and Victorian bushfires, all states sent help. Victorians used the word "Australians" which included the volunteers from over the borders as well. Bligh didnt - and all we heard about was Queensland spirit, ignoring the massive assistance coming from across your borders.

I have to say on the ground at the time, the locals never made that distinction.

Can this almighty whinge please stop now?

Knightmare

Somebody from North of the border that is on my fb friends list posted about the Roosters- Dragons game, and one of their friends posted this:

NRL & anything Sydney connected to the NRL headquarters has always been corrupt... Shame super league never succeeded. it would have bought the NRL back to reality.... The Chooks & sideline sniffing Johns have always been favorites of the NRL crooks. how else does a self confessed drug addict get into the immortals.. how does he provide as a role model?

Then my friend posted this:

I totally agree! Cocaine-Johns & his raper-bro apparently have a Private Pass into David Gallops Office & bonus trails of snow for smoko in there! To think poor ol' Rowdy Shearer was banned for Life from playing footy for drinking & yet Johns was a full-time drug-user & was rewarded by getting into the RL Hall of Fame ? I was also a Superleague believer and notice that the British Superleague is working very well Administratively! Maybe it's time that so-called Rugby League Commission begins to do what it was created to do.... INVESTIGATE the corrupt Gallop & his NRL... I'd like to see Rugby League go back to having the QRL v's the NSWRL like it was back in the day....

:lol: IT'S ALL A NSW CONSPIRACY I TELLS YA!

FMD - Desert Queenslander reckons WE should stop whinging?

The old "Sydney is corrupt and against us" line. From the same people who picked Inglis!

I have a mate of a mate who worked in the ARL archives. He found a series of text messages from 1965 from Jersey Flegg to Kevin Humphreys, and replies. He copied it for me.
Kev, what corrupt thing can u think up against qld this year?

dunno, they got any gun players we can kidnap?

I hear theres a gr8 young centre in redcliffe called beetson. My bff's dad has a truck and an elephant gun, what u doin tomorrow Kev?

lets get him, that will piss the idiots off. He can play for balmain. good idea Jersey.

Hey Kev, how u gunna pay him?

My fb owns a pie shop. sall good.

I reckon I could make a killing in Queensland opening a chain store that sells aluminium foil hats.

Mong

:lol

Have a cry.

Club over origin.

Jason Maher

If it hadn't been for a bunch of Queenslanders sooking, we never would have had State of Origin. So don't knock it! :p

Then again, the same thing led to Superjoke. I suppose 50% isn't a bad strike rate...

:lol

Have a cry.

Club over origin.

Oh no. I have been insulted by someone called Mong! How will I ever cope?

Loudsook and Maher, together at last:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ee925OTFBCA

Nice play - cant refute the allegation, so I'll carry on like a twat.

You KNOW its true. Even Karl agrees -and is embarrassed by it!!!

Guess what - the Sydney Harbour Bridge was made with steel that did not come from Queensland! CONSPIRACY!!!!!!!!!!!

Mong

An insult?

For someone that carries on being a tough keyboard jockey like you do you should realise that isn't an insult..

Have another cry about QLD, it's highly amusing.

Big Pete

I wonder who Bligh was trying so desperately hard to win over?

Worked out well for her in the end though. :lol:

Karl

I don't think she knew what she was thinking - just a stupid emotive bunch of twaddle.

I said it was a memorable moment you dumb, illiterate f**kwit. :lol:
I know what you called it you f*cking clown! You also held it as an example of the type of origin moments that dwarf those from grand finals.

You do know that he also ran out for 2 grand finals, right?

Desert Qlder

All bluster aside, I do not think it is fair to pit two wonderful facets of our game against one another for comparison. As Rugby League fans, it is our blessing that we can appreciate three distinct levels in our game which offer so much passion and excitement.

Certainly not something that can be said of other major football codes in this country. That said, I do not begrudge anyone who prefers one over the other, but there is no need to be disparaging if you are not interested in one.

Representative football has been interwoven into our game from the very early days, as any reader of history will know. It's a tradition that stretches back long before State of Origin. I find that club and representative football compliment each other so well. The striving by players for rep honours often makes them far better club performers, and so in turn their club and its fans will benefit. It is understandable that club fans would get upset at the timing of rep matches, and so finding the balance is always utmost. This will be a key performance indicator for the I.C. for the medium term.

Well said. Cant disagree with much.

As a "club fan" I have no problem with the former timing of rep matches. Whenever we had a big contingent, we coped ok. We have to feed Origin and Test football. The payoff for clubs is experience and confidence in their rep players. Clubs benefit - and I have NEVER heard of a coach playing down a players value to a rep side - bar Bennett and Soward in 2010.