Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What's Sydney's biggest NRL club?

Southernsaint

For a combination of history, fans all over the country, rating well on telly and having the best jumper in the league, Saints simply cannot be beat.

Though, I think Cumberland or Annandale are breathing right down our neck...

JK

Biggest Sydney Clubs

Bulldogs
Tigers
Parramatta
Souths
Saint George

The Bulldogs are rarely topped for jersey sales, exhibit strong crowds with a notable away support, and consistently rank highly in any credible sports survey.

The Tigers are one of the few teams to outsell Bulldogs jerseys in any one year. The combination of Campbelltown, Ashfield and Blamain is hard to top, plus recent success brought pride to a merged club. Not much in it with the Bulldogs.

Parra have fantastic support, a great catchment and strong merchandise sales. 20K averages were 20 years ago but potential is there.

The Souths - St George split was hardest. Crowds aren't always flash, the on field success has been limited, and they both live off the past. Souths pip them imo just.

simon says

On sales......at the Balmain AGM,it was stated that the Wests Tigers sold the most gear/stuff/whatever of all the clubs.

And took the most revenue.

Knightmare

However this doesn't explain the difference in support in SoO & Tests...

Two main reasons:

1) Sydney can get the same amount of NRL games in 2 weeks that Brisbane gets in 2 months. If you want to include the Gold Coast as well, the whole of southern Queensland gets 24 NRL matches a year, not counting semis. Sydney has 8 teams, and it's quite common for fans to go to home and away matches unlike Gold Coast and Brisbane fans who can only see their teams' home games unless the Broncos and Titans are playing eachother. This means the average fan in southern Queensland has more money readily available to spend on Origin/ Test match tickets than a Sydneysider, who might not know until game day whether they can afford to go.

2) Suncorp is a great stadium. There isn't a bad seat in the place. Also the fact it's only 1 train station from the city. In Sydney, the SFS is a train and a bus trip away for many people. In Brisbane, many people go to the NRL night games/ rep matches as part of a night out. In Sydney though- what's there to do in Homebush on a Friday or Saturday night?

Nightward

are you trying to tell me a team like the sharks, who has a catchment area of around 200,000 people, could potentially rival the broncos in terms of support, who have a whole city of more then 2,000,000 and has had over 10 years to the state by themselves?

How long has Cronulla existed, again? More than 20 years? In the self-proclaimed world-wide capitol of League, no less?

In 1988 if the nswrl introduced the East Brisbane Gorillas, the West Brisbane Cougars and the North Brisbane Numats along with the Broncos....do you think the broncos would eb as strong as they are today?

Maybe, maybe not. Assuming everything in your alternate history as far as the Broncos goes reamains the same, they probably wouldn't be too far off.

That, however, is irrelevant. Sydney still has an 80-year advantage over Brisbane as an NRL/NSWRL team.

1) Sydney can get the same amount of NRL games in 2 weeks that Brisbane gets in 2 months. If you want to include the Gold Coast as well, the whole of southern Queensland gets 24 NRL matches a year, not counting semis. Sydney has 8 teams, and it's quite common for fans to go to home and away matches unlike Gold Coast and Brisbane fans who can only see their teams' home games unless the Broncos and Titans are playing eachother. This means the average fan in southern Queensland has more money readily available to spend on Origin/ Test match tickets than a Sydneysider, who might not know until game day whether they can afford to go.

2) Suncorp is a great stadium. There isn't a bad seat in the place. Also the fact it's only 1 train station from the city. In Sydney, the SFS is a train and a bus trip away for many people. In Brisbane, many people go to the NRL night games/ rep matches as part of a night out. In Sydney though- what's there to do in Homebush on a Friday or Saturday night?

I disagree.

For a long time, the Sydney-centric approach to the game resulted in rep matches being taken away from Brisbane. Recently we were given an opportunity to see them again, and the city responded.

As far as Origin goes, it's a Queensland thing. Honestly, if Suncorp had twice as many seats it would still be selling out.

Available money as an argument doesn't really seem like a sensible explanation to me; most people allocate a certain budget for entertainment each week/fortnight/etc and if it's not being spent on footy, it'll be spent on DVDs, books, magazines, computer games, or whatever else.

Ease of transport does help if you want to get a family to Suncorp, but since Origin and Test matches probably aren't dominated by dad-and-two-kids attendees, I'd find it hard to pin it on that, either.

eels_fan_01

This might start are arguement but thats never stopped me from posting before.

The West Tigers had piss poor support before they won the 2005 grand final. Good on them for getting their act together but thats just the facts.

andrew flap

Its a matter of opinion whether or not our supporters are fair weathered - we finished out of the 8 last year yet we've been able to sign up 5000 members before the season kicked off.

If you were to base argument on juniors, then why is Souths in the top 4. They have no juniors. They have an agreement with Souths Juniors to bring players up through SSDRLFC. Yet Souths Juniors is made up of South Sydney, Eastern Suburbs and Newtown Juniors).

We're the oldest surviving club, won the 3rd most amount of premierships, produced the most internationals, won the most games, we are in the money, we've been competitive in every decade bar the 1950's. Seems like one of the biggest imo.

Did I miss something? South Sydney Junior RL comp has many, many teams from South Sydney area and in fact only four from Easts. Clovelly, Bondi Utd, Saints and Paddo- Wol'rah. I think there are three Newtown teams.

How can this be no juniors?

simon says

This might start are arguement but thats never stopped me from posting before.

The West Tigers had piss poor support before they won the 2005 grand final. Good on them for getting their act together but thats just the facts.

I remember differently.......

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

Cronulla. Considering we probably havent had the success of some other clubs our support is amazing. If we won the competition wed have to move to Telstra as you wouldnt be able to fit the whole of the shire into Shark Park.

Hmm i dont recall many Tigers fans around.

2004: 14155
2005: 18789...highest Syd attendance since Parra in 1986...

Mate, trying watching your club miss out on the semis 14 years in a row, merge and continually sign up crap and then tell me that they'd continue to average well. Its normal that crowd support falls away...

eels_fan_01

2004: 14155
2005: 18789...highest Syd attendance since Parra in 1986...

Mate, trying watching your club miss out on the semis 14 years in a row, merge and continually sign up crap and then tell me that they'd continue to average well. Its normal that crowd support falls away...

Oh i know the factors and im not really cristising them im just saying thats how it was.

Before the 2005 season i would never see a Tigers jersey unless it was at the game.

Cronulla. Considering we probably havent had the success of some other clubs our support is amazing. If we won the competition wed have to move to Telstra as you wouldnt be able to fit the whole of the shire into Shark Park.

Yeah but that would require sharks fans to cross the Georges River.

simon says

Oh i know the factors and im not really cristising them im just saying thats how it was.

Before the 2005 season i would never see a Tigers jersey unless it was at the game.

Thats cos we arent bogans and have more than one shirt.

Nice shirt for nightclub.

T for hanging out and shopping.

Footy jumper for footy.

Its easy.:lol::lol::lol:

alien

If Wests Tigers are managed properly they will be the biggest NRL club in Sydney. We have had the largest average home ground crowd and merchandise sales the last 2 years and that was without making the top 8. With success on the field that will increase and so will memberships. We have also got 3 Leagues Clubs (Wests Ashfield, Wests Campbelltown and Balmain Leagues Club) although BLC is looking a little shakey.