Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whats your bench press?

well said meathead... ;)

OK, this is the way I see it:

Grubrunner made an excellent post and deserves to have credit heaped upon him.
Everlovin AntiChrist is more than entitled to his opinion and can continue to do so.
Everyone else can choose to take sides and barrack from the sidelines.
The main players can elevate the argument to any level they choose to as long they don't mess up the carpet.

And anyone else can simply read it and yell 'fight ya bastards!'

Back to lurker mode for me... :)

imported_E_A__

So far up each other I can't tell where one starts and another one ends.
emdgust.gif

* sniff * * sniff *

I smell a clique.

Or is that Fanballerina's Brut33? Maybe the sweat of grunting males in front of the full-length mirror?

Either way, keep it to yourselves.

Of all the people that responded Reservoir, you're the biggest nancy boy, did you go to St. Gregs? Everyone else at least hada go but you hid behind someone else's skirt. You're allowed to try and administer your own "medicine". But you need to be capable so I probably will have to agree with your decision.

Moffo & Willow, you could have said nothing, I reckon I could have dragged this out for months. Think of the postings. ;)

I was baiting Canadian Steve (as you do) and these guys jumped in an beat up on poor defenceless little old me.

It was tag team stupidity, very funny. Let's see if they're stupid enough to keep it going.

Just a question i been wondering for a while, is there any association between Outlaw, BFB, Javaman, Reservoir Dog, Raging Bulldog, Warlock, CM, Grubunner, Atilla etc etc? Do all/any of you guys know each other off the net, or all involved on another discussion board? No offence intended, just curious
I attend Uni with ResDog and Jackal (though he headed back up north last year and doesn't frequent here often) and am good mates with them both outside this forum. I think we have all made that clear in the past and never pretended to be otherwise.I'm a lurker and memberon another sportforum where Cryptic Messenger is a member/manager. I've had email and instant message contact with Vertigo, Javaman and Raging Bulldog in the past on more than a few occassions,but don't know any of them off the net. I've hada couple ofemail contacts with Atilla one time back some time ago,to pass back and forth some info on boxing books when that thread was active. You may remember that.I don't know Outlaw, SpaceMonkey,Warlock orGrubrunner any more or less thananybody elseon this forum. Honest.
Breifly on the Grubrunner issue on this thread. I just saw him pour out a big effort here and acted immediately ATTbased on feelings and emotions. Maybe I was wrong and over the top with my hasty reply to EA, but I just didn't think it was right or fair of him to swing this thread to a mockery and bait shop (singled at one person as he admitted)when up until the time he intervened it was a good serious discussion. People must understand that even though some threads don't get the hits in terms of replies like others do, there are many who are interested in that discussion and like to view from the sidelines rather than participate first hand. An excellent example of that is when Javaman replied. Once a very active memeber here on the boxing boards; I'm sure many would remember.Some threads are an excellent educational tool and very enjoyable even though it maybe between only a handfull of posters. An excellent example of thatis this thread.I just didn't think this was a lighthearted thread,and didn't warrant tongue-in-cheek remarks or obvious mockery and insult. Lord Ted may have made a similar kind of remark earlier on here (and it made me laught ATT), but it was quickly shrugged off by others because it didn't have the personal finger pointing or un-subtleness andmalicethat EA's did.
As for the authenticity of what people claim or not here on this threead,or on any other thread? I don't see what Grubrunner would have had to gain by bullshiting here. This is a sports general forum NOT who's the biggest or baddest MOFO around.But have a look at the length and detail of his post. The guy obviously did some research and posted an informative thread.His size and whatnot was never innitiated by him as far as I've looked back. He first made mention of it on another thread where Ozbash asked a question and he responded (about the barrel over the head thing) based on waht he thought based on his powerlifting backround. He then replied on this thread when Steve said he would like to see what Grubrunner post with his best bench. As Grubrunner stated, he only did so because Steve asked him. I don't see why Steve or Grubrunner should be ridiculed for their comments here.
I know EA doesn't like non footy threads on a predominantly footy board (he said so over at the Footy Show boards on the Restuarant (reply 49) thread), but he forgets that this board likes to discuss a variety of topics and discussions in the footy offseason. Why is that such a bad thing? Hell some of the best threads here or any board,are non footy based talks. This thread was not only about powerlifting but about a number of other things. It had the potenttial to esclade into bigger things. There are many of us here (judging by threads and discussions in the past about similar issues; ala the Nutritionthread) who are interested and have prior experiencein weight training for a variety of reasons, NOT just To look bigger than Mr. Jones next door. To look incredibly buff for the girls/boys (whatever your choice..not that there's anything wrong with that) If there's another one, please let me know. What's so wrong with sharing that info around and reading about other peoples acheivements and involvements?
Anyway, this much typing and thinkingat 2.30AM cannot be healthy.
I'll end by saying this: I apologise for my outburst and comments made to EA. I don't whish him or anyone else to leave on their own merritsor be banned by management.I acted on emotions at the time and know better than that. I also apologise to anyone else who found my comments abusive ro inappropriate. Mostly, I apologise to Grubrunner for helping shift this thread off its original flavour.
Sincerely Broncos-fan-baller
PS- I hope Grubrunner re-analizes things and returns to this discussion. There are still more than a few people interested.

C

CanadianSteve

Yikes-my nice little weight-training thread has exploded. Not that I have to justify the topic, but I saw Grubrunner post on another thread about his weight-lifting experience, and thought it might be interesting to see what those who have done some lifting can bench press. A bit like a previous thread about your "greatest sporting moment" or something like that.

Then the following was posted: "Last time I got into a convo in here, it was called a fable. Seems anything you say is not believed. "-Evilgrowler. I replied: "Funny, I was thinking recently that I assume most people in here are always telling the truth, or at least not misrepresenting themselves. But maybe that doesn't apply if you're from TFS.
;)
I was joking with the part about TFS. No offense intended. Then Evilgrowler replied with an apology: Sorry Steve. I should have chosen my words more carefully. I didn't mean to imply people here don't tell the truth. My apologies if I have offended anybody.

No need to apologize, Evilgrowler. I was just observing that I assume posters here are usually telling the truth, unlike what you hear about other places on the net. You know, older men pretending to be teens on teen chat lines, that kind of thing. Anyway, it was just an observation, I didn't take any offense from Evilgrowler's post, and was just kidding in what I said about TFS.

Then of course, EA comes in with a series of stupid posts. As you can see in this thread and anywhere else he posts, his method is to insult people whether it makes any sense or not. I was glad to see a few LWOS posters jump in against him. It was better around here when he had removed himself for a while, but now he seems to be back, only to stir up stuff and not to contribute positively of course. As with oneye, it's probably better to ignore him so as not to encourage his drivel.

Grubrunner, I echo the replies here that welcome your input on weightlifting, because you obviously have a lot of knowledge and experience. Nothing you said was taken as bragging, except by one idiot.

I think we may need a "Hands Across LWOS" soon... ;)

"We are the world, we are the children
We are the ones who make a brighter day
So let's start giving
There's a choice we're making
We're saving our own lives
It's true we'll make a better day, just you and me..."

imported_E_A__

awwwwww

Aint it cute?

Steve can do the Michael Jackson vocals.

Steve, what you were going to say was more predictable that a oneye cut and paste in a non sport thread. You don't have zero sense of humour, you have a minus. Someone in Canadia (sic) has too much, you need to ask around and find out who it is so you can hit them with a Curling broom until they cough it up. Start withMartin Short, I'm sure you think he's funny.

After everything that was said in this thread, you <u>still</u> took the bait.

Last time I was here you tried a few times and you ended up looking like a dick and it was all your own work. Just be thankful I haven't turned the blow torch on you at TFS. The only reason I haven't is because the whole place would jump in and beat you senseless.

I contribute in more than one thread here Steve and I did before. If you pulled your head out of your own Moose Molesting brown spot for more than two seconds you would know that.

Fanballer, no problem. I take offence at nothing and it was fun.

I'd just like to say that this board tends to be pretty staid and humourless at times. Maybe a few of the longer term members just don't see it. Don't be pissed off at the Applecart being turned over occasionally, go with it, it can be a damn good ride.

To the Manager that deleted my "NRL v Bulldogs 20002" emoticon, you bastard. lol

S

SpaceMonkey

Breifly on the Grubrunner issue on this thread. I just saw him pour out a big effort here and acted immediately ATTbased on feelings and emotions. Maybe I was wrong and over the top with my hasty reply to EA, but I just didn't think it was right or fair of him to swing this thread to a mockery and bait shop (singled at one person as he admitted)when up until the time he intervened it was a good serious discussion. People must understand that even though some threads don't get the hits in terms of replies like others do, there are many who are interested in that discussion and like to view from the sidelines rather than participate first hand. An excellent example of that is when Javaman replied. Once a very active memeber here on the boxing boards; I'm sure many would remember.Some threads are an excellent educational tool and very enjoyable even though it maybe between only a handfull of posters. An excellent example of thatis this thread.I just didn't think this was a lighthearted thread,and didn't warrant tongue-in-cheek remarks or obvious mockery and insult. Lord Ted may have made a similar kind of remark earlier on here (and it made me laught ATT), but it was quickly shrugged off by others because it didn't have the personal finger pointing or un-subtleness andmalicethat EA's did.

Pretty much exactly my sentiments fan-baller. I have no objections to a bit of piss-taking, but the reason I tool issue with EAs comments was that it basically stuffed up a discussion that a few of us were up to that point enjoying. I have nothing personal against EA and for the record never told him to piss off (except from this thread), and as I've said I don't favour banning or deleting people. That said I'm not apologising for what I said either.
El, I have nothing against people jumping into threads with controversial opinions, but I took issue with the way that EA presented his.

imported_E_A__

14 posts in 5 days.

48 posts in 6 days.

Can anyone spot the obvious?

Let's get a couple of things straight.

You don't have to read anything here. It's been pointed out to me by one of the Managers so I know it's true.

It isn't difficult to tell a bait posting from a normal posting. If you have difficulty with finding the difference, you have problems that I am not in a position to assist you with.

I have re-written my original posting because I have no class.

<table border=0 cellpadding=4 cellspacing=0 width="100%"> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%">From: Everlovin' Antichrist</td> <td nowrap>Sent: 5/02/2003 1:02 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table border=0 cellpadding=10 cellspacing=0 class=ThmBgStandard width="100%"> <tbody> <tr> <td> But maybe that doesn't apply if you're from TFS.;)

No, Steven, we misinterpret things because we are a community with a much younger member base that Legend's World of Sport. I apologise profusely if there has been anything that has offended you. As you are Canadian, I am assuming a level of intellect far superior to other nationalities.

This discussion is what communities are all about. The comprehension of the difficulties involved in the lifting of weights is beyond the capacity of most mortal men. To be able to discuss it in a masculine manner and to not lower the tone of the discussion is what we seek to achieve. Lord Ted's input was unwarranted. I recommend everyone ignore him until he has shown us that he has seen the error of his ways. Ill mannered Buffoon.

When does Raging Bulldog return? I wish to discuss Hawking's theories with him.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

EA

With Grubrunners extensive experience, I'm curious on his thoughts on protein powders and creatine.

We as a family have been taking Aussie Bodies Colostrum Muscle Gainer &amp; WPI (whey protein isolate) for the last 3 years. I have also been taking Micronised Creatine Monohydrate (Aussie Bodies) for the same amount of time. Although only in bi monthly stints.

Prices are high, yet I've found a protein product that sells for $25 a kilo. I've asked the store clerk who ensures me it's as good as any other product on the market, yet the gym that sells Aussie Bodies tell me to stay away from the cheap stuff.

Same with the creatine. It's put me in 2 minds. It would save me a lot of money to go to the cheaper alternatives, but are they any good. I don't trust sales men, so I would appreciate your opinion.

C

CanadianSteve

Last time I was here you tried a few times and you ended up looking like a dick and it was all your own work. EA
That's a good trick. Claim you won an argument when you didn't - maybe some will believe it.

Just be thankful I haven't turned the blow torch on you at TFS. The only reason I haven't is because the whole place would jump in and beat you senseless. Actually, after mocking TFS a few months ago, I started to go back occasionally. I have been in a few intelligent discussions lately about union, the NFL, etc, and there are some good posters there like Oracle, Evilgrowler and others.

If you pulled your head out of your own Moose Molesting brown spot for more than two seconds you would know that. A typical EA insult. How do I respond to something so inane? Call him a Kangaroo molester?

If he spoils any more discussions I'llconsider hitting the delete button on his posts, but I'm reluctant to do that seeing as I'm against censorship whenever possible. I'd rathr that forummers like yourself just put the boot into the dickhead element when they get out of line, it keeps the place self regulating that way.:)- Spacemonkey #22
I recommend an approach they used at TFS. A manager there took every post by Chris674, an AFL poster they didn't like, deleted all his posts and moved them into a Chris674 thread. Every new post he tried was moved there, so if you wanted to read his stuff and debate him you had to go to that thread only. If I was a manager here I'd make an EA thread and confine everything he posted to that thread. Of course, ideas like that will probably keep me from ever being made a manager here.:) I will finish with a couple of sayings I borrowed from the "Fave Sayings" thread on TFS (near the "Most Hatered Player" thread): Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience. I probably need to take this advice.

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional. - not posted by EA, but could well be his motto.

imported_E_A__

Last time I was here you tried a few times and you ended up looking like a dick and it was all your own work. EA
That's a good trick. Claim you won an argument when you didn't - maybe some will believe it.

Well, you'd consider it an argument but I didn't. All I did was put the match in your hand. Don't blame me because you like to set yourself on fire. Even now, after many warnings, you continue to return for another serve.

Just be thankful I haven't turned the blow torch on you at TFS. The only reason I haven't is because the whole place would jump in and beat you senseless. Actually, after mocking TFS a few months ago, I started to go back occasionally. I have been in a few intelligent discussions lately about union, the NFL, etc, and there are some good posters there like Oracle, Evilgrowler and others.

They think the world of you too.

If you pulled your head out of your own Moose Molesting brown spot for more than two seconds you would know that. A typical EA insult. How do I respond to something so inane? Call him a Kangaroo molester?

Kangaroo frotter sounds better.

If he spoils any more discussions I'llconsider hitting the delete button on his posts, but I'm reluctant to do that seeing as I'm against censorship whenever possible. I'd rathr that forummers like yourself just put the boot into the dickhead element when they get out of line, it keeps the place self regulating that way.:)- Spacemonkey #22
I recommend an approach they used at TFS. A manager there took every post by Chris674, an AFL poster they didn't like, deleted all his posts and moved them into a Chris674 thread. Every new post he tried was moved there, so if you wanted to read his stuff and debate him you had to go to that thread only. If I was a manager here I'd make an EA thread and confine everything he posted to that thread. Of course, ideas like that will probably keep me from ever being made a manager here. Yeah, do that. lol You're not a Manager for a reason. I will finish with a couple of sayings I borrowed from the "Fave Sayings" thread on TFS (near the "Most Hatered Player" thread): Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience. I probably need to take this advice.

Again, I don't consider this an argument. It's you throttling yourself with my assistance. Growler put this posting back on it's feet, yet you sullied it again. Correct me if I'm wrong but that was exactly what I was accused of.

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional. - not posted by EA, but could well be his motto.

What's wrong with that?

I know your type, the sentence always starts with....

"When I was a boy"

C

CanadianSteve

Growler put this posting back on it's feet, yet you sullied it again. Correct me if I'm wrong but that was exactly what I was accused of.

Hey, you actually made a good point. Please, someone respond to Growler and get this thing going again.

"I think we may need a "Hands Across LWOS" soon... ;)"

LOL...can't a fight be unresolved and continued over here? Damn, us "kids" at TFS need a reason to come here....

Bloody hell, Oneye gets away with blue murder and is embraced by the good folk here at LWOS, while the rest of TFS (the ones that don't hang out at Doodie.com) are having our names taken in vein.

Oh well....

LOL @ this though...watch Outlaw turn like a doorknob

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=4 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%">From: Outlaw</td> <td nowrap>Sent: 5/02/2003 8:12 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table class=ThmBgStandard cellspacing=0 cellpadding=10 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> Well said SpaceMonkey, Fanballer, Javaman (welcome back), and Reservoir Dog.
Nah..Nah..Nah..Nah.. .. .. ..Nah..Nah..Nah..Nah.. .. .. ..Hey-Hey-Hey..Goodbye EA!
<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=4 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%"> From: El Duque</td> <td nowrap> Sent: 5/02/2003 8:17 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table class=ThmBgStandard cellspacing=0 cellpadding=10 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> Fair dinkum if you guys didn't like EA why did it take till now for a few of you to jump in and tell him to piss off?

Pack of bloody Hyena's.

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=4 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%">From: Outlaw</td> <td nowrap>Sent: 5/02/2003 8:21 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table class=ThmBgStandard cellspacing=0 cellpadding=10 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> Hey take it easy El Duque.
emembarrassed.gif

I don't know about the other guys, but, as I said to him in another post a while back, I don't mind him either. He ads some colour and spice to the boards.My post was a tongue in cheek approach.
Give 'em heaps EA! LOL!

:(, Meth

"Bloody hell, Oneye gets away with blue murder and is embraced by the good folk here at LWOS, while the rest of TFS (the ones that don't hang out at Doodie.com) are having our names taken in vein....oh well..."

Turn it up Meth. The problem here is that you are assuming too much.
For a start, we don't even enter into dialog with oneye when 'managing' him.

Take my word for it, Mr Oneye is heavily managed... its just we do it differently.
I don't want to bore you with the detail but oneye is well aware of his limitations... to his credit, he doesnt seem to mind when the choker is applied.

TFS prefers banning, LWOS prefers deletions. IMO, deletions are easier to do because a banned member can just re-emerge with a different nic.... I don't know how many times this section of our policy needs to be explained. I sense that you disapprove of this... sorry mate,that's something I can't help you with.

IMO, by deleting posts, the foummer still has the chance to make worthwhile posts.It seems to work for LWOS.
If TFS wants to ban a forummer then that's your choice... I don't criticiseyour policyfor a moment.

No Willow, I understand.....just stirring. But the issue wasn't Oneye, but rather comments like this <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=4 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td nowrap width="100%">From: Broncos-fan-baller</td> <td nowrap>Sent: 5/02/2003 7:13 PM</td></tr></tbody></table> <table class=ThmBgStandard cellspacing=0 cellpadding=10 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td> Mate why do you have to gee-up andmake a mockery out of just about every post and posterhere since you came?
Why can't you let things be for a change? Are you that much of an attention seeker? <u>Weren't the kids at TFS giving you the time of day anymore?
</u><u>
</U></td></tr></tbody></table>

btw Meth, before anyone sez it, I'm aware that you weren't being deadly serious... just trying to re-direct this undercurrent tomore aridfields.