Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

When do we call time?

Kornstar

You said last night you don’t think BA is the answer. What are the other things in your opinion that have caused us to run last?

I reckon the top 3 in no particular order are:

Coach past his use by date
AFL merkin not physically preparing us properly
A shit, unbalanced squad

I think the coach is past his necessity.

I don’t know how many coaches would have been able to galvanise a club the way he did in 2016 (the arrogant Storm excluded) and then deliver what he did in 2017 and then get f**ked over one more time for 2018 and having vital positions ripped from him.

The last 2 years have proven that you need more than just completions and safe, defensive footy. Last year we won as many close games as we lost this year and made the top 4 last year and will be dead last this year.

“Hang in there” footy is too risky and it is something that BA seems to only know how to coach. His tactics have always seemed lacking to me, always looking for individual brilliance to produce something rather than attacking weaknesses and showing that your tape study is actually effective rather than a formality.

I’m not gonna sit here and rubbish him though, it’s a tough job and he hasn’t had much support in his entire time here so all i can hope is that in the off-season the club does right by him and gets a f**king great attacking mind that actually uses the backline we have and the talent there and also a skills coach that can get Mennings to hold the ball like he used to cause some of his handling this year caused us to get the spoon if looked at in isolation (it was the difference in a few games).

You said last night you don’t think BA is the answer. What are the other things in your opinion that have caused us to run last?

A shit, unbalanced squad
I said that I think he will go. I could be wrong but there are few coaches available at the moment and we may decide to part ways once the season is done.

Your issues are all football related. I think the issues at the club are bigger than the football team itself. Don't forget all of the flow on impacts from the salary cap scandal:

No proper governance arrangements
Temporary Chairman who's KPIs weren't linked to on field performance
Shoestring budget
Ridiculous level of scrutiny on our TPAs (both by the NRL and internally) when compared other clubs
Roles and responsibilities not clear
No Football Manager

I imagine that these are the main things that will come out of the end of season review rather than the more detailed coaching stuff that you are hung up on.

What was the Jack Gibson quote about the front of house?

Kornstar

I said that I think he will go. I could be wrong but there are few coaches available at the moment and we may decide to part ways once the season is done.

Your issues are all football related. I think the issues at the club are bigger than the football team itself. Don't forget all of the flow on impacts from the salary cap scandal:

No proper governance arrangements
Temporary Chairman who's KPIs weren't linked to on field performance
Shoestring budget
Ridiculous level of scrutiny on our TPAs (both by the NRL and internally) when compared other clubs
Roles and responsibilities not clear
No Football Manager

I imagine that these are the main things that will come out of the end of season review rather than the more detailed coaching stuff that you are hung up on.

What was the Jack Gibson quote about the front of house?

I’m pretty sure Jack’s quote was something like “as long as you have a good coach nothing else matters and everything else takes care of itself”.

The time is now. That was an appalling effort last night.
I too think that he will be culled by the end of October, but i have heard a number od merkins in the media say this morning that no team could have stopped that adrenaline charged first half last night.

I think we need fresh eyes. Not sure though.

Gazzamatta

Im probably in a minority but I really thought Parras effort and energy last night was pretty damn good. Some of their try line defence was outstanding. Probably agreeing with BA but our effort has been pretty good in most games (not all for sure).
This being the case, why have the results been so poor? Tactics? Our fitness level now appears to be at NRL level.

Kornstar

Im probably in a minority but I really thought Parras effort and energy last night was pretty damn good. Some of their try line defence was outstanding. Probably agreeing with BA but our effort has been pretty good in most games (not all for sure).
This being the case, why have the results been so poor? Tactics? Our fitness level now appears to be at NRL level.

Watching other teams it is obvious we are not fit enough for the collision sport we play. We also have no explosiveness and cannot do anything at pace.

There is no strength in our defence either, no one dominates the opposition on a consistent basis.

We also are very small and the fact that we don’t make up for that with our fitness, collisions or explosiveness puts us behind in most games. Effort keeps us in the games but just not strong enough in the key areas!

Eelogical

Korny, as you know we are crap all over the park. In essence, you have given an overview of our entire team. Onwards and upwards!

The best thing about this forum is the people calling for us to sign Sutton or Luke are the same people who will be screaming next year when the “old” guys don’t perform.

The same people who whinged that we signed Watmough and Scott.

Stones are thrown so easily......

What have the Cowboys done to replace the “GOAT” next year? They re-signed their coach too.......and they’re one win ahead of us.

We dont need either. Terrible signings. We have made 3 and 3 good ones.

A shit, unbalanced squad

No 1 - Injuries
No 2 - Luck
No 3 - Coach

I think we can challenge for title next season.
I dont see a huge difference between top 4 teams and bottom 4. I see small differences. Look at the raiders the last two games. Look at the Panthers a rabble.
No injuries a bit of luck and players who are out of form hitting form will get us in the top 8 regaurdless of the coach. A better coach may get this team in the top 4.

Roosters looked the hot shots a few weeks back, as did souths and Storm. Bennett was past it a month or so ago also.

So who is the best side in top 8 at moment? Could argue Brisbane

When do we say enough is enough? Is it when it reaches 0-10 or do we wait until the end of the season when we miss the 8? Is the spoon unacceptable and we sack him or is just missing the 8 the threshold?
What if we come last?
I think he is clueless. He relied on Semi and received a great draw in 2017. If we lose another 3 in a row I’d sack him. No other sport in the world would cop 0-5. I’m being nice.

8 April 2018.
Should have sacked him.

#toldyouso
#wastedseason

Welcome back Venge. Now if we can just get Poo back all will be right with the world.
Thank you mate. Took me a while to get over things. I think I'm approaching menopause. I think I will give @Twizzle some unused pads. He still needs them. With all respect to some of my foes (who I have taken off ignore, hey @Dibs). I think the place needs me. @Gary Gutful I can see is still being vulgar and is getting kind of repetitive.