Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where do the players live in Sydney?

eozsmiles

Many people in Sydney have to travel 1-2 hours each way for work, so why should NRL players be any different? Joe has his family and church in the Penrith area which makes it hard to simply move house for a job

Nobody has to travel 1-2 hours to work, unless they choose to get a job and live in a house that are 1-2 hours apart. Footy players are no different but they are lucky that the industry they work in turns plenty of cash and they are the stars of the show.
There is no reason why footy players can't commute like many other people but there is no reason why they should have to if they don't want to and can get a job near home. Kieren Foran is a good example I guess. Probably lives at Freshwater or something and drives 10 minutes to training and 5 minutes to games. An extra $500 a week or so after tax to play for Canterbury gets him another investment property if he wants it but he loses a couple of hours a day sitting in his car. Lucky boy to be in his position.

Joe puts in the miles to get to work each day but I reckon Luke Walsh and Michael Hodgson take the cake. They moved out of the family home to play at Penrith and Canterbury respectively.

Nobody has to travel 1-2 hours to work, unless they choose to get a job and live in a house that are 1-2 hours apart. Footy players are no different but they are lucky that the industry they work in turns plenty of cash and they are the stars of the show.
There is no reason why footy players can't commute like many other people but there is no reason why they should have to if they don't want to and can get a job near home. Kieren Foran is a good example I guess. Probably lives at Freshwater or something and drives 10 minutes to training and 5 minutes to games. An extra $500 a week or so after tax to play for Canterbury gets him another investment property if he wants it but he loses a couple of hours a day sitting in his car. Lucky boy to be in his position.

Joe puts in the miles to get to work each day but I reckon Luke Walsh and Michael Hodgson take the cake. They moved out of the family home to play at Penrith and Canterbury respectively.

Heaps of people work in the city and it takes them 1 hr + each way to get to work.
That is coming from all different parts of Sydney .
People get transferred to different office branches all the time .

They can't just sell up and change the kids schools all the time.
1 hr is nothing in traffic
I do it 4 days a week.

Fire

Saw Dave Taylor at Westfield Miranda today. So there is one player to answer your question. He must live in the Sutherland Shire and drive to Redfern to train.

natheel

I'm pretty sure Mitch rein still lives in kiama

Josh Morris lives up in balmain last I heard

I see Matt copper round shellharbour a bit so I presume he is still there

nqboy

My question was prompted by my trip to Townsville last weekend when mine host commented that a number of the Cowboys live in their suburb (minutes from DFS) and you always see them at the shops etc. I thought that would give a good community feel to the club but then, where else are they going to live I guess? Tsv's not that big.

As I posted, it hit me that the younger flashier blokes and the superstars on the big dollars probably live in the more fashionable areas while the ones just starting out and the journeymen live wherever they can.

Many people in Sydney have to travel 1-2 hours each way for work, so why should NRL players be any different? Joe has his family and church in the Penrith area which makes it hard to simply move house for a job
Fair call for Joe. Without kids and living in the regions, I can't imagine driving in Sydney traffic for an hour or more each way every day for work, or riding the train for a couple of hours each way or taking two busses and a train to get somewhere, I'd neck myself. If my bike ride to or from work takes more than 35 mins, I've had a tough day. On the flipside, driving 350km each way to watch my Cowboys at home doesn't bother me at all.

If you live in Sydney and can afford it, you live in the shire, Northern Beaches or Eastern Suburbs.

Otherwise you live in Hurtsville, Punchbowl, Liverpool, Campelltown, Penrith, Fairfield.
Yeah, that's what I thought of as I posted first up.

Pretty sure the vast majority of the Manly squad live on the Northern Beaches - I've seen alot of them out and about. It's a pretty nice area and a pain in the ass to commute in and out of, so it makes sense they stay there.

It also explains how Manly manages to maintain a good playing roster - players like to live in the area. Also explains why teams like Canberra struggle to retain talent.
Fair call. If I lived in Manly, it's take a bit to get me to move.

My question was prompted by my trip to Townsville last weekend when mine host commented that a number of the Cowboys live in their suburb (minutes from DFS) and you always see them at the shops etc. I thought that would give a good community feel to the club but then, where else are they going to live I guess? Tsv's not that big.

True, but TSV is spread out. You just might run into them more in places like shopping centres because you don't have thousands of options.

I have a feeling Thurston lives somewhere on the coast/Strand area. There are plenty of nice big houses on the hills that are isolated. There is enough space to live not to be noticed but those houses around the stadium are quiet nice, so it is probably easier to walk to training.

Saw Dave Taylor at Westfield Miranda today. So there is one player to answer your question. He must live in the Sutherland Shire and drive to Redfern to train.
Food court level?

Lote lives in Balmain too apparently
Denis Fitzy lives in Meadowbank
John Elias has places at Malabar & Silverwater
Used to see Steve Clark around carlingford a lot

the dude

I've seen Fetuli Talanoa and Asotasi around the hurstville area quite a few times.. Pretty sure they are from around here.

Fieldsguy

07c0f47797abb69b6697b9ab1df23686_resized.jpg

RABK

When i was working as a financial planner on the north shore Joel Caine (former tigers winger) was a colleague of mine and shitloads of NRL and Rugby players were clients of ours or our colleagues. A lot of retired players i saw had corporate jobs in North Sydney too and lived around the area.

I got to know the owner of the surf rock hotel at Collaroy and often had friday and saturday night drinks there and would see a lot of NRL players from all clubs there and i'd see them again at a house party later that night.

I've lived in Bondi, the City and Alexandria and often saw players in cafes, pubs, restaurants etc.

I'd say the majority of rep players live in or around moore park or the northern beaches.

Mr Chook

I saw Andrew Fifita at Miranda RTA a couple of weeks back so I guess he's made the move to the Shire.
I've also seen Brett Kimmorley at Menai shops several times so he's probably a local there.
Ben Hannant was another one that lived in the Menai area when he was at the Dogs. I used to play poker against him nearly every week at the local club.

BunniesMan

Newspaper article the other day says GI lives in Coogee. Coogee is Souths territory. I've never seen GI but I've seen quite a number of NRL players in this area.

Merritt and Adam Reynolds live within walking distance of Redfern oval.

The majority of players would live in the Eastern suburbs, northern beaches or the North West mcmansion region of Kellyville,Castle Hill etc.

The stars would most lively in the northern/eastern burbs.

The 'middle class' would live in the NW, Shire etc.

I was going to bite and suggest you are a Moron, but I thought better of it. I will leave that to others because I don't want to come across as unkind to simpletons.