Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where was Peachey?

newman

Surely our greatest "clubman" is Dr Peter Malouf? Hes given the club service since the start, and hes still doing it despite the fact that hes forty thousand years old.

I hear what your saying reefy. ET was one protected species, and many believed that he lasted so long cause he hardly ever got tackled. I can remember dudes yelling from the hill every time he got the ball "Dont touch his face! Dont tackle him! Youll hurt him!"

millersnose

peachey had a great game in attack

he even made a try saving tackle which broke a drought for him

consistancy is the key

Peachey's try off Kimmorley's kick was a wee bloody ripper.

His involvement in Bailey's, and Simmo's tries was silky smooth peachy skill, and class.

LONG LIVE THE PEACH

Surely our greatest "clubman" is Dr Peter Malouf? Hes given the club service since the start, and hes still doing it despite the fact that hes forty thousand years old.

Very true.

large portions of humble pie followed by a solid round of triples for every goose that wanted peach dropped / voted him off survivor.

far out :roll: can anybody spell fickle ?

If he can play like that every week I'll be massively pleased. Consistency is the key though - I don't want to see anymore shockers from him.

TrainWreck

It's a 2 edged sword I reckon

There seems to be no grey areas with Peachey. He's either on or he's not and he's certainly been off more than he has been on this year, but off to the point of humiliating him by dropping him? Probably not.

Have a look at how the ACB sticks by the cricketers that are out of form. They certainly don't throw the baby out with the bathwater and nor should the Sharks.

I'd prefer if he were on 100% of the time as well but it's not realistic. If it gets to the point where he is so bad he's a liability to the team then I'd prefer he was given time out rather than dropped. "Have a week off Peach, we'll use the game to blood XXXXX or whoever." I wouldn't drop him to the seconds ever.

The man is a champ and should be given the privileges and allowances a champ deserves, but he's also a player and none are above criticism so I don't think calling fans fickle is fair as they have a right to criticise anyone wearing the colours. Besides, he won't be here forever and I think a large part of the criticism comes about from worrying who is next in the Sharks Number 1 as much as it is a part of the built in impatience of footy fans to be on a winner.

TrainWreck

Sorry for writing again I didn't want to put too much in one posting

McSharkie, you said "who will the fickle fans want dropped next week?"

No one I suspect but that'd be wrong too in my opinion but I wouldn't see it as dropping anyone but picking the players for the job specifically for the opposition.

I can't see Gallen matching it with Freddie for one thing so I think there will be a change there. Freddie will do bosanova, a tango and a 3 minute waltz around Galls I reckon.

I do think it is fickle to want a player like David Peachey dropped. A ten season veteran of the club that has had some ordinary performances along with some outstanding performances.

Do you think it is a coincidence that the sharks win when he plays well? He is insprational.

Haha, rightio, why dont you make a Malouf banner then?

SirShire

ShireShark said:

Haha, rightio, why dont you make a Malouf banner then?

:lol: :lol:

fatshark

Well Peach is my favourite player and to watch him have shockers is hard. But he seems to be one of those players and at this point of his career if the concentration levels arent up to scratch he will have real shockers. I still think he has a few seasons left in him and maybe switching him to 5/8 may fix a few things. :shock: