Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where was Peachey?

Surely

Et#1_supporter said:
PEACHEY IS A LIABILITY
WAKE UP TO YOURSELF

I'm a sharks supporter through and through but saying "peachey's done it for us in the past" doesnt quite cut it.

He's a joke of a fullback, has been for past 1.5 seasons. I know all u "true" sharks fans will be horrified by the thought, but peachey needs time in the lower grades, or even away from footy. He HAS either lost his passion for the game or is past his used by date, one of the two.

And all u saying we cant drop peachey cause "when peachey fires, we cant lose" ARE f***ed.
he might fire once in a while and we win, but 5 times in between that he'll f**k up and cost us a game.

im not a fickle fan, im just tellin like it is. Wake up to urselves. if u cant see peachey is a liability ure either a f***in idiot or u watch the game with ure eyes closed

Maybe u should check statistics and see how many games we win when peach is out !

If the rest of the side stopped missing tackles then we would not be having this discussion.

The past 1.5 seasons we have had a f***ed team basically , you can't expect the fullback to cover every missed tackle a side makes.

bull shark

So far this year Peach has made at least 3 absolutely brilliant try-saving ball-and-all tackles on guys that had made clean breaks. He didn't make one last Saturday. So you want to drop him?

I reckon Peach gets singled out because he's so good so much of the time that when he has a form slump it's really obvious. Last Saturday, he was ordinary in an ordinary team. Where was the front-line defence? Why aren't you criticising the whole forward pack who laid down all that red carpet up the middle?

We've seen flashes of his best over the last few weeks, but maybe he's not ever again going to be brilliant week after week, maybe from now on it'll only be in flashes. I still reckon that Peach at 90% is one of the best fullbacks in the game - cause Peach at 100% is just unbelievable.

When he's the worst player on the field, that's when it's time to consider dropping him - and I don't think I've seen that.

I don't agree. The time to drop him is when we have a better fullback to replace him with. Simmons and Merritt haven't had much of a chance to show off their stuff at fullback, and have each had a few shockers in the lower grades. Therefore - its not time to drop Peach yet.

Sometimes there are more important things than form in a club:

Stability, morale, LOYALTY, faith, committment.

Positive Passion. From players and supporters.

Agree or disagree.

Disagree, but here's my reasoning.

If you don't reward form players with spots in the team, it breeds a lack of morale, it breeds a lack of stability. Pick favourites and those overlooked will crack the shits and bring down team spirit. Peach still deserves his spot, but only because there's nobody better at the moment. Everyone should be playing for their position, not just those who are on the fringes.

DJDL

That's about the size of it Garbo. But Peach really needs to lift his game for mine.

Just have a look at the rep teams which have been selected this year.
Mini ahead of him for Aust. Wesser and Schifcofske mentioned as possibles before him. No chance of Country selection.

I dare say Brett Hodgson would pull on a Blues jersey before him. Then you've got Lockyer. Billy Slater, while prone to the occasional glaring error, is a far better proposition. Ben Hornby ran rings around him the other night. Then you can throw in Karmichael Hunt, Matt Bowen and Luke Patten.

So a couple of years ago we were crying foul when he wasn't selected.
This year I say, looking at that list, he is ranked about 11th in the NRL.

BeenThere

Don Juan de Lotto said:
That's about the size of it Garbo. But Peach really needs to lift his game for mine.

Just have a look at the rep teams which have been selected this year.
Mini ahead of him for Aust. Wesser and Schifcofske mentioned as possibles before him. No chance of Country selection.

I dare say Brett Hodgson would pull on a Blues jersey before him. Then you've got Lockyer. Billy Slater, while prone to the occasional glaring error, is a far better proposition. Ben Hornby ran rings around him the other night. Then you can throw in Karmichael Hunt, Matt Bowen and Luke Patten.

So a couple of years ago we were crying foul when he wasn't selected.
This year I say, looking at that list, he is ranked about 11th in the NRL.

Representative selection for most players depends on the team doing well -- the team has not been playing well so it would be difficult for any Shark to be selected.

Generalzod

++ Gregos v.4 said:
Sometimes there are more important things than form in a club:

Stability, morale, LOYALTY, faith, committment.

Positive Passion. From players and supporters.

Agree or disagree.

I have lost my Faith!!!!!

SirShire

Personal preference. ET was a legend, but IMHO I reckon the Peach is our greatest ever clubman.

SirShire

Because I never saw all that much of ET, not even at all in the earlier parts of his career at Sharks. I've seen the Peach at the Sharks for a long time, its just a matter of personal preference of myself.

TrainWreck

I don't suppose most people like him but we have an established replacement in Matt Seers. He was always a very incisive runner from broken play and dummy half.

Seers has shown he can do it. Don't worry too much about his ordinary play in Premier League because that whole side has been ordinary. I'm sure Rogers didn't bring Seers to the club for no reason.

I agree with what people are saying about Merrit and Simmons in that they aren't ready or haven't shown they can do it. But just as ET had to be tried, as a 17 year old, these two need to be tried sooner or later as well. Remember ET was a failure at first.

Because I never saw all that much of ET

A massive shame. Find yourself some tapes - even from 2000. I recommend the 2000 game where we defeated St George Illa 40-10 at home. Some vintage ET on display that arvo.

1997 SL semi against Canberra is another beauty. If anyone has any of these tapes and can make a copy or send an original, I'd be massively appreciative. I'd love to get some classic ET on the Den.

b_shark

There was one season in Peach's career where he was having a bit of a shocker - the whole of Shark Park seemed to hold its breath when he had the ball because he always seemed to drop it or do something stupid (can't remember the year - maybe 98) - I remember reading an article where he admitted that he was having a shocker year and that JL pulled him aside and said that he had to step up to the plate or he was going back to the reggies - for about the next 4 years he was consistently one of our best players.

In terms of fickle fans - there was a woman behind me on the concourse at the Cowboys game absolutely passionately putting the boot in to him - very sad to see.

As for best ever clubmen - ET and Healey - legends - followed by Treister - more passion in those three than the whole current team

On clubmen: I'm personally of the belief that ET is the best clubman of all time, not just for Cronulla, but for Australian rugby league. Not only did he play here for 18 year - he's the only player ever to have played 300+ games for a single club. On top of all that, it was with a club which at times was going horrendously and yet he never took the easy option and jumped ship to grab a premiership.