Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where Were You?

W.B.2.S.O.S

Was there, shocked and awed by the amount of bandwagon Tigers support. Should have won that comp easily...

I fear another fairytale end this year for either the Scum or the Dogs

Why were you shocked? It was 75% saints fans 25% Wests.

I admit though the bandwagon element did emerge, I saw fans at those last few games in 05 wearing shirts I hadnt seen since the 01 & 02 seasons, the faint smell of mothballs seemed prevalent too.

I was there, you'd think for a Wests fan it'd rate 2nd to the game the following week that year, but this game is right up there, never been to a game in nearly 40 years of watching footy with atmosphere like that...unbelievable.

I was quietly confident, I even made a special sign for after the game....it read: "Grand final tickets required urgently!"

Bring on Fri....'05 was a long time ago.

I was at the game too. I'll never forget it. The noise and atmosphere were unbelievable. I'd never experienced that kind of atmosphere previously or since.

Walking out of the ground after the loss was one of the worst feelings, with all the Tigers supporters asking if we had GF tickets we wanted to sell to them.

I hope I never have to go through something like that again.

Hey mate ....one was probably me. :lol:

The stupid thing is that some WT supporters remember beating Saints in the preliminary final, but struggle recalling the actual grand final.

I spoke to one WT supporter a few months ago and he was trying rib me about the 2005 game. I asked him to tell me what his favourite memories were about the grand final... and he paused. I had to tell him it was against the Cowboys.

He said, "Oh yeah... I remember now...."

lol

The stupid thing is that some WT supporters remember beating Saints in the preliminary final, but struggle recalling the actual grand final.

I spoke to one WT supporter a few months ago and he was trying rib me about the 2005 game. I asked him to tell me what his favourite memories were about the grand final... and he paused. I had to tell him it was against the Cowboys.

He said, "Oh yeah... I remember now...."

lol

:^o

Ive yet to meet a Wests Tigers fan thats struggled to recall the grand final.

RedVGooner

i remember that game because i was there, the scene for the stadium was amazing with all red and whites but i was so devastated after the game, the tigers game hurt as much as the 99 grand final but hopefully we can beat them this week

Godz Illa

At the game. Remember on the walk back to Anzac Pde afterwards, looking up into those giant fig trees, trying to find a solid branch to hang myself from. Very emo

:^o

Ive yet to meet a Wests Tigers fan thats struggled to recall the grand final.

Oh... so you know all WT supporters now?

I see your :^o and raise it by a
wanker.gif

Before the internet, when someone called someone else a liar, they had to back it up with something more than a keyboard. Wanker.

brendothejet

lol.

good to see this game still gets some emotion out of the fans.

my dads a wests fan, as is my girlfriends mum.

farkin tigers. Grrrr.

should be a top night but. Payday thursday, 5 day weekend starting friday.

Booooo yeah!

At the game. My girlfriend at the time got me tickets as a surprise which was really nice... but bought tickets in the Tigers supporters bay without knowing. I was sitting in the middle with my Dragons jersey on expecting a Dragons win. Some Tigers fans gave me a bit when they felt they had it in the bag but I didn't pay much notice, I felt numb anyway. I really thought we had a side that could go all the way that year.

R&WTILLIDIE

At the St George leagues club watching a table of about 5 dumbass Tigers supporters celebrating and giving it to the 100 or so Dragons supporters in the room. One of the most dissappointing losses I've ever seen. Why are we talking about it again?