Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which big name recruit will be the biggest flop in 2013

Biggest recruit flop in 2013

• Anasta

Votes: 31 21.5%
  • Lewis

Votes: 6 4.2%
  • Prince

Votes: 17 11.8%
  • M.Gordan

Votes: 5 3.5%
  • Taylor

Votes: 16 11.1%
  • SBW

Votes: 38 26.4%
  • T.Willams

Votes: 21 14.6%
  • Jennings

Votes: 10 6.9%

rabbitohs95

Taylor or Williams, or even both.

It's just that they can be so lazy at times and as big signings that will be relied on i feel like they really need a kick up the arse to be consistent.

2012....Sharks Year

David Smith?
Gotta agree miller..... can't understand why the league would persue someone who has absolutely no idea about the game. Think his gaf about Cameron Smith is just the start. Notice he mentioned Ben Barba and Gal in his latest interview to throw the press off the scent. Obviously a smart guy just clueless about footy.

Joker's Wild

No farkin idea either lol.

SE - no Dragons side has taken the spoon since 1938. When was your mob's last one again? Even in the dark days of the late 80's and early 90's were we nowhere near it, and anyone with an ounce of RL knowledge (bias aside) can see we have a better rounded squad than last year. Not saying we will win it, but I'm quietly confident we can make the 8 barring injury to a number key players.

Youre kidding yourself mate. Im not saying they are spooners but the Dragons are gonna struggle in 2013. They have lost too much experience and have too much green in key positions

DIMEAST

Maloney missed the most tackles in the NRL last year..... pretty sure he'll be floppin all over the show this year

Now that Sheens has gone and Braith isn't playing halfback,I think he will go well at 13.

Minotaur

To protect my integrity though, I will throw in a disclaimer that any of the players I name may or may not do well in their respective new teams, but for the argument of who I think will not live up to expectations for their new teams:

Dave Taylor: Dave Taylor will look like a superstar once in every ten games, the rest he just drops balls, misses tackles and is generally nowhere to be see.

SBW: The legend of SBW is that he left the doggies (can you blame him) at the peak of his powers, several years on, he will be a little older, slower, and indoctrinated into the disease of a game union. He will have his moments, but will not live up to the price tag on him.

Ricky Stuart: Besides one good year at the roosters, what joy has Ricky brought to the table for the rest of his time - he was booted from the roosters, booted from the sharks, no series wins for NSW...........need I say more.

Chris Heinington: 3 years ago he would of been a good buy, but after the last few years, he probably should of gone to the retirement factory in England. Why oh why does he always run back into the markers? Surely after years of metre less runs, he would realise that there is no metres to be made running back into the markers.

James Maloney: Hand on heart, can you really look at him and say he is a good player. One decent year on the back of lucky Warriors GF appearance a couple of years ago, besides that, is he really any better then reserve grade quality???

Lambretta

The biggest name signings are as follows

Christopher Heighington (Tigers)
Michael Lett (Illawarra Cutters, mid-season)
Mitchell Bucket (Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles)
Sonny Bill Williams (Rugby Union)

Anyone who gives their child the surname Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles and puts brackets around them deserves to be shot, so I reckon that guy is a flop before he even starts. Plus he's got the biggest name, so he gets my vote.

@MarTiger

As has been stated, "big name" needs defining for me. That said, I will nominate Dave Taylor who is yet another questionable recruiting decision made by John Cartwright. Taylor will serve people like me up some humble pie on occasion though overall, he remains inconsistent and at times a liability. Love him when he is "on" though to live up to his "star" billing, he needs more consistency.

NAS

On the theory that Melbourne forwards tend to struggle when they leave Melbourne, I think that Sika Manu may be a player who might not find his rhythm this year.

GB!

tony williams - he has no heart, took up way too much cash, has a bad back now and is generally lazy and doesn't put in for his mates...

nqcowboy87

how anasta and saw can be neck and neck is beyond me, anastais not that bad, $bw however is a complete tool who i hope whimpers back to union

Taylor, Prince and T-Rex in that order.

I reckon Anasta will go ok if they play him at lock/second row.

Of the Roosters recruit Maloney is the biggest wildcard imo. Most likely to fail to reach expectations and in the most scapegoat-able position on the field. He's no Carney.