Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which team should relocate to western austrlia?

Pommy

One of the answers is,to get the NRL to propagate touch or 9s rugby league in the Private schools.Less chance of injury.

Many years ago when Moffatt was running the NRL.I use the term" running " lightly BTW,I asked him by phone on 2UE in a sport's show why the code has not pushed rl in the GPS and associated schools.His lame response"It's too hard."

If it's bleeding good enough to be able to play rl at Sydney, Oxford and Cambridge universities,what makes these Private schools so unique IMO.

That's why it is so important for the NRL to go on the attack at grassroots level, with more money to push their cause.The NRL players need to be informed of the need to do so, else fumbleball will end up like Maccas, on every street corner.

Do you really think funbleball would get a bigger hold than association football? In Sydney and QLD.
I don't think league is going to die out but "if" it was to be replaced I'm not sure it would be by afl.

taipan

Do you really think funbleball would get a bigger hold than association football? In Sydney and QLD.
I don't think league is going to die out but "if" it was to be replaced I'm not sure it would be by afl.

No I don't, having a Maccas on each street corner ,doesn't mean healthy people want to buy them.
The facts are the fumblers are in the elite private schools .we "ain't" and we should be.
Soccer junior numbers have and always will be huge.No real effect on the NRL.

In fact I'm optimistic about the code, once it gets its sh*t together ,flogs Titans and Knights ,spends on grassroots,gets the scheduling in some sort of order,gets the stadiums done, and yes expands.Then we can, stick it up the fumblers and soccer.

Stallion

Completely agree with Taipan. Good to see this forum is starting to articulate the real issues. The overall exclusion of rugby league in most private schools and the relative flow on damage(which is massive for such a potentially great sports code) that it creates.

Stallion

Just another note .

I don't think rugby league attacks its rival codes very well.

Their are many flaws which are not highlighted when in code comparison discussions. Granted you can refer to "AFL" as "fumble ball"(which it is) but it is actually a "training run" that was created by cricketers in Victoria that wanted to do some training to keep fit during the off season. Not many people are aware of this and the AFL people do not mention this little known fact. I regard AFL as the "training run" .
The "training run" is a much more accurate and descriptive term that puts that code(AFL) in its place.

My word they(AFL marketers) have done a great job in perpetuating the myth that their code is "tough". Cheap shots are not 'tough' they are cheap!

Rugby league does not require cheap shots to be regarded as "tough" The game of RL in itself is absolutely tough! In the school age level Mums are pushing their kids to AFL as the perception that is "regarded as "tough" is enough for these mothers to get them off the genuine physical test of rugby league. The kids believe the myth and the Mum puts their kid in the "wimp" zone with the kid not realizing they are playing something that is way down the list compared to rugby league for physical toughness and intensity which leads to an increased self confidence! Rugby league is the great football code team test of physical commitment and a great way to gain self confidence in a team environment. The physical contact in rugby league is unrivalled by any other football code!

This is a strength and virtue of the game! Something not really stressed anywhere near enough by development people selling this great game to date!

T-Boon

The facts are the fumblers are in the elite private schools .we "ain't" and we should be.
Soccer junior numbers have and always will be huge.No real effect on the NRL.

The reason League is not in elite private schools is they just see us as a slight variation, a slightly dumbed down version of the game the already play...Rugby Union. If we changed the name and evolved the rules enough (such as get rid of scrums) they would likely see it as the different sport that we are.

Stallion

The reason League is not in elite private schools is they just see us as a slight variation, a slightly dumbed down version of the game the already play...Rugby Union. If we changed the name and evolved the rules enough (such as get rid of scrums) they would likely see it as the different sport that we are.

So why does rugby league have more players in public schools in NSW & QLD? I think the real reason is ideological based on a bias against the code of rugby league. I would suggest that rugby league is the much improved version of rugby and this is something that the bigots backing rugby union have had real issues coming to accept. Instead, they do their level best to repress a superior and much more entertaining rugby code in rugby league!

The private, and for that matter, all schooling in other countries (eg :No schools: public or private are allowed to play rugby league in NZ outside of Auckland) around the world show this entrenched "establishment based" bias that stifles rugby league's natural progress as a superior code of football.

The same field dimensions would suggest that rugby league should be accepted with open arms into such schools but we have a private scholastic system that favors RU despite it not being the most popular rugby code in Australia. Remembering that RU already has access to the public schools.

Imagine if rugby league was to be accepted in all schools(just like RU & other codes) then you would see an exponential growth in this code like no other!

BTW I suggest that this discourse should be in a "Development " discussion and not under this relocation topic name. Perhaps the moderator or someone may be able to give this discourse its own relevant name as it is hidden in this subject heading and won't be read or appreciated as much.

Te Kaha

[QUOTE="Stallion, post: 12321359, member: 47114]
The private, and for that matter, all schooling in other countries (eg :No schools: public or private are allowed to play rugby league in NZ outside of Auckland)[/QUOTE]

You know that is a complete lie, its not even a mistake, its just an out and out lie. LJC\Stallion, you need some new material, just posting lies is not a good way to promote League.

Stallion

[QUOTE="Stallion, post: 12321359, member: 47114]
The private, and for that matter, all schooling in other countries (eg :No schools: public or private are allowed to play rugby league in NZ outside of Auckland)

You know that is a complete lie, its not even a mistake, its just an out and out lie. LJC\Stallion, you need some new material, just posting lies is not a good way to promote League.[/QUOTE]

Has it changed Te wanker? Please inform and il gladly think otherwise.

Stallion

You know that is a complete lie, its not even a mistake, its just an out and out lie. LJC\Stallion, you need some new material, just posting lies is not a good way to promote League.

Has it changed Te wanker? Please inform and il gladly think otherwise.[/QUOTE]

Te wanker.Just googled rugby league in NZ schools and could only find Auckland Academy! So far the research backs it up? Please inform if you have information about rugby league being played in schools outside of Auckland.

Te Kaha

Has it changed Te wanker? Please inform and il gladly think otherwise.
Te wanker.Just googled rugby league in NZ schools and could only find Auckland Academy! So far the research backs it up? Please inform if you have information about rugby league being played in schools outside of Auckland.
[

That's all you are capable of "google"????? you really are stupid .. why didn't you simply look at the bio's of current NZ players.. you know like say Simon Mannering who played for Nelson College, don't think that's in Auckland. He was even coached by former member of LU, but of course that doesn't fit into your ill informed narrative.

There has not been a ban you idiot, just because you aren't bright enough to do proper research doesn't mean you can always post your lies.

Stallion

[

That's all you are capable of "google"????? you really are stupid .. why didn't you simply look at the bio's of current NZ players.. you know like say Simon Mannering who played for Nelson College, don't think that's in Auckland. He was even coached by former member of LU, but of course that doesn't fit into your ill informed narrative.

There has not been a ban you idiot, just because you aren't bright enough to do proper research doesn't mean you can always post your lies.

Te wanker. Nelson college played rugby league? I recall Mannering stating he could only play rugby league on weekends as it wasn't played at school?

Te Kaha

Te wanker. Nelson college played rugby league? I recall Mannering stating he could only play rugby league on weekends as it wasn't played at school?
As usual, you recall wrong. They played League until there wasn't enough interest to continue.

You really need to learn to do proper research... in the northern wellington city of Porirua the three main public secondary schools, Aotea, Porirua and Mana Colleges have all fielded recent League teams, but it is sporadic due to the lack of interest and a relatively much stronger League club scene.

But again.. that doesn't fit into your narrative of baseless lies... so you go off on your own tangent as usual.

Stallion

As usual, you recall wrong. They played League until there wasn't enough interest to continue.

You really need to learn to do proper research... in the northern wellington city of Porirua the three main public secondary schools, Aotea, Porirua and Mana Colleges have all fielded recent League teams, but it is sporadic due to the lack of interest and a relatively much stronger League club scene.

But again.. that doesn't fit into your narrative of baseless lies... so you go off on your own tangent as usual.

Its heartening that they play even though its sporadically. So it doesn't seem to be strong? In Auckland its strong. So u are stating they have a sporadic competition. Hardly the same as in Auckland? So i would suggest that with a bit of give and take that Auckland has a strong schoolboy set up and outside of Auckland is not so?

Te Kaha

Its heartening that they play even though its sporadically. So it doesn't seem to be strong? In Auckland its strong. So u are stating they have a sporadic competition. Hardly the same as in Auckland? So i would suggest that with a bit of give and take that Auckland has a strong schoolboy set up and outside of Auckland is not so?
Its not strong, but the reason is more to do with the lack of interest and funding and the fact that the NZRU puts so much money into the secondary school system.. Even Auckland isn't that strong with the bulk of players coming form half a dozen traditionally League schools.

So perhaps instead of making shit up you should do your research before lying.,

Stallion

Its not strong, but the reason is more to do with the lack of interest and funding and the fact that the NZRU puts so much money into the secondary school system.. Even Auckland isn't that strong with the bulk of players coming form half a dozen traditionally League schools.

So perhaps instead of making shit up you should do your research before lying.,

Stallion

I would suggest that outside of Auckland rugby league is poorly backed. Schools will back a sport if they want to. The entrenched conservative attitude against rugby league would be a major reason for rl not being given a real go in most of NZ.

Te Kaha

I would suggest that outside of Auckland rugby league is poorly backed. Schools will back a sport if they want to. The entrenched conservative attitude against rugby league would be a major reason for rl not being given a real go in most of NZ.

You really truly don't have a single clue. Schools will back a sport if thy have both student interest and the funding to do so. Most schools do not. Its that simple.

You fail to see through your myopic eyes that League just isn't as appealing to everyone as you think it is.

It is not an "entrenched conservative attitude against rugby league" it is simply that League just isn't that popular. I know that its hard for you to understand, but that's just the way it is.

There is next to know league on free to air tv and its presence isn't wide spread enough to maintain any long term interest. Rugby on the other hand is everywhere here, and its extremely well cashed up... its hardly surprising that's the state of things.

Stallion

You really truly don't have a single clue. Schools will back a sport if thy have both student interest and the funding to do so. Most schools do not. Its that simple.

You fail to see through your myopic eyes that League just isn't as appealing to everyone as you think it is.

It is not an "entrenched conservative attitude against rugby league" it is simply that League just isn't that popular. I know that its hard for you to understand, but that's just the way it is.

There is next to know league on free to air tv and its presence isn't wide spread enough to maintain any long term interest. Rugby on the other hand is everywhere here, and its extremely well cashed up... its hardly surprising that's the state of things.
Te wanker . You confirm that someone like you should not be on this rugby league website. But you are! A genuine Te wanker. Go strut your crappy attitude on a Rugby union website.