Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which teams are flying under the radar?

Silent Knight

I'd say the Cowboys are the team flying under the radar. I haven't really seen them get talked up that much over the off-season. In fact I can't ever recall the media talking up the Cowboys here in SE QLD, it's always about the Broncos. Of course it would be different further up north. The Cowboys are the Robert to the Broncos Raymond.

The Cowboys will emerge as the dominant Queensland team this year. No more little brother, the tide has turned. They will be back with a vengeance after their inglorious exit from last year's final series. Thurston will be hungry. They will go further. They will carpe diem.

netic

Cowboys for mine are definately the team under tha radar...

Solid squad with a good mixture of experience and youth....

The panthers are flying under the radar, if people didn't have the roosters they had the panthers for the spoon. Though if you have ANY clue about nrl and footy you would rank roosters well below any other club. 2 spoons in 4 years coming for them this year.

This thread isn’t about the wooden spoon you imbecile.

Dogs

New coach

5 of their first 7 away.

And no idris, roberts, ryan, paea, millington, warburton,

extra graham and ennis back healthy fired up with the (C)

You need comprehension lessons.

The dogs have been one of the most hyped teams in the offseason.

Good to see everyone has read the Almanac and are getting a woody for the Cowpats and Dragons.

Good also to see that Manly, Brisbane, Melbourne, Penrith, Saints, Parra, Cowpats, Canterbury, Canberra and Souffs are all under the radar.

I'd be getting the bloody radar repaired!

Ronnie Dobbs

Well said. Hatred built on a healthy respect is good.

The only 2 teams that have unquestionably had the wood on Manly since 1947 are St George and St Merge. Not sure why but they just always seem to do well whether at Brookie or elsewhere. Thankfully there are a few highlights in a long list of games to forget including bringing Gasnier to tears after belting St Merge on the way to the 2008 premiership and also 61-0 in 1994. It's been slim pickings though over the years.

My best mate is an Eagles fan. Its great, great fun. He's been relatively quiet over the years, apart from the 1994 incident at Brookie you mention,( but THE COMEBACK in 04 was sweet revenge on the 10th anniversay) the 96 GF and the 2008 semi.

He always had a laugh at he fact we'd both lost more GF's during the Winfield Cup (3 each) era than anyone, but at least you'd managed to jag one as well. With Vautin as captain no less.

He hammered me with excuses after we beat you at Kogarah and then hammered me with texts in 2010, until he went silent with 20 to go in the GF and then a "No more chokey chokey this year. f**k it! Who can I give shit to now. C%$#S!"

My reply was "Souffs". He agreed.

After last years thrashing at WIN I bombarded him with the pretenders call. Saying we were the best defensive unit of the modern era. Better than Manly 95-97. Easily. We're going B2B. Easily. Best team since Canberra. Easily.

He's been a real pain in the arse this summer. f**k it.

Apart from that, funnily enough, your best record against us the Northern Eagles days. Didn't matter how bad you were travelling, you'd get us.

f**k I love Rugby League.

Blow that whistle ref.
Send that ball soaring.

Blow. That. Whistle. Ref.

super_coach

Sharks for me, for years they have battled along on guts and grit but have lacked skill and the ability to attack. Alfred G Newman (Todd Carney) will make a hell of a difference. May lack the class to win the GF but I see them running top 8 and who knows from their.

Manly and St George have been written off by plenty, they could put egg on a few peoples faces

grouch

Cronulla have been under the radar this off season. Despite signing Carney, they've only had one player plead guilty to assaulting his heavily pregnant girlfriend and copping an 18 month good behaviour bond! Slow news summer

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...-pleads-guilty-to-assault-20120125-1qgol.html

NRL player Isaac Gordon pleads guilty to assault

January 25, 2012 - 11:54AM

AAP
Cronulla Sharks player Isaac Gordon has pleaded guilty to assaulting his former girlfriend, who was seven months pregnant at the time.
Gordon appeared at Sutherland Local Court on Wednesday and agreed to the plea in exchange for the Crown withdrawing a more serious charge of assault occasioning actual bodily harm.
The 25-year-old, wearing a dark suit and white shirt, was also handed a 12-month apprehended violence order (AVO).

The court heard that Gordon returned home after a booze-fuelled night and became involved in a confrontation with Karen Lee Davison, who has since given birth to their child.
A request by Gordon's legal counsel that the magistrate not record a conviction for the common assault was denied.
Gordon was given an 18-month good behaviour bond

firechild

My best mate is an Eagles fan. Its great, great fun. He's been relatively quiet over the years, apart from the 1994 incident at Brookie you mention,( but THE COMEBACK in 04 was sweet revenge on the 10th anniversay) the 96 GF and the 2008 semi.

I had a mate that was an Illawarra fan and he used to gloat about the famous comeback by the Steelers in about '91 when they scored in the dying seconds at Brookie to win. I had the last laugh when we were sitting on the hill at Brookie in 2008 for the end of the Dragons' season. Giving it to your mates when your team beats theirs is one of the greatest parts about being a rugby league fan.

Stinkler

No club has really been in the news. It's all very quiet.

It's all ready to explode, and I can't wait!

Silent Knight

Seems to be a lot of people who don't know what flying under the radar means

Oh I get it now we were all supposed to vote for Souffs as the team flying under the radar. After all this is the first pre-season in living memory where a Souffs player or fan hasn't come out and said...
  • We've got Greg Inglis...the premiership is ours.
  • It's the Chinese Year of the Rabbit...fortune smiles upon us.
  • We have the best forward pack in the NRL because we beefed up with Ham Burgess.
  • We're the pride of the league and we're going to show all the haters.
The only problem is you're not even under the radar yet. The Rabble plane has been sitting on the tarmac rusting up for the past 40 years. Sure some fans might jump on and reminisce about the days when the plane was flying high, "the pride of the skies", but the flight industry has moved on and left the Souffs Concorde behind. You might have a flash new pilot at the controls, but it's still the same dud plane.

AuDragon

Like AG said, you have to take off before you can fly, under the radar or not...

Having said that, if the idea is which team is being underestimated this year, judging by the polls, the Titans are that team imo.

DoggiesBro

panthers for sure as dooggiesBro said everyone saying that it is a rebuilding year which yea it may be but the team that takes the field won't see it like that they will be looking to make amends for a poor 2011 season.

Well done mate your able to work it out, unlike the rest of the idiots that support the roosters.

I was simply pointing out that the PANTHERS are flying under the radar because if people don't have the ROOSTERS for the spoon they have the PANTHERS. Yet the panthers are a FAR better team in every aspect.

The panthers therefor are flying under the radar in the few eyes of those who dont have the ROOSTERS for the spoon.

DoggiesBro

[FKN-SIK];8008238 said:
Do you know what flying under the radar means?

We have been in the news non-stop this off season

Read above, your a dogs fan so you have a chance of understanding. The rest of those muppets who support the roosters haven't got a hope as they are dumb as dog shit.

sputneek

Well done mate your able to work it out, unlike the rest of the idiots that support the roosters.

I was simply pointing out that the PANTHERS are flying under the radar because if people don't have the ROOSTERS for the spoon they have the PANTHERS. Yet the panthers are a FAR better team in every aspect.

The panthers therefor are flying under the radar in the few eyes of those who dont have the ROOSTERS for the spoon.

:lol: Doesn't know what under the radar means DERP