Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who do we need to recruit in 2018?

Ron's_Mate

What do you (and others) think about Michael Gordon IF Teddy goes....
He probably hasn't got a lot of years in front of him, but he's reliable, solid, can still attack, safe under the high ball and a great goal kicker. Not to mention a seasoned professional who is not a sook!
I like Gordon. Much prefer him to Dugan, who'll want too much money anyway.

Das Hassler

Well he said from the outset that it was just about not knowing who the coach would be...said it many times so this can only be taken as a rejection of Cleary....so that would make it completely unworkable for him to retain the captaincy for this season . Assuming tedesco is off then it should go to ET immediately....leads by example would be an understatement and a half.
Totally soured on Woods....the club is among the best at shooting themselves in the foot but Woods selfishness in having this drag on so long in the manner that it has ,has done a tremendous amount of damage...as club captain it's completely inexcusable.
Compare it to Thurston and Gallan....dedicated virtually their whole career to build success at the club they loved....how easy it would have been for them to have jumped onto a ( bought) premiership winning ship.
Gotta respect that

Billythekid

Losing Teddy is an absolute nightmare. We can build a team around Teddy. Woods is an average prop with minimal impact. Losing him to a club willing to pay more than us is great news.

Yeah Tedesco is a special player, the type you can build your club around. He would be a massive loss.

Tiger Woody

I just hope the fans are patient with Ivan Cleary this year seems like a year where he has to do his best. Next year he can start recruiting a team he wants and probably year after he can make them gel. Probably won't be until 2019 we start seeing consistant footy. Especially if tedasco leaves. Even if we recruit good players to replace them may take time for them to gel.

Yes Vozzy.......I think we all will have patience with IC.....hes a top coach,so he will have plans in place to fill the gaps...We might even end up with a better team in 2018.(wouldnt be hard would it)
I was hoping Teddy stays,but it looks like he will pack it in as well as Hillbilly and Moses.

Trollhammaren

Woods has quickly become my most disliked player to wear a Tigers jersey. Absolute dog and he won't be missed.

Teddy on the other hand will be a hard pill to swallow. Would have been a legend for the club.

As for fullback options, how would Nof go? I believe he kept Ted on the wing in junior teams

axl rose

Happy to see the back of Woods. Feel like the whole culture of the club will shift in a positive direction with him gone. Wouldn't surprise me if Cleary quietly withdrew the offer based on what hes seen both at training and on field.

Teddy on the other hand..:worried:

Tiger Woody

Happy to see the back of Woods. Feel like the whole culture of the club will shift in a positive direction with him gone. Wouldn't surprise me if Cleary quietly withdrew the offer based on what hes seen both at training and on field.

If the Salary cap comes in at 8.3million, there will be a 100 players on the market anyway.

I know 1 thing IC will withdraw,its the C next to Hillbillys name on the team sheet.
Lets face it,he was average,no intimidation,dumb as for a captain,and little impact taking the ball up.
I class him in the Mannah,Tolman class......basic props with no fear factor.

He can now buy a new cabin in Belmore for him,his missus and dog...Also get a Belmore postcode tattoo.
And.....play good footy.

Really not getting this logic how woods is a dog and teddy isn't if they both leave..?

I think they both should re-sign for us based on being juniors that we bought through the club but they are going to do whatever they are going to do. I don't view Woods as a dog but only because I think he has been one of our issues over the last however many years. I don't know this for sure but I remember one muppet CEO stating we had two marquee players - Robbie and Woods. Robbie at one point was a marquee player. Woods when he is at his absolute best is possibly a marquee player but that is so rare it isn't funny.

So Woods going is good for us. Teddy going is as I stated a nightmare.

Teddy gives it all every game and deserves to be classified a top player for us. Woods is consistently bog average. So Teddy going if he does hurts but Woods going is a gift to us.

So Woods is a more of a dog because he has been overpaid for a while and to me it looks like the club has finally tried to correct that a little. I don't think we will miss him at all.

Still I will consider Tedesco a little bit of a dog if he goes. Hopefully he stays and I think we are finally looking to have money to spend with a marquee player to build around. If he goes though we will have more money to build a better squad.

Whatever happens I think getting rid of Taylor and hopefully 2 of our overrated players is good for us.

Tiger Woody

I think they both should re-sign for us based on being juniors that we bought through the club but they are going to do whatever they are going to do. I don't view Woods as a dog but only because I think he has been one of our issues over the last however many years. I don't know this for sure but I remember one muppet CEO stating we had two marquee players - Robbie and Woods. Robbie at one point was a marquee player. Woods when he is at his absolute best is possibly a marquee player but that is so rare it isn't funny.

So Woods going is good for us. Teddy going is as I stated a nightmare.

Teddy gives it all every game and deserves to be classified a top player for us. Woods is consistently bog average. So Teddy going if he does hurts but Woods going is a gift to us.

So Woods is a more of a dog because he has been overpaid for a while and to me it looks like the club has finally tried to correct that a little. I don't think we will miss him at all.

Still I will consider Tedesco a little bit of a dog if he goes. Hopefully he stays and I think we are finally looking to have money to spend with a marquee player to build around. If he goes though we will have more money to build a better squad.

Whatever happens I think getting rid of Taylor and hopefully 2 of our overrated players is good for us.

05...i think our last 4 years and this year it seems have been badly wasted
2 years of Potter...2 years Taylor........we should have got a better coach those 4 years.
Woods is a plodder at best..Doesnt scare anyone at all.....Hes more a clown than an intimidating prop..
Teddy going will be like losing a family member...We needed to keep him badly.

TW - I completely agree with your comments. To be fair I think Potter was okay. Taylor was a mess. These 4 players including Tedesco though have really screwed us over. I don't blame the club. I blame all of them for that.

Still so far we've lost Moses and hopefully Woods. I reckon that is probably a good outcome for us. Woods especially isn't worth top dollars.

I feel confident with Cleary there now. I'm glad the board acted. I think we were always going to be a dud team with Taylor there. I also think we were always going to struggle with paying Woods top dollar. I'm glad Robbie is gone but none of the drama that occurred was required. His contract was up this year and this year already appears a write off. I also think the way he was treated showed the guys the way we treat club greats.

I see some good signs at the club now. Idris was hitting hard. Chee-Kam to me has come on. A couple more quality players and I think we will be fine. It might not happen this year or next but if we make some smart decisions and retain the right players going forward we can turn this around.

Canberra lost Milford years ago who is a gun and they are doing fine now.

simmo05

You know what? If tedesco wants to go, good f**k off then! Sick of this merkin holding our club to ransom. Yes he is a great player. Yes we can build a team around him. Sick of playing in a shit team? Well, he is part of it! Him and his pole smoking mates. So go to the roosters, or the dogs you ungrateful c**ts! Make it sooner rather than later so we can sign a replacement, the least you can do for a club you "love".

Shredder

Its certainly an opportunity for Ivan - its his club now - blank roster (nearly) and a full salary cap to spend. some of the remaining players have been coached by him before.
He must see this as his opportunity to put his stamp on the club.
I cant remember a coach ever coming into the NRL with such a clean sheet.

gordynz

If Teddy and Woods go then it puts us in a really strong position to sign three or four really decent players. I'd be happy with Michael Gordon for the next two or three seasons, he wouldn't be too expensive and is very solid. This would also give us the cheque book for Foran as well seeing as Gordon's a goal kicker.

axl rose

Gordon is 34 this year. If the Salary cap comes in lower then expected at 8.3 mil there will be a 100 players on the market.

Hope Woods enjoyed his team tactics lunch with the Bulldogs players. Good to see him focused on this weekend, Who do we play again.

C9xU5zxUAAApkDX.jpg

Crazyperpman

It was always going to be a tough sell playing the loyalty card and asking these guys to stay after what happened to Robbie in the last couple of years. I think this has been a massive factor in their decisions. If that is the way this club treats its legends its no wonder they are on a different bus.

I think everyone is agreed that Woods is replaceable as both a Front rower and as a captain, but it would hurt to watch Tedesco for the next 10 years tear it up in a different Jersey