Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who do we need to recruit in 2018?

WT Unity

Just went on the Rumours (sacking's signings & other sh!t) thread and posted about Adam Elliott...then read on here about Guerra, Glenn etc...

Anyway - I won't re-hash what I posted there but I Think Elliott has heaps of potential and @ only 23 is well worth a look. We've signed up experience in McQueen, Packer & Matulino and have it already in Taylor and Rowdy....A 23 yo on the way up might be worthwhile for balance and succession planning!

Yep Elliot is unsigned and surely not even the dogs could squeeze him in. Guy looks a real good prospect and would be a good chance of starting in our side. I read on another forum that apparently he and Reynolds are real good mates so maybe that could bait him too

WT Unity

Yep Elliot is unsigned and surely not even the dogs could squeeze him in. Guy looks a real good prospect and would be a good chance of starting in our side. I read on another forum that apparently he and Reynolds are real good mates so maybe that could bait him too

Yep - Check out the article below - It would appear they're pretty close mates and that Elliott is a similarly passionate and type of player

http://www.bulldogs.com.au/news/2017/05/03/elliott_s_emotional_.html

Ron's_Mate

Amazing what Elliot says about Reynolds, how inspirational he is. You'll never hear a team mate speak like that about Bitch Poses.

Tiger Ted

Reynolds has enormous integrity both in the effort he puts in on the field & how he has conducted himself after signing with us.Integrity is a characteristic that the wanka his deluded uncle & the fraudster cousin r all bereft of !

Reynolds will be a massive asset for us in contrast to the inept liability that the wanka had been for us !

Fordy20

The 2018 team is starting to take shape. Based on the players we have signed the top 30 is looking something like this:

1 LOLOHEA, Tuimoala
2 NOFOALUMA, David
3 SULI, Moses
4 MILNE, Taane
6 REYNOLDS, Josh
7 BROOKS, Luke
8 PACKER, Russell
9 LIDDLE, Jacob
10 MATULINO, Ben
11 LAWRENCE, Chris (c)
12 MCQUEEN, Chris
13 TAYLOR, Elijah
14 SUE, Sauaso
15 ALOIAI, Josh
16 CHEE-KAM, Michael
18 TWAL, Alex
19 WATENE-ZELEZNIAK, Malakai
20 MARSTERS, Esan
21 FELISE, JJ
22 GAMBLE, Tyson
23 FONUA, Mahe
24 THOMPSON, Corey

Not 100% sure about Milne, Fonua and Thompson, but they have been spoken about publicly, but assuming we have signed them, we're still short a prop and an outside back from the run on side.

Here are the players off contract:
Matt Ballin, Joel Edwards, Tim Grant, Watson Heleta, Justin Hunt, Jamal Idris, Jack Littlejohn, Kyle Lovett, Matt McIlwrick, Kevin Naiqama, Jordan Rankin

Of those off contract, I'd definitely show Ballin and Littlejohn the door. McIlwrick and Grant are the only ones I would resign for anything more than depth. I'd love to keep McIlwrick, he's playing great footy and he's in his prime, but I wouldn't stand in his way if he wanted to go elsewhere for a big contract, considering we have Liddle on contract. Tim Grant's not a game breaker, but he's good for a solid 10m per run and anywhere from 20-30 tackles a game, so unless we jag Klemmer or someone else around his calibre, I reckon we're better off keeping him, which might be harder to do without Souths topping up his contract.

Clifferd

The 2018 team is starting to take shape. Based on the players we have signed the top 30 is looking something like this:

1 LOLOHEA, Tuimoala
2 NOFOALUMA, David
3 SULI, Moses
4 MILNE, Taane
6 REYNOLDS, Josh
7 BROOKS, Luke
8 PACKER, Russell
9 LIDDLE, Jacob
10 MATULINO, Ben
11 LAWRENCE, Chris (c)
12 MCQUEEN, Chris
13 TAYLOR, Elijah
14 SUE, Sauaso
15 ALOIAI, Josh
16 CHEE-KAM, Michael
18 TWAL, Alex
19 WATENE-ZELEZNIAK, Malakai
20 MARSTERS, Esan
21 FELISE, JJ
22 GAMBLE, Tyson
23 FONUA, Mahe
24 THOMPSON, Corey

Not 100% sure about Milne, Fonua and Thompson, but they have been spoken about publicly, but assuming we have signed them, we're still short a prop and an outside back from the run on side.

Here are the players off contract:
Matt Ballin, Joel Edwards, Tim Grant, Watson Heleta, Justin Hunt, Jamal Idris, Jack Littlejohn, Kyle Lovett, Matt McIlwrick, Kevin Naiqama, Jordan Rankin

Of those off contract, I'd definitely show Ballin and Littlejohn the door. McIlwrick and Grant are the only ones I would resign for anything more than depth. I'd love to keep McIlwrick, he's playing great footy and he's in his prime, but I wouldn't stand in his way if he wanted to go elsewhere for a big contract, considering we have Liddle on contract. Tim Grant's not a game breaker, but he's good for a solid 10m per run and anywhere from 20-30 tackles a game, so unless we jag Klemmer or someone else around his calibre, I reckon we're better off keeping him, which might be harder to do without Souths topping up his contract.

I reckon we need another quality backrower as well. Lawrence looks pretty cooked and could very well be on the bench for next year

I'd have ET as captain for next year and beyond

1. Tui Lolohea
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Moses Suli
4. Taane Milne
5. Mahe Fonua

6. Josh Reynolds
7. Luke Brooks

8. Ben Matulino
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Russell Packer
11. Chris McQueen
12. Elijah Taylor
13. Josh Aloiai

14. Alex Twal
15. JJ Felise
16. Tim Grant
17. Chris Lawrence

I think we should play 3 middle forwards. I'd love to see another gun prop on the bench in place of one of the 14, 15 & 16. I'm also not sure if we need a backrower or McIlwrick off the bench. I don't want to see us get smashed in the forwards again.

Shredder

Liddle isnt even close to an 80 min hooker yet. So if we are going to keep playing Liddle, we need Mc on the bench.

Its coming together.

Our backline and our backline depth is stronger than ever and our run on pack looks excellent.

Twal was a great purchase but I think its forwards (and another winger) we need now.

I cant believe the job Ivan has done on completely culling our current depressing side. I have always said we were a team of depth players - not from next year.

A decent run of injuries and we might actually make the finals.

Tigers Tale

The signing of Reynolds has me even more excited since I started watching the Dogs the past few weeks. They have been hopeless without him...if he can lift us like he normally lifts the Dogs he is going to be a great signing for us.

Tiger Ted

The signing of Reynolds has me even more excited since I started watching the Dogs the past few weeks. They have been hopeless without him...if he can lift us like he normally lifts the Dogs he is going to be a great signing for us.
Reynolds is definitely a great signing.He has enormous integrity a characteristic the deadshit wanka now with parra is totally devoid of !

super_coach

Not confirmed by the club, but the mail is Curtis Rona is joining us next year. Also some talk Connor Watson has asked for a release to link up with us. I am told the Rona signing is on the money and I the Watson signing is doubtful

BrotherJim05

Not confirmed by the club, but the mail is Curtis Rona is joining us next year. Also some talk Connor Watson has asked for a release to link up with us. I am told the Rona signing is on the money and I the Watson signing is doubtful

Connor Watson would be awesome. I rate him over Lolohea...although then we would be without a goal kicker

I'm also hearing we are in talks with Adam Elliot. He is best mates with Reynolds so maybe he's thinking of staying with him.

super_coach

Connor Watson would be awesome. I rate him over Lolohea...although then we would be without a goal kicker

I'm also hearing we are in talks with Adam Elliot. He is best mates with Reynolds so maybe he's thinking of staying with him.

Sign Elliot and put the cheque book away. I think with what we have signed and what we have on our books, plus the odd kid coming through we have enough talent to build a decent side

I like this idea. We will get good young kids coming through. If we have a solid team around them they should go well.

I wonder how good Suli is going to be. I haven't seen a player come on and look so solid at such a young age I think ever. He is doing it as well in a team that is underperforming. He hasn't had the same impact as Benji or Robbie or looked likely ala Tedesco but he has been really good.

super_coach

I like this idea. We will get good young kids coming through. If we have a solid team around them they should go well.

I wonder how good Suli is going to be. I haven't seen a player come on and look so solid at such a young age I think ever. He is doing it as well in a team that is underperforming. He hasn't had the same impact as Benji or Robbie or looked likely ala Tedesco but he has been really good.

If Suli was playing for a team like the Storm they would be talking about him as the next Izzy Folau. He has been so good in a team that has struggled from basically round one. Just hope he works hard and keeps focused because he is top shelve material

leaguelegend21

Gotta say the prospect of keeping Tim-Tam Grant on as a bench prop next year is really growing on me. The guy is an incredible leader and all the young blokes really look up to him. He provides solid go forward and doesn't mind taking the tougher carries (unlike notorious pillow biter Karen Woods). Rusty and Matulino with Grant and Aloiai off the bench is a very handy prop rotation. Then Sue (Back Row) and Chee Kam (Back Row/Utility) warming the pine too, we have a very handy interchange.

Ivan is going to have to make a tough decision between Liddle and Mckilwrick I think. It's a hard decision - I have no idea who I prefer. Probably Liddle as he's younger, but he hasn't exactly set the world alight.

Interesting, I just think McIlwrick is way ahead of the game as our hooker at this stage. My thinking was Liddle will come on in a few years time.