Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who is the most over rated player in the game?

SP

Parra fan said:
And one more thing im so sick of all these "penrith supporters" that have jumped on the band wagon since penrith have started to play half decently, saying that they are huge penrith fans. if you asked these wanker last year if they went for penrith they would deny it. im sure you are one of these people

I can assure you that im not a bandwagon supporter,

Big Mick

Parrafan ever thought that its the hooker that makes the halfback look good mate?

Maybe its the hooker that makes the breaks down the middle and sets up two tries in teh grand final and scores one himself, something he was doing all season.

You wanna talk overrated, lets talk Michael Witt

Big Mick

Lewis said:
Big Mick said:

i wont

OK bad example, since i actually rate Witt.

I think Ronald Prince may be a better example, he is alright, but the way u guys talk him up, its as though he is the best in the league

Parra fan

Big Mick said:
Parrafan ever thought that its the hooker that makes the halfback look good mate?

Maybe its the hooker that makes the breaks down the middle and sets up two tries in teh grand final and scores one himself, something he was doing all season.

i realy dont think he was scoring a try and setting up to tries every game of the season. if you look at the replay of the grandfinal you will see how he managed to do it. for one of the tries he set up one of the players was offside and knew it, he didnot even attempt to make a relatively simple tackle fror the fear of givving away a pently, in the second try he "set up" all it was, was simple over lap. ANYONE who can pass a ball could of set up that try. i have thought that in some cases the its the hooker that makes the halfback look good, in some cases. but this is not one of these cases. one of the cases were the hooker makes the half back look good is danny buderus to kurt gidley. from your comment "Parrafan ever thought that its the hooker that makes the halfback look good mate?" it makes me believe that you are calling the current 5/8 from Australia over rated. Is this so "big mick"?

roofromoz

I don't particularly like being drawn into these arguments, because I honestly think that if you are playing NRL, you are a good enough player in the first place. But it's the next level up (rep footy), where I start formulating opinions on players that may be over-rated and may not deserve to be there.

For mine, it's Willie Mason. He just simply does not dominate at that level, yet he continuously gets picked. Next in line would be Matt Gidley, because his defence is a bit dodgy.

roofromoz

Parra fan said:
roofromoz said:
Parra fan said:
luke priddis by a long shot

:lol: Please justify your answer. Should be VERY interesting...
he is a good player in defence. BUT he gets so rated by everyone. and i believe that he doesnt deserve all the raps he gets. he only plays in teams were the half backs make him look good. Gower at penrith, alfy at brisbane, stuart with the raiders. if you want a good hooker for the panthers you HAVE to get Dave Sainty from Newcastle!

I think that Priddis is good enough a player to hold his own if Gower was not playing, he doesn't go missing in action or anything, he's always in the play.

He's not the game's premier hooker, but he's definitely up there. He compliments the Panthers style of attack quite nicely.

What do you know about this Dave Sainty bloke? Must be in the lower grades, because he's not the Premier League hooker...

panthersballboy

Willie Mason for sure!
Braith anasta
Shaun Berrigan
Josh Perry
Brent Sherwin
Brett Finch seriously he sucks!
Brett Kimmorley
Gordon Tallis he was good once but now he isn't evena raging calf.

Red Bear

No way is Ricketson over-rated.

Most over rated players
Anasta
Gidley m.
berrigan S
Gasnier
Tate
Kimmorley
others i cant think of

Fibroman

Gold: Anasta
Silver: Ricketson
Bronze: Miniccelo.

Not far behind are the rest of the over rated roosters. SPASTICS.

Big Mick

fibro man said:
Silver: Ricketson
Bronze: Miniccelo.

Not far behind are the rest of the over rated roosters. SPASTICS.

I disagree.

I don't think ricketson is overrated. He plays 80 minutes every match, and is always there is defence.

I think
Silver: FInch
Bronze: Mason

Fibroman

What about a quinella? Anasta as a standout with the field ( roosters side minus Fittler, Wing and Morley )

Andy#8

why do you all think anasta is so bad? i presonally think he is one of the better 5-8 / lock forwards in the game.

Matt23

1. Brent Tate
2. Willie Mason
3. Braith Anasta/ Brett Kimmorley