Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why an indigenous war dance would set rugby league apart from other codes

ParraEelsNRL

No thanks, leave it to the other nations that seem to care more for what they look and sound like instead of how they play the actual game.

fourplay

The whole concept is dumb, especially if it's full of Aboriginal dance moves like spear chucking, and you know that's what they'll push for.

strong_latte

No thanks, leave it to the other nations that seem to care more for what they look and sound like instead of how they play the actual game.

Yep, because the embraced of indigenous tradition has really reflected on how little the All Blacks care about how they play Rugby Union right? That 80% win record over 100 years is clearly just a temporary blip

RoosTah

This really depends on execution. If they manage to do it well, then it could really increase the spectacle and add another layer of theatre to test matches, whilst also providing the Kangaroos with an answer to the Haka. But if they are sloppy about it, it will be embarrassing.

For what it's worth, with this being led by the indigenous boys I'm willing to back 'em. It'd also be a good story to run with while the AFL talking heads continuing crying about Goodes.

DiegoNT

Which aboriginal dance would you use? There are literally hundreds of aboriginal nations all with their own dances, languages and customs.
If you use for example a kurri dance then that doesn't really represent a person like me who's a delabon person from the northern territory. Any dance would probably have to be a completely made up and be a gimmicky dance

RoosTah

Which aboriginal dance would you use? There are literally hundreds of aboriginal nations all with their own dances, languages and customs.
If you use for example a kurri dance then that doesn't really represent a person like me who's a delabon person from the northern territory. Any dance would probably have to be a completely made up and be a gimmicky dance

This is of course the challenge they face. The Haka is much the same of course - representing a particular group and therefore not being ideally suited. That's why I believe they came up with Kapa O Pango. So perhaps the best approach would be to have Aboriginal elders involved broadly representing as many of the Aboriginal nations as possible to come up with something unique for the 'Roos that would feature elements from many of the nations. I'm not indiginous, so I don't know if that'd work though, but it at least seems like a possible solution to the problem you raise

DiegoNT

My understanding of Maori culture ( and it's not that much, hopefully a maori can correct me if I'm wrong) is that all maori culture throughout new Zealand is similar, they all speak a variation of the same language just with their own local dialects, and that all maori tribes are considered the same people. The haka doesn't have as many complications because of new Zealands small size and the fact that maoris are a more United people.

Aboriginals have many different cultures, languages, people. An aboriginal from the northern territory is completely different from an aboriginal in new south Wales the same way being british is completely different to being Italian. In just the NT alone we have Desert people, people from the big rivers area, coastal people and tiwi islanders, and each one them groups can be divided into dozens of separate tribes with their own dances, languages, customs etc

Danish

I am not against it as such..... until I think of how much respect guys like Cameron Smith or Paul Gallen would treat it with

strong_latte

My understanding of Maori culture ( and it's not that much, hopefully a maori can correct me if I'm wrong) is that all maori culture throughout new Zealand is similar, they all speak a variation of the same language just with their own local dialects, and that all maori tribes are considered the same people. The haka doesn't have as many complications because of new Zealands small size and the fact that maoris are a more United people.

Aboriginals have many different cultures, languages, people. An aboriginal from the northern territory is completely different from an aboriginal in new south Wales the same way being british is completely different to being Italian. In just the NT alone we have Desert people, people from the big rivers area, coastal people and tiwi islanders, and each one them groups can be divided into dozens of separate tribes with their own dances, languages, customs etc

Fair points Diego. Good comparison with Europe too - I remember reading that there were 300 Aboriginal nations in Australia before white settlement.

Is there no real common thread that could be drawn on though?

RedVee

Why was the original war dance abandoned after 68?
I think the players thought it a bit twee and were embarrassed. With this move being player led it should be able to sidestep that. I'll be interested to see how this progresses.

strong_latte

Why was the original war dance abandoned after 68?
I think the players thought it a bit twee and were embarrassed. With this move being player led it should be able to sidestep that. I'll be interested to see how this progresses.

In the 60s the Kangaroos performed it in the way the Kiwis did the Haka - half arsed and in teams with no indigenous players.

But you're right, if you get the indigenous boys to lead the thing and make sure everyone buys in passionately, then it has great potential.

ParraEelsNRL

Yep, because the embraced of indigenous tradition has really reflected on how little the All Blacks care about how they play Rugby Union right? That 80% win record over 100 years is clearly just a temporary blip

You are an outdated fool, Australia is made up from so many nations it's not funny, how about something that represents them all?

Like playing the game instead of doing a frigging dance for war purposes :crazy:

fourplay

In the 60s the Kangaroos performed it in the way the Kiwis did the Haka - half arsed and in teams with no indigenous players.

But you're right, if you get the indigenous boys to lead the thing and make sure everyone buys in passionately, then it has great potential.

It seems like it's basically an Aboriginal dance, "but let's pretend it's not". Why would, or should, an Australian of English heritage buy into an Aboriginal dance passionately? Why should Aboriginies lead the dance? Why not create a dance that honours all of the Australian peoples roots, which means it must incorporate its English heritage, with maybe some kind of royal 21 gun salute, and get the white boys to lead it?

I wonder if the Indiginous players would also passionately buy into it if it honours that part of Australia's heritage too?

ParraEelsNRL

How about the Kangaroos stand in line like a wall and slowly advance on the Haka, looked great when they done it in the WC of 2008. Showed respect (by not crossing the line) and indifference (by saying f**k you and your dance, come at us cuzzy bro) at the same time, loved it.

strong_latte

It seems like it's basically an Aboriginal dance, "but let's pretend it's not". Why would, or should, an Australian of English heritage buy into an Aboriginal dance passionately? Why should Aboriginies lead the dance? Why not create a dance that honours all of the Australian peoples roots, which means it must incorporate its English heritage, with maybe some kind of royal 21 gun salute, and get the white boys to lead it?

I wonder if the Indiginous players would also passionately buy into it if it honours that part of Australia's heritage too?

Well I don't have any English ancestry, but I'm happy enough for us with our flag even though it's not very representative, so I don't see how this is really any different. We're just taking a part of the origins of this country and incorporating it into something broadly representative

strong_latte

How about the Kangaroos stand in line like a wall and slowly advance on the Haka, looked great when they done it in the WC of 2008. Showed respect (by not crossing the line) and indifference (by saying f**k you and your dance, come at us cuzzy bro) at the same time, loved it.

You mean the World Cup we lost? Yeah, that worked a treat didn't it?

ParraEelsNRL

You mean the World Cup we lost? Yeah, that worked a treat didn't it?

Who cares if they lost, you don't win every game now do you, ffs any other little thing you need to point out?

How about the fact they didn't march on the Kiwis and lost the Anzac test, or how they didn't march on the 4 nations Kiwis and lost, or how they didn't march on the Kiwis in 05 tri nations and lost?

strong_latte

Who cares if they lost, you don't win every game now do you, ffs any other little thing you need to point out?

How about the fact they didn't march on the Kiwis and lost the Anzac test, or how they didn't march on the 4 nations Kiwis and lost, or how they didn't march on the Kiwis in 05 tri nations and lost?

Whatever mate.

Your arguments seem to be "focus on the footy because this stuff doesn't add anything", and "better to just stare the Haka down". I'm just pointing out that the All Blacks are probably the most successful sporting side on the planet over the longest period and they're pretty famous for their embrace of this stuff.

Don't know why this is pissing you off so much, but I reckon it could be pretty cools if it's done well.