Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why an indigenous war dance would set rugby league apart from other codes

It seems like it's basically an Aboriginal dance, "but let's pretend it's not". Why would, or should, an Australian of English heritage buy into an Aboriginal dance passionately? Why should Aboriginies lead the dance? Why not create a dance that honours all of the Australian peoples roots, which means it must incorporate its English heritage, with maybe some kind of royal 21 gun salute, and get the white boys to lead it?

I wonder if the Indiginous players would also passionately buy into it if it honours that part of Australia's heritage too?

The non-Maori Kiwis get into the haka. Aboriginal Australians are a fundamental part of this country, I don't see why we couldn't have non-Indigenous players getting in on it? If anything it would show that Rugby League takes Aboriginal culture more seriously than other facets of society.

ParraEelsNRL

Whatever mate.

Your arguments seem to be "focus on the footy because this stuff doesn't add anything", and "better to just stare the Haka down". I'm just pointing out that the All Blacks are probably the most successful sporting side on the planet over the longest period and they're pretty famous for their embrace of this stuff.

Don't know why this is pissing you off so much, but I reckon it could be pretty cools if it's done well.

It seems you are trying to rewrite history, RL has been there and done it, they don't now so move on.

And why do we need it anyway?

You explain why we need it because I feel we don't, Australia has changed dramatically over the last 50 years, you think a kid from Lakemba to a Lebanese family really gives a stuff about some old war dance?

strong_latte

It seems you are trying to rewrite history, RL has been there and done it, they don't now so move on.

And why do we need it anyway?

You explain why we need it because I feel we don't, Australia has changed dramatically over the last 50 years, you think a kid from Lakemba to a Lebanese family really gives a stuff about some old war dance?

That's pretty thin for an argument. Kinda like saying Lebanese or Asian immigrants to NZ shouldn't give a stuff about the Haka. They still do if they grow up in NZ and watch rugby for the record.

I don't really need to convince you of anything though. They look like they're going ahead with this judging by the papers, so this is all a bit moot.

ParraEelsNRL

That's pretty thin for an argument. Kinda like saying Lebanese or Asian immigrants to NZ shouldn't give a stuff about the Haka. They still do if they grow up in NZ and watch rugby for the record.

I don't really need to convince you of anything though. They look like they're going ahead with this judging by the papers, so this is all a bit moot.

No it's not, Aboriginal history has never been big in our schools, yet now you seem to think all will know what an ancient dance means? Come on :crazy:

You tell me why we need it anyway, I don't see the need for Australia to have a war dance before a test, it's not a WAR for a start, it's a game of footy!

We are not NZ or one of the small pac islands, we are a continent filled with cultures from every corner of the Earth.

papabear

The Haka doesn't represent the "white boys" of nz but it does represent the nation.

I think the same could be said if we did an aboriginal dance and got right into it. I agree with Roostah they have to get right into it though.

Kurt Angle

Yep, because the embraced of indigenous tradition has really reflected on how little the All Blacks care about how they play Rugby Union right? That 80% win record over 100 years is clearly just a temporary blip

It has mor eto do with the opposition.

When the Wallabies are historically the 2nd or 3rd best team, meaning EVERYONE else is worse than they are, its not hard to rack up 80%.

I reckon Australia would win an AFL world cup yeah?

strong_latte

It has mor eto do with the opposition.

When the Wallabies are historically the 2nd or 3rd best team, meaning EVERYONE else is worse than they are, its not hard to rack up 80%.

I reckon Australia would win an AFL world cup yeah?

lol AFL.

Rugby may not be huge like soccer but 5 teams have made the WC Final in its short history for 4 victors and the next 5 teams after the ABs don't have win records over that period over 65%.

No it's not, Aboriginal history has never been big in our schools, yet now you seem to think all will know what an ancient dance means? Come on :crazy:

Perhaps this is where society needs to start, before any sort of war dance is developed...

Why not a song...doesnt have to be a haka...I'm a big fan of what Fiji are doing with the prayer. It's a nice change/spin on things.

ParraEelsNRL

Perhaps this is where society needs to start, before any sort of war dance is developed...

Why not a song...doesnt have to be a haka...I'm a big fan of what Fiji are doing with the prayer. It's a nice change/spin on things.

No problem with that at all, it's going to be hard tho getting everyone to agree on what we should or shouldn't be doing.

RoosTah

You tell me why we need it anyway, I don't see the need for Australia to have a war dance before a test, it's not a WAR for a start, it's a game of footy!

We are not NZ or one of the small pac islands, we are a continent filled with cultures from every corner of the Earth.

Aboriginal History has never been in our schools? Well, perhaps you're a lot older than me, but we had plenty of it when I was going through school and latte is right - acknowledging our country's aboriginal past with our national team isn't any less representative of Australia's ethnically diverse population than a flag with a Union Jack as its centrepiece.

ParraEelsNRL

Aboriginal History has never been in our schools? Well, perhaps you're a lot older than me, but we had plenty of it when I was going through school and latte is right - acknowledging our country's aboriginal past with our national team isn't any less representative of Australia's ethnically diverse population than a flag with a Union Jack as its centrepiece.

Well of course I'm a lot older than you. Still, I don't see why we need it and as for the flag, I would rather we piss the union jack off and put the aboriginal flag in its place.

It's sport we are talking about and I still don't see why we need to do anything bar play the game. I wish people would stop trying to make everything political, it ends up ruining everything, play the game.

RoosTah

Well of course I'm a lot older than you. Still, I don't see why we need it and as for the flag, I would rather we piss the union jack off and put the aboriginal flag in its place.

It's sport we are talking about and I still don't see why we need to do anything bar play the game. I wish people would stop trying to make everything political, it ends up ruining everything, play the game.

Sport is theatre and entertainment. It's not just sport and hasn't been for a long time - that's precisely the reason we pay footy players more than doctors, because they're more than just playing for the heck of it and to keep fit; they're delivering a product. In NZ the Haka adds to that "theatre" element and has made the All Blacks famous around the world (I'm not kidding either - I've met people in Japan who know who the All Blacks are, but don't know anything about Rugby or NZ in general).

RoosTah

That's nice for them and you about the haka.

Still see no point in it for our Rugby League side.

Perhaps you don't and you never will, but that doesn't mean that it won't be at least trialed and that it won't be embraced by the public.

You could be right; it could all be silly and out of place. But then it may not and it may be a brilliant bit of pre-match theatre that will enhance tests against NZ in particular.

So, perhaps it's best just to wait and see.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I dont mind the idea of a war dance, but id be much more interested in seeing the Indigenous AllStars just pushed onto the international stage...

The NRL AllStars has run its course and while I dont reckon the IndigenousAS should play off against the Kangaroos, itd be good to see them representing Australia in some international matches (Honestly, the Indigenous team seems to produce more patriotic emotion, even from the Euro-Aussies, than the Roos ever do)

deluded pom?

I dont mind the idea of a war dance, but id be much more interested in seeing the Indigenous AllStars just pushed onto the international stage...

The NRL AllStars has run its course and while I dont reckon the IndigenousAS should play off against the Kangaroos, itd be good to see them representing Australia in some international matches (Honestly, the Indigenous team seems to produce more patriotic emotion, even from the Euro-Aussies, than the Roos ever do)

Don't have a Scooby Doo what that means.

DIOGENES

If it is done it must be done properly and with dignity. The Wallabies abandoned the Corroboree quite early after the captain Dr Paddy Moran refused to take part; "We have taken everything from these wretched people and now we humiliate them with a farce"