Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why are we missing out on players???

fizman

I have just read that Carl Webb has ruled out Cronulla and Canberra. In fact I believe he has signed with the Cowboys. The question I am most interested in is WHY we are missing out on some good footballers??

lolesi

Cause the area is to nice, and if they came here they feel they would not be good enough for it.

imasharkie

From LU NRL site:
It's really disappointing to have missed out on Carl," Sharks chief executive Steve Rogers said.

"As I said to Barry (Collins), I think we would've been good for each other.

"He was just what we were looking for and I think he would've fitted into our side nicely.

"Being a Queensland country boy, the thought of Sydney didn't appeal to him but there's a big difference between Cronulla and Sydney.

"We've got some other area that we're now exploring."

Shark

Why Fiz?

Because we have a backward-thinking board that has no idea how to run a chook raffle, let alone a football team.

Also, while I have the utmost respect for Rogers as a man and as a player (and I would LOVE to see him coach), he is just NOT a 'businessman'. Sure, his name and his stature in the game opens up plenty of doors when OPENING negotiations with available players, but I think he probably lacks the business acumen to close the deals. He's getting snowballed by clever managers, who are using 'token' offers from the Sharks to bump up offers from more serious clubs.

We're pawns in their game.

Dykes would be another "area" but even that is looking more unlikely by the day, even though Dykes is keen for the move

We also missed out on Casey McGuire, who has agreed to terms to stay in Brisbane

Sideline Eye

Brett Dallas....no way.
I agree with Shark, Rogers is a good bloke, but I'm not too confident on his business skills.
We need a Noel Cleal or someone with an eye for talent or can attract players.
Most sharks players will tell Cronulla are terrible when it comes to contract negotiations.

I am completely confident IN Sludge, but he annoys me because I differ in my opinion about some footballers. I cannot understand why we did not get Grothe last year instead of Merrit for example. The Peach issue is another.
But his openess to fans & his obvious talent at getting players, is terrific.
I partiucularly like how he will shoot down some posters scurrilous rumours in an articulate, explained manner.
It is quite ironic how one poster on this forum can repeat something they were "supposedly" told, only for the truth to be, that the comment was actually about him.

fizman

I have NEVER ever in my lifetime met a more bunch of gutless wonders than you blokes. My comments must have cut pretty deeply for this issue to be raised AGAIN.

Lets get a couple of things straight, The part about Frenzy being a pain in the arse was made up, but you lot were too stupid to see that. Do you really think the CEO of a Club would say something like that?? Maybe my speculation, was closer to the mark than I thought.

Secondly, I don't e-mail our CEO , so there is no way possible that he was talking about me. Nice try.

The bottom line is that our hypocritical friend who has accused people on this forum of name dropping to our CEO is guilty on 2 counts.

1. He has done exactly the SAME thing.
2. He has also sent personal e-mails from our CEO to other supporters.

I am sure that he would be none too happy if he found that out would he.
The problem I have, is the "Holier than thou" attitude that you have.
Nice one boys keep up the good work.

I take it that I am being accused of being a name dropper by Frenzy.

That's ok with me, Sludge didn't tell me to keep anything to myself in any of his emails.

I openly admit that I posted things he had told me through email.

If Frenzy has a problem with that then he can tell Sludge that I am a name dropper, no worries at all.

I guess I will let Sludge see a couple of emails Frenzy has forwarded to me too. Some of them start with the line, "It's very important that you keep this to yourself". I wonder what he will think of that.

I have tried to talk to you people about all this, I thought most of it was just a big misunderstanding. I even tried to sort it out with Frenzy but that gutless prick won't even reply to me. You blokes won't even come tothe table. Meh, I was glad it was over but it had to be brought back up didn't it?

fizman

I am sorry Mate, I thought it was dead and buried, but it quite obviously isn't.
Don't expect any of these gutless wonders to have enough balls to resolve the situation.

ShireShark said:
oh dear
poor form from all of you bringing steve rogers into all of this

i'd leave him out of it

It is poor form SS. As if Sludge GAF about me or Frenzy. Your mate was the one who brought him into it. I won't be emailing him anymore thanks to all this rubbish.