Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why didn't the AFL experience a super league war?

siv

if the nrl hasn’t admitted the broncs and cowboys would the brl have been able to withstand afl ?
Thats a interesting as the Brisbane rejected a option to join before AFL arrived. The Broncos having a clause for no teams in SEQ helped the AFL cause as well

And at the same ask the TV companies to reduce the advertising revenue grants to the NRL , and NRL not to accept betting agencies revenue

And most importantly reduce the Cowboys LC grants to the FC
I hope the Cowboys remove the pokies from The Ville. The problem is they're not going to do it while everyone else is benefiting from them. The only way it'll happen is via prohibition from the ARLC or government.

Pneuma

I hope the Cowboys remove the pokies from The Ville. The problem is they're not going to do it while everyone else is benefiting from them. The only way it'll happen is via prohibition from the ARLC or government.
Start a petition. You could call it the ‘Potato Petition’. You and your fellow potatoes could sign it. There is a guy in Perth who is waiting for your call!

We regularly have meltdowns on UK RL forums over this. End result of all the agonizing is - we`re stuck with it, that ship sailed long ago.

My line is that League fans should never use the word "Rugby" unaccompanied, either to refer to RL (as often happens in Northern England) or to refer to RU (as often happens in NSW/QLD).

Probably the best and simplest alternative official name for RL would have been "League Football". When doing research on RL history I`ve encountered the use of this term in New Zealand, including a Trade Union leader in the 1950s who had his own newspaper and published an article extolling the virtues of "League Football" and explaining why it was so popular in Auckland.

The chief objection is that "League" is too generic, but no more so than "Association".
It's common for people in Queensland to refer to rugby league as "football" and "footy". I always refer to it as "football". It seems to really anger the soccer fans, so I make a point of doing it regularly.

Wb1234

Thats an interesting as the Brisbane rejected an option to join before AFL arrived. The Broncos having a clause for no teams in SEQ helped the AFL cause as well
Broncos would rather have shared brisbane with the lions roar and reds than another league side

hopefully the dolphins can tap into the anti brisbane sentiment

Broncos would rather have shared brisbane with the lions roar and reds than another league side

hopefully the dolphins can tap into the anti brisbane sentiment
I know all of NSW will be cheering them!
Oops does that mean we aren't passionate rugby league supporters?!?!?! Haha

Wb1234

If so, it must be very well hidden.

I don`t pay much attention to SL. I follow my own lower-division club and Rugby League throughout the world. Most of my AFL knowledge comes indirectly from following the NRL.

We used to have 3 TV channels. Channel 4 launched in 1982 with a remit to innovate and be different. This included broadcasting unusual sports from far-flung parts. On Saturday mornings they ran an hour long VFL highlights programme. I genuinely tried to get into it. Without success. Rather suspect I wasn`t alone.

AFL have played exhibition games at The Oval. Can remember seeing some footage of Collingwood v Essendon one year. Looked to be mostly expats in attendance. Probably had the same impact as their China and NZ excursions.
There’s a YouTube video of some English players singing god save the queen (with Aussie accents) before the afl world cup

Wb1234

I am happy for them to keep on spending millions on both of those sides but as someone that lives in Penrith. I have yet to see a GWS jersey, The population boom we are expected to have. Will be all from the Sub continent and Pacific so will continue to be wasted money
Over 500 million so far spent on the break fast point giants

Wb1234

I was taking about the AFL as well. This is only the car because of all the Māori and Islander players. AFL players backgrounds would be pretty representative of society in the Australian cities that the players live.
AFL has 11% Indiginous players, 15 African born players and one Māori/Islander.
NRL has 13% indigenous players, zero black African born players and 47% Māori/islanders.
Correlating those numbers are the facts that they’re a far lower % of indigenous and Pacific people in Victoria compared to other mainland states, but more African. It is a shame that there are not more African players in RL (there are a handful of African decent born here) as there are perfectly suited to the game. Big, strong and fast.
Dom young

Even better rugby league players

and our fans treat them better
Mate I know you are a decent person, but I'm a stickler for wording.
"Treat them" ??
We're all of one kind, I would hope the real meaning is "we treat all our players better"
Get my drift.

Wb1234

Shouldn`t neglect the value in the provenance of the NRL premiership. Even the very name of the sport "Rugby League" was first coined with the formation of the NSWRL. In England we were still playing "Rugby" in the Northern Union until 1922.

I continue to think the main difference between RL in Sydney and Aussie Rules in Melbourne is the malignant role of Rugby bloody Union.

BTW, I always like to point out to Aussies that my club Swinton Lions was formed in 1866. Which gives us a 40+ year advantage over the likes of Roosters, Rabbitohs, Valleys Diehards, etc.

Dolphins` sponsorship portfolio is mightily impressive. They could be a powerful and prestigious asset for the NRL. But how many people in SEQ will go to their games? RL supporters in all parts of Oz don`t seem to have the commitment of their AFL counterparts.

The size of Lions crowds vis-a-vis Broncos is every bit as ignominious for RL as Swans crowds in Sydney.
They were a real giant of the English game

I managed to see Oldham at boundary park and at spotland to watch the hornets

Salford have real potential. Hopefully sale don’t get to own their ground the scabs

League has a few friends in high places for sure but it doesn't have influence and credibility like AFL and Union does.
British MPs for RL towns could occasionally bring home the bacon in the form of funding for minor projects in their constituencies, but they were never able to influence national policy. And most didn`t even try.

In many ways this mirrors the time-honoured pork-barrel politics and small-town thinking of the pro clubs.

Rugby League remained banned in the UK Armed Forces until 1994 and was comprehensively excluded or marginalized at all levels of education, particularly in the tertiary sector, for the best part of a hundred years.

Of the developing RL nations in Africa, Ghana currently looks to be the most promising. The Oxford University RL team toured there last year, took out equipment and did some development work. I would imagine the players will be keen to maintain any links and friendships they forged post graduation. We need a lot more of this.

It's common for people in Queensland to refer to rugby league as "football" and "footy". I always refer to it as "football". It seems to really anger the soccer fans, so I make a point of doing it regularly.
English fans loathe the word "Soccer". Many wouldn`t know it derives from "association", they just see it as an Americanism.

RU never got proprietorial over the word "football" in "Rugby Football". The name of a top independent school suited them fine.

Treizistes are hopelessly encumbered by nomenclature. They`ve never got over the fact that they were on their way to eclipsing RU pre-war and have fought tooth and nail to own or use the word "Rugby" ever since. Forcing them to say "Jeu a Treize" post-war only made them want it more.

Whether it`s "game of thirteen" or "Rugby of thirteen", fixing your whole identity on the number of players in a team is doomed to fail. Most French people don`t know RL exists. No wonder, when our French friends insist on making themselves invisible.

Most of the French women`s comp is 9s. Which means it`s "Rugby a Treize a Neuf".

The only Elite 1 club I know of who have Rugby League in their title is Albi Tigers. All the others are XIII.