Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why do you support the team that you do.

MEE

LebaneseForces said:
Ive been a Bulldogs fan eversince i can remember... Stuck with them through everything... There move too Concord
all three games they played there... :)

fatshark

Most of you sound like band wagon jumpers.
Me, I was born in the shire , so Ive followed MY OWN DISTRICTS team for the last 30 years. ;-)

beerboy

yeah well i live the Eastern Subs, so i can be forgiven for not wanting to follow the Roosters, cause there as soft as there hair.
i hate them mainly cause everyone else around me goes for them

socksie

living in sydney there were so many sydney teams to choose from and had a little look around.... the roosters had the best colour combination going but... they're the roosters and i was not going to stoop so low as to support a money team.

after perusing my choices i decided newcastle were the team that showed me the greatest integrity and have not bought into the commercialisation this game has seen in recent years. they have a HUGE local following which i am upset to miss out on but they also have a huge following by ppl not in the hunter. they represent what i like to see in a team. they have not converted over to the tight jerseys that almost every other club has, they're not sueing the NRL because they're whinging spoilt little kids and play with so much integrity.

plus, my dad is a dragons supporter and i just wanted to see them lose

Maroubra Eel

fatshark said:
Most of you sound like band wagon jumpers.
Me, I was born in the shire , so Ive followed MY OWN DISTRICTS team for the last 30 years. ;-)
Yeah I agree fatshark. Alot of bandwagon jumpers. I was born with blue and gold pumping through my veins. I don't know why anyone would switch.

Maroubra Eel

beerboy said:
Maroubra isnt a Parra district
its Easts/Souths
i know i live here

2035 4 life
I'm originally from the Hills district. I was born in Parramatta and nearly everyone I knew when I was a kid went for Parra. At school Parra footy cards were worth two, as were Kangaroos.

beerboy

Maroubra Eel said:
beerboy said:
Maroubra isnt a Parra district
its Easts/Souths
i know i live here

2035 4 life
I'm originally from the Hills district. I was born in Parramatta and nearly everyone I knew when I was a kid went for Parra. At school Parra footy cards were worth two, as were Kangaroos.

ahh ok
fair enough i was geting confused

fosie

The knights were the first team my eyes laid on. Channel surfing and boom knights players celebrating so yeah. Forever since Semi's i think 2001 against dragons.

Knightmare

I was raised in a family of Parra supporters (on my Mum's side), but I went for the Raiders when I was 9-10, then Manly for a bit (yuck!, I had a mate who played footy and went for them, so I thought I knew what he was talking about). Then I was watching the 1997 Grand Final and Manly were winning, but the Knights were playing with such guts and determination I thought "That's my team!", and I haven't looked back since :)

Once Dead

Well......my grandma gave my brother and i some old fridge footy magnets.......the Cronulla-Sutherland one and the Balmain Tigers emblem......i took the Cronulla one to school because i thought it looked cool....but there was something about the Balmain Tigers emblem that caught my eye....and since my grandma lived on Balmain Rd about 10 mins from Leichhardt Oval i guess it was elementary.........and i wouldn't have had it any other way.....an underdog team, with an amazing history, in the heart of Sydney.....what more could you want?

Surandy

I'm Victorian born and bred, grew up on aussie rules. By the end of the 1980's I had grown out of it, it just wasn't exciting enough. I didn't really follow any ball sports after that.

Then in 1998 for some bizarre reason I decided to watch the AFL grand final and have a few drinks. The pre-match entertainment was boring, the national anthem was crap, I struggled through the first half of the game before I finally gave up it was so damn boring.

The next day I saw that the rugby league grand final was on telly, so I thought I'd give that a go. Pre-match entertainment - top notch, national anthem - pretty good, the grand final itself? DAMN!!!! What a game!!!

The next year I watched a few games on telly (back when Channel Nein televised the games during the day), given I'm Victorian could there be any other choice to go for? Melbourne Storm! I had planned to see the Storm vs Raiders match that year but got the flu in the lead up to the game. And never got around to going to any other game.

March 2000 I *finally* decided "yep I'm going" and I did, and damn me!! The game was even better live!!!! I still remember seeing (and hearing) my first live hit up and thinking "Now THAT'S a tackle!".

I've barely missed a home game since, and have even travelled interstate to away games, including going to the 2001 Grand Final.

Surandy

GO STORM

choc_soldier

I was a Tigers supporter as a kid, (I remember my favourite player being Ross Conlon). I switched to the Panthers in 1994, because at that time Brad Fittler was my favourite player.

At that time, I was more into my cricket, and the Panthers were just my footy team - I didn't go to any games, but I had a jersey, and still watched their games if they were on Channel 9. I didn't go to my first game until 1998, and I guess that's when I really started getting into it all. Now I love my footy more than cricket, and I am a Panther for life, no matter what happens! :)

Because I am a Shire boy, born and bred.

I actually supported Souths for most of my youth because my old man was from Botany and he wouldn't take me to anything but Souths games.

When I got to the age of abouth 14 or 15 I started making my way down to Shark Park by myself though, as I always had a soft spot for the Sharkies.

Then when I met my wife (sharks fan) we started going to both Souths and Sharks games and I became more and more of a Sharks fan.

Then in 99 when Souths got the ass I bought my old man, my wife and I season tickets for 2000 at Shark Park and havn't looked back since.

Evilgrowler

I grew up in South Australia to Hungarian parents. At a young age I was forced to play soccer and I hated every minute of it. Living behind Hindmarsh Stadium all those years didn't help either.

I made the change to Aussie Rules behind my fathers back at 15. It was 3 years before he knew, but in that time I heard of a Parramatta. I found the name funny at the time. I guess that's why it stuck with me. I changed schools where the primary sport was union. I played that for a couple of years and grew to enjoy it. When school ended so did my footy career.

At 24 I moved to Brisbane and met my wife there. Her brother was a huge Balmain supporter and would always watch the game on the week end. Through him I leant to have an appreciation for the sport, but still didn't support a team. As I am a Magpie supporter from Adelaide I naturally went for Western Suburbs. However, I wasn't passionate about them. They weren't Port Adelaide after all.

In 1987 the news broke of a Queensland team joining the NSWRL. I made the decision then to support the new team. I have been with the Broncos ever since. Through the highs and the lows. I'm happy with the decision and will continue to support them regardless.

joondalup_giant

i used to go for the Reds, so because i go for QLD in state of origin i choose the broncos and because of alfie

nqboy

I took on the Bunnies after watching them beat Cronulla in a Tooth/KB/Panasonic Cup Final in '81 I think, we didn't get much Sydney footy on TV in Mt Isa. Souths made me so proud through the 80's, sticking it up the big money teams with their local juniors and cast-offs but I'm a Queenslander and they slipped to second when the Broncos started up. The Broncos just got too damn good after a few years but I didn't have an alternative until the Cowboys started up in 95.

Born in Cairns, raised in the Isa, living once again in Cairns, I am, and will always be, an nqboy.

miccle

Born and bred in Brissie. My dad's family were always really into their footy - followed the QRL like a religion. I was only a little bloke - about 4 years old in '88, and i've followed them since that first season. Will continue to do so :)