Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why it is a Sharks responsibility to Hate Manly

ahhhhh the hound. I forgot about him playing for Newtown.

But yes, it was always the money that that area raised for Manly that allowed them to compete.
Their juniors are still soft to this day.

chileman

:lol: Always looking for the sacrificial lamb :roll: the Sharks would have won a comp by now if they had the right coaches and the right choices like getting rid of Preston etc etc etc....nothing against your present coach by the way, he is good......just ask our Dessy Hasler!
Living in the 70's Reefy, like your mate Roy :sarcasm:

:lol: Always looking for the sacrificial lamb :roll: the Sharks would have won a comp by now if they had the right coaches and the right choices like getting rid of Preston etc etc etc....nothing against your present coach by the way, he is good......just ask our Dessy Hasler!
Living in the 70's Reefy, like your mate Roy :sarcasm:

Chileman speaketh with wisdom. Perhaps the force is strong in this one. Come to the dark side Chileman

Trouble

I loathe them because filthy lucre is no cure for moral bankruptcy
Roy Masters | October 4, 2008
MANLY are money. The Sea Eagles should be sponsored by the Mint. All through their history, cash has been their greatest weapon. Rugby league has a socialist history but Manly have a capitalist heart.

The code's early attempts to achieve parity - residential qualifications, 13-import rule, ceiling payments - were quickly flouted by the Silvertails in their quest for premierships. They raided Souths for their first flag, seizing prop John O'Neill and centre Ray Branighan, then swept on North Sydney, buying John Gray and Bruce Walker for the controversial 1978 trophy, and then attempted to rip out Wests' heart by signing Les Boyd, John Dorahy and Ray Brown. In recent times, they sought to do the same to Melbourne, buying half Matt Orford and centre Steve Bell.

Their strategy has always been twofold - buy the best players from a top-four club, undermining their chances while enhancing their own.

The Silvers even bought North Sydney players in the early 1970s, such as the effervescent Pommy halfback Graham Williams, and housed them in reserve grade in order to keep the Bears down. And now they have all of coastal Sydney north of the Harbour Bridge to themselves.

North Sydney survived for a couple of years as officially one half of the Northern Eagles, the shotgun marriage of Norths and the Sea Eagles arranged at the end of the Super League war. The marriage merely gave the Sea Eagles time to regroup and force out the Bears via a clause that declared the NRL licence would revert to Manly if the joint venture failed.

It collapsed through weight of debt, even though the North Sydney coaching package of Graham Murray and Michael Hagan cost less than Manly's candidate, Peter Sharp.

In August, 2001, when Manly needed a $1 million cheque to lodge their licence with the NRL, they turned to property developer Phil Franks.

And when they needed a half owner of the football club, they turned to a richer property developer, Max Delmege. He has subsequently bought the Leagues Club and will no doubt convert it into office space for use by merchant bankers, mortgage brokers and dealers in the short-term money market.

Last Friday, A-League team the Central Coast Mariners, secured the marketing rights to the Gosford stadium from John Singleton. This effectively ends any hope of an NRL team relocating to the NSW Central Coast. Can you imagine the rents the FFA would charge an NRL team to base itself in Gosford? So now Manly have all the territory from the Sydney Harbour Bridge to Newcastle to themselves.

The Sea Eagles have been on an expansionist course since Captain Arthur Phillip sailed into Sydney Harbour. He described a tribe of Aborigines he sighted on the northern side of the harbour as "manly", in the sense they had a very masculine, noble bearing.

NSW's first governor was unaware why the tribe was so well nourished. In the dead of night, they would paddle their bark canoes south to Botany Bay, seizing yams from the decent tribes around La Perouse and oysters from the Georges River, taking food from the mouths of inhabitants of settlements that later became South Sydney and St George. Captain Phillip should have termed the tribe he sighted "the Poachers".

They're still at it. Forwards Glenn Hall and Brent Kite were taken from Souths and St George Illawarra respectively.

Today, Manly is merely a name the Silvertails think they are. Their emblem, a sea eagle, is well chosen. Talons and talent. On a recent visit to the Adelaide River, I witnessed a sea eagle swoop down and snatch a chunk of meat from the jaws of a crocodile. Ken "Arko" Arthurson, Manly's long-term supremo, managed this feat a thousand times, signing players from under the nose of Canterbury's Peter "Bullfrog" Moore.

Manly's colours of maroon and white are close to the decor of a jewellery store, reflected in the bling of the celebrity cult of women who support them, such as Sarah O'Hare, wife of one of Australia's richest men, Lachlan Murdoch. OK, their patron Kerry Sibraa is a very loyal, decent man, a past president of the Senate and formerly our man in Harare. In fact, things did not go bad in Zimbabwe until after he left. But the politician most closely associated with Manly is the former premier of NSW, Sir Robert Akin, he of the $20,000 knighthoods.

Manly people understand the price mechanism better than anyone. University students living in Harbord have posters of Gorden Gekko in their bedrooms, never Che Guevara.

They trace the beginning of the worldwide subprime mortgage crisis to the uppity people of Sydney's western suburbs seeking to upgrade their houses from fibro to weatherboard. Greed is only good if you live on the north side.

If you link Manly premierships with movements in the share index, you'll actually discover the Sea Eagles caused the biggest economic collapse since the Great Depression. In 1987, Manly won the last grand final played at the SCG, and what happened a month later? The New York Stock Exchange recorded its biggest one-day fall! And now, with the Dow down, Manly's on-field hopes are high again.

But how do you loathe a club with a bow-legged coach who was raised in Penrith? Des Hasler's nickname is "Sorry", an indication of his apologetic nature.

The Silvers have drifted a long way from the "manly" people Phillip first described but should they win tomorrow, we can't deny it will be "Sorry's Day".

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/new...nkruptcy/2008/10/03/1223013790929.html?page=2

Time to sell up.

chileman

Chileman speaketh with wisdom. Perhaps the force is strong in this one. Come to the dark side Chileman
:lol: I'm still a shire boy milleramigo.....who supports Manly with a passion but has to many Sharks fans who are mates to gloat to much! I wouldn't give away 1 of our 7 premierships to see you guys win......I'd just like to see the Sharks win one for to many reasons to state here;-)

groggo

:lol: I'm still a shire boy milleramigo.....who supports Manly with a passion but has to many Sharks fans who are mates to gloat to much! I wouldn't give away 1 of our 7 premierships to see you guys win......I'd just like to see the Sharks win one for to many reasons to state here;-)

i agree amigo

Wozza

Putting aside the history between the Sharks and Manly, but a few years back at Brookvale oval, a neighbour of mine who is a Manly season ticket holder couldn't make the game and offered me his seats for the day. I took another mate of mine (Sharks supporter) and we sat in the stand surrounded by Manly tools. Well the Sharks were getting easily beat in the first half and this overweight turd behind me was sledging every try and goal because I wore a Sharks jersey. But then in the second half the Sharks put on the mightiest comeback I have ever seen. In the end this mouthy primadonna left the game early with his silvertail between his legs after trying to start a fight with me when I dared to clap a Manly player who was sinbinned for foul play, and the Sharks went on to flog Manly in one of the most satisfying wins I have ever witnessed.

Arrrh Wozza .. it just goes to show you sometimes there is a God.

But I am a bit concerned that you didn't snot the fat prick.

He had all the necessary credentials....

He followed Manly. He was a bigmouth. He was a sore loser.

Declared Idiot #88

chileman

Ah yes Quigs, but you have to lose some to win a premiership, wouldn't you agree ;-)
Heya Wozza, I'm glad I'm not fat and don't swear, I'm off the hook (and that kind of behaviour from any supporter let alone a Manly supporter I don't condone).

greg

Early 70's was when the raping and pillaging started

They took Moses and Branighan from Souths. Hamilton and Irvine from the Bears and a few other good uns from other clubs. Blokes like Alan Maddalena from Newtown.

It was a steady procession from then onwards. Mayes from The Roosters, Lurch from the Rabbits. Then Junee

etc etc etc

merkins

You may be wrong about HAMILTON, Frenzy. He was a Manly player first who went over to Norths.

chileman

Sorry to change the subject slightly, but where did Cliffy Lyons play his juniors, was it Caringbah?

The Popper

Sorry to change the subject slightly, but where did Cliffy Lyons play his juniors, was it Caringbah?
Cliff Lyons played for Cronulla-Caringbah in the early 80's. He played lock in those days and was captain of one of their `C' grade sides that won the comp. He also played lower grades/Junior Cup (Presidents Cup, if memory serves me rightly) for the Sharks. His nickname when he was a Sharks junior was Rocky. It changed to Napper when he hit Manly I believe. I believe his original intention was to leave Cronulla Juniors and go to Redfern All Blacks but he ended up in the bush where Greg Hawick picked him up for Norths. A couple of years later he was caught in the Manly web and the rest is history. He had marvellous potential as a junior. I really can't fathom why the Sharks let him slip. :?

"Why it is a Sharks responsibility to Hate Manly "

Because I just bought an XR6 and was wearing my Sharks shirt and the salesman got great pleasure in pointing out he was a farkin Manly supporter, that we got beat in 73 and 78 by them and we have won farkall. I couldn't even tell him to get farked as I was tryn to get the price down. Best I could manage was a smile and remined him we have the Amco Cup! Come on 2009 Sharks, stop this torment!!!

I will reserve that right to tell the salesman what I really think for the day I pick the car up!

spider

when you pick your car up be sure to thank him for the sale while telling him you are happy considering you shopped around and were prepared to pay at least $5k more than you did

make sure you are wearing your 'f**k you smile' while telling him

cityshark

No just get out of the deal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Walk away keep your pride , cars like XR6's will be on the market for years . Anyway Im thinking what kind of a person are you to go ahead with the purchase ? A real Sharkie would have told him to stick it!

A real shark fan would have asked for a test drive & get the salesman to drive.
He would have then stuck his fingers down his throat & spewed up the 8 big macs he'd eaten 20 minutes before he got there.

Then told him to jam his spew stinkin f**king ute up the cheatin merkin Arkinsons arrse.