Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

williams - sad but true

Shark

McSharkie said:
I wonder what he thought when the Sharks signed Williams.

Probably something like:

"oh, f**k..."

Smith's first request to the trainers when Williams signed:

"Hey guys...you reckon you might get me on some boxing training, you know, get my aerobic fitness up and all that?"

Or:

"Hey guys, do you mind if I do a bit of sprint training with Riecky and Nathan for a few weeks? I reckon I might be needing some turn of foot this season..."

imasharkie

MilitaryShark said:
I say lets go all out to keep him. Whats wrong with having an animal in the front row ? Piss Smith the lame arse off to the Dragons.

BRING BACK THE BIFF

Yep thats the go MS
this little matter might get him a lot of respect among the frontrow fraternity.
I too say lets keep him and drop kick Smith outa here

Sharkie73

His sentence could very well be quite harsh, I'd say Max 8yrs with 5 on the bottom. Assault cause GBH is not real good particually if it was pre planed eg; JW had the help of one of his mates.

Shark

Well, the Channel 7 news said that he could get 16 months JUST for breaching his good behaviour bond.

I'd say he better start learning how to fight off the advances of big rough-headed blokes looking for a bit of company, he'll be there a while methinks.

Sad.

I dont think we are looking at 8 yrs Sharkie 1973. The surrounding circumstances will be taken into consideration if they are true which should benfit Williams. The max penalty for common assualt is 2 yrs with the GBH being higher, but how much higher depends on the harm inflicted upon smith which is a broken cheekbone.
I think his previous record and being on a suspended sentance will see him go to gaol but i dont think it will be that long.

Sharkie73

I hope your right NCL, But I see these things daily at work and I've seen people who have done lesser things get hammered by the courts. The thing that will go against him if its true is he ensighted another person to assist him in the assault, that alone will ensure a lengthy term in goal. Its ashame he was a real talent in the making :(

Booyah

I really feel for the big bloke.

I was really impressed with him and now that he's done this, You'd have to say that his life really is in shreds.

No NRL club will want a convicted bloke who bashes a teammate, regardless of the circumstances. He doesn't look too bright, so there goes his career in academics. The worst part - He has a 3 month old kid, and there is no way he'll be able to support him while he's in jail.

I still support him. I reckon he had every right to beat the shit out of Smith. He did exactly what I would have done.

Rieck_Fan

Ditto to Booyah, the people who have been criticising Williams are wrong. Anyone put in the same situation would have wacked Smith one (or two).

imasharkie

I'm not happy about JW being punted either.
The bloke worked hard for us and we should of stood behind him

Booyah

The Club has already taken down his picture from the profiles, and there are several rounds missing from the NRL photo Gallery.

Mysteriously, they were ones with prominent shots of Williams.

Generalzod

The bulldogs incident at Coffs Harbor was serious, action taken by the Bulldogs board was to fine the players involved and that was it.
No players were sacked no player was publicly humiliated, and we have our CLUB who sacked these 2 players for having a fight.
We are truly a laughing stock.

No, the Bulldogs are

And if reports are true, JW has been given numerous warnings, including a final warning

Anything less would have been lenient and we would have been painted in the press as soft on discipline

It's a shame, I liked JW

Your kidding. The Bulldogs have been blasted from all sides because of the leniency of their penalty. In a time where league is under all sorts of pressure, I think the only thing was to let big JW go. So Smith allegedly baited him... we still have a bloke beating the shit out of another player, and we can't have this sort of thing at the club.

Generalzod

El Garbo said:

Your kidding. The Bulldogs have been blasted from all sides because of the leniency of their penalty. In a time where league is under all sorts of pressure, I think the only thing was to let big JW go. So Smith allegedly baited him... we still have a bloke beating the sh*t out of another player, and we can't have this sort of thing at the club.

That's exactly my point there board protected them..

Booyah

So you're saying we're being laughed at because we didn't cover it up and protect our player?

The Bulldogs' response was absolutely disgraceful

Letting the players remain anonymous and therefore implicating every single one of them

In my opinion it was the wrong response

So just because they acted inappropriately, we are meant to protect a thug who beat the shit out of a fellow player? And what if it was two players in first grade at each others necks, one breaking the other's jaw? Protect them too?

It's not like this was just a one off either. Williams was on a bond and knew the consequences. Obviously he had no concept of what was going to happen to him, or he just didnt care. It's very difficult to make a case for him remaining at the club after not only breaking a team mate's jaw but also being put in jail and denied bail. Do you expect the correctos to let him out on day release every weekend to play footy?

Generalzod

ShireShark said:
The Bulldogs' response was absolutely disgraceful

Letting the players remain anonymous and therefore implicating every single one of them

In my opinion it was the wrong response

So just because they acted inappropriately, we are meant to protect a thug who beat the sh*t out of a fellow player? And what if it was two players in first grade at each others necks, one breaking the other's jaw? Protect them too?

It's not like this was just a one off either. Williams was on a bond and knew the consequences. Obviously he had no concept of what was going to happen to him, or he just didnt care. It's very difficult to make a case for him remaining at the club after not only breaking a team mate's jaw but also being put in jail and denied bail. Do you expect the correctos to let him out on day release every weekend to play footy?

Yeah I agree with that Shire....