De Bortoli Villages Yarra Valley Pinot Noir 2016. Very juicy red & black berries, tastes like more whole bunches were used rather than the 15-25% listed. Quite pleasant.
Is there anything better, in terms of white win anyway, than an aged marsanne, roussanne, or semillon? Or riesling to a lesser extent....
I love red wine, and of the 300+ bottles I have left in my house 250+ are red. But I can never go past a quality Rhone white or semillon with some years on it. By my reckoning I have 30 bottles of semillon (and probably 20 of various Tyrell's semillon) Is a QLD Marsanne tonight, 2011 Heritage Estate Granite Belt. Absolute gem, honey toast, oily mouthfeel, dried apricot, classic quince and a little cashew. Winner.
Aged Semillon is the best, am currently getting the Mt Pleasant Elizabeth aged Semillon which I think is 10 years or so, otherwise they are hard to find that are not super expensive. Any recommendations?
I had a Viognier recently which was only about 7 years old but it was outstanding, think it was Fox Gordon, I went back to get more but they had all gone and the 2016 vintage has replaced it.. Any recommendations along those lines would be appreciated also.
Personally I used to buy the current vintage Elizabeth when Dans had it on cheap and lay it down, I find that's the best way. Sadly they've upped the price quite a lot, but they carry a few sub-$20 wines that you can do the same with. I'm still drinking bottles of 06 Elizabeth that I picked up for $9.90 and it's stunning. If you wanted to lay something down, De Iuliis, Margan, Audrey Wilkinson, are readily available and affordable semillons that will age. Even the Tyrrell's Old Winery will go down for a few years, and the good about it is that it will age quicker so you can achieve an older feel with a younger wine.
Check out the websites for some of the Hunter Valley wineries. They often have deals on vintages they want to clear or whatever.
Ultimately though the fact that well over 90% of wine purchased is consumed within 24-48 hours means that it can be tough to find aged wine in general
I also enjoy the current vintage Elizabeth every year. I will get a couple of those you suggested, particularly the Tyrell's, and hide them away.. Whilst I am patient these days the missus is quite the opposite and falls squarely in that 24-48 hour demographic
Thanks baz, hadn''t tried this one, will keep an eye out.f**k ya'll I'm spamming this shit
148 Browns Road Pinot Noir 2016. I can't believe Coles are deleting this from their range. Well, I can, because it's quality and not something they can flog off at 6 for $30 because a marketing grad who drinks Pimms thinks that's what wine consumers want....
$14 at the moment and honestly it's everything you'd want in a Mornington pinot. Sappy and spicy on the nose, with buckets of cherry. Full bodied, ripe cherry and plum, a bit of olive, savoury briar characters, a little hint of oak, just enough tannin and acid to make you want more. It's no Kooyong obviously, and it's got a quasi-Mediterranean feel to it, but as far as pinot goes I struggle to think of anything missing.
I genuinely got through 4 glasses without even noticing. Ridiculously drinkable but serious enough to impress people. The best sub $20 pinot I've had in ages.
Thanks baz, hadn''t tried this one, will keep an eye out.
No worries mate. On a student budget and I've been saving for my trip to Adelaide starting Saturday so I've been on the cheapies.
Like tonights' study aid. St Andrews Cab Sav 2016.
This is the one that's been all over the papers recently. Double gold at Melbourne I think. $6 Coles exclusive.
Look, the best thing I can say about this is that it tastes about $4 better than a $6 wine. Whoever gave it a double gold must have been suffering some incredible palate fatigue, or maybe it was hidden in the middle of a flight of pruno. And the blokes writing it up in the papers since clearly haven't actually tried it. It's not offensive or anything, it's bright and fruity and soft and very easy to drink in a simple way, but realistically it's not even close to a gold medal wine IMO. I could understand a bronze or even just scraping a silver...which is no mean feat for a $6 wine. But the hype is ludicrous.