Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Without your Key player in 2008?

mattyg

4 teams other than us have a former bulldogs player...goes to show the amount of talent we really have lost recently :(

mattyg said:
4 teams other than us have a former bulldogs player...goes to show the amount of talent we really have lost recently :(

at least dogs can attract major star players when was the last time tigers picked up a great player (hodgson and Prince dont count since they both where in crap form or had injury problems )

Marshall_magic said:
Marshall is our main worry.

Flannagan can still win us games at hooker, as can Lawrence at fullback, but we again have no clear back up should Marshall get injured.

ahh yeh u right we also have Gallant and Mcdonnell who can cover fb

though remember we do have Moran now i think he can play 5/8 or we put Morris there with Moran but yeh both players dont have that xfactor about them that benji does

1 Eyed TEZZA

Well, define "key player". Some clubs are obvious like the Broncos and Lockyer. But the Bulldogs did rely heavily on Brent Sherwins kicking game before he left. Parramatta dont really have a key player. Tim Smith, Brett Finch and Luke Burt all have great kicking games and Feleti Mateo and Mark Riddell can get the ball to a certain place of the field. Only player I think would seriously damage us is if we lost Cayless, he is our leader, more so then Hindmarsh. Come to think of it, we better start thinking of a replacement work hore front rower like Cayless because Cordoba just isnt pulling his weight. I will be watching Brad Wright and Tim Mannah closely next year.

Downie

Guest Moderator
Bazal said:
I think Parramatta and Manly can make the 8 without the players listed...Hindmarsh isn't as integral as he was two or three years ago and Stewart scores a lot of tries, but Manly made it to where they did on the back of the best defence in the comp last season. I think, for Parramatta, Cayless and Tim Smith are now more important than Hindy. Tim Smith needs to play consistently well for us to do well, and Cayless is the fearless leader...without them we will struggle

A lot of that was to do with Stewart though. He was a great organiser in defence in telling the players where to go and was also key in our goal line defence where he often got involved making try saving tackles. If we're without Stewart for the entire year I could easily see us missing the eight, as he also provides the spark for our attack.

tiger_nick

whilst farah is by far our best player, we have a great cover for him in flanagan who is honestly probably in the top 7 or 8 hookers in the game.

i still think hodgson would be the hardest to replace, even if its simply for the fact that shannon mcdonnell would probably replace him

Charlie124

nqboy said:
We'd be f*cked I reckon.

we'd struggle as much as most other teams, remember we made the prelim final in 2004 without Thurston and we have a much much better overall team now. Thats not to say we'd be fine, we'd definatly be up against it but i would expect a finish between 7th and 10th

netic

As other Tigers fans have stated, we can cover Farah with Flanagan and still have a good hooker, we also have Halatau who is a powerfuly dummy half runner.

Benji is always our main concern because we have nothing in the halves to replace him....

Also i think Thurston getting injured would nearly gaurentee the cowboys the wooden spoon, we saw against the dogs what happened when thurston went off..

1 Eyed TEZZA

Benji is always our main concern because we have nothing in the halves to replace him....

Actually, it looks like that Matt Head might be signing with the Tigers. There is your big signing of the year, lol. Just kidding mate

Gee_Up

Heads a good player he just came back to early and Soward kicked on. Head will do alright behind a big pack but not behind the Tigers forwards.

1 Eyed TEZZA said:
Actually, it looks like that Matt Head might be signing with the Tigers. There is your big signing of the year, lol. Just kidding mate

I'm stoked with that signing

Head>>>>>>>>>>Morris

mattyg

joel caine number 1 fan said:
at least dogs can attract major star players when was the last time tigers picked up a great player (hodgson and Prince dont count since they both where in crap form or had injury problems )

we don't attract talent we make talent...the last big name player we signed was Andrew Ryan...he started playing for us in 2003 - 5 seasons ago now. The players we've lost were all developed through our grades, and we've replaced them with nobody :(

hopefully we can attract a few big name players with our 800k free.

1 Eyed TEZZA

I'm stoked with that signing

Head>>>>>>>>>>Morris

At halfback yeah but your going to have a bit of a traffic jam of players with them. Benji, Morris and Head all for the halves. Benji is certain and Head to half because Morris cannot play halfback. So where do you put him? bench? and then put him where? Obviously not hooker because of Farah.

1 Eyed TEZZA said:
At halfback yeah but your going to have a bit of a traffic jam of players with them. Benji, Morris and Head all for the halves. Benji is certain and Head to half because Morris cannot play halfback. So where do you put him? bench? and then put him where? Obviously not hooker because of Farah.

Park footy, he is trash.

Cockadoodledoo

gorilla with a shotgun said:
Cowboys are the new knights imo... If thier star playmaker is gone so are they even though they still have some other talent in teh team

Matt Bowen is pretty handy also..